We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with my relatively recent experience at this hotel. Its beach front location is hard to beat. The rooms are very nice and comfrortable and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The staff exceeds all expectations. They certainly go out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction. I hope to return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property and we are delighted to read your stay was a pleasant one. Your comments are important to us for they help us improve and better understand you needs.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 776 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed as a guest of someone else, so I did not have to check in or out. I didn't deal with the staff very much so I can't comment on them. Except for one of the front desk people, Jesus! He was so amazing, he gave us terrific recommendations for dinner. Racies in Old San Juan is where they had terrific Mofongo!
The grounds at the villas were so unexpected and wonderful! They had livestock roaming the grounds! We saw turkeys and chickens and swans! They also had a huge Koi pond as well. We saw some Iguana roaming the streets as well.
The rooms were so nice and we had a terrific view of the lagoon!
I will most definitely stay here again when I'm in the area!
Breakfast in the hotel is pretty expensive $17 for basic buffet. The little bar in the lagoon area was expensive as well, but expected for a nice hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguin4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property and we are delighted to read your stay was a pleasant one. Your comments help us improve our product and service and better understand the needs of our guests. We take your comments seriously and do share with all parties involved.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Why the Mixed Feelings? I have always liked the Caribe Hilton for the property, the pools, the restaurants, the lagoon beach and the activities. Unfortunately, the villas are in need of updating. And they really aren't villas. They are suites. We had a 1 bedroom with a king bed, a wall efficiency unit (sink, coffee maker, refrig) and a tiny balcony. The room was big, the bathroom small and as I had mentioned, needed updating. The carpet should have been replaced. The door to the balcony was broken, so we couldn't go out on the balcony.

Yet, I still would stay at the Caribe Hilton because of the pool, beach and other amenities. Just
maybe not at the Villas.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank elfin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

Your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve. We will share your comments with our Department Heads to address such issues.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

WOW! This is the first word that comes to mind in describing this hotel, it's amenities, and above all, the service. From the GM Lemuel Gonzalez Marcano, to the Front Desk Staff (Jesus & Omar), Jody the Concierge, and the Housekeepers (Maria & Celia), this hotel rates an A+++++. We researched hotels online for days and chose this one for our first trip to PR. GREAT choice! From the moment we arrived for an 8 day stay, the service was incredible and the staff super nice and accomodating. Hotel is near the Condado corridor & within walking distance to many shops & restaurants. Our suite was gorgeous with an incredible view of San Geromino Fort and the ocean. Our needs were always met and we had a fabulous time. The GM is always on top of things making guests feel very VIP. He can be seen walking the grounds daily ensuring guests are happy campers. This hotel is huge, so any "disappointed" guest reviews could have been the result of not speaking up for whatever the need was as we were totally satisfied with the prompt response to any requests, whether for something as simple as extra towels, or for suggestions on where to go & how to get there. If you are looking to go to San Juan, you must seriously consider this hotel. It also has a wonderful Starbucks on site for coffee addicts like us. Finally, the various restaurants in the hotel are great with awesome food even though the prices (as expected) are "hotel prices" and thus a bit higher than venturing out to eat. Another great feature is the incredible area by the villas pool whereat you can find peacocks, ducks, iguanas, turkeys, and a koi pond with many huge and beautiful fish. Lots of daily activities for the kids too that are coordinated & supervised by hotel staff. Hands down - this is the place to stay on your next trip to San Juan. We have to commend GM Gonzalez Marcano for the excellent manner in which he runs this hotel. You will really enjoy your stay at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton.

Room Tip: The suites and villas from the 3rd floor up that overlook the ocean and the San Geromino Fort have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while in our property. We are delighted to read your stay was a pleasant one. We strive to deliver great service and it is refreshing to read when that is achieved. I am most happy that our team members were also able to deliver the great customer service that had distinguished us for so many years. I will share your comments with them.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort one night prior to a cruise we were taking out of San Juan. We had trouble finding a hotel that would accommodate five of us in a room, and out of sheer frustration (we have 3 children) we ended up booking two rooms at this resort, which was quite honestly expensive on our budget. When we got to the hotel, the check-in process was a little long and the hotel was a madhouse. It's a large property, and with the pre and post cruise traffic, I can understand the chaos. We simply waited on the couches and figured we'd get a room when they had one. We were happily surprised to see that they could accommodate us early (we'd arrived before noon!). I was under the impression that we had rooms at the Caribe Hilton, but instead they put us at the Lagoon Villas - which is quite a hike from the main hotel - and I was worried. As we walked through the halls to the rooms, you could see that parts of the hotel were being renovated and other parts NEEDED to be renovated, but once we got to our rooms and opened the door - they were beautiful, HUGE rooms that quite frankly could have easily accommodated rollaways, which annoys me because the website as well as the Hilton operator I spoke with told me in no uncertain terms that they could not allow rollaways. That's unfortunate when you have a family of five and want to say in the same room, and that's my big problem with islands like Puerto Rico and Hawaii - because they know families go there. In any case, we split up into two rooms for the one night, and had plenty of space including a little kitchenette type area. We spent our day at the pool, which was lovely, and ate lunch at the bar outside (not bad, although pricey). The beach/bay was beautiful as well. I don't know that we'll be back to Puerto Rico any time soon, but if we are, I'd like to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Lagoon Villas were really nice - don't let the appearance of the hallways fool you because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L8BarMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations, however, local fire codes prohibit us from accommodating a roll away in rooms which already have 2 beds.

We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I checked in July 26- July 29. Check-In process was beyond horrible, the young lady working there seem like she did not want to be there so we requested to speak to the manager The Manager Lemuel Gonzalez is a poor excuse for management, beyond rude his attitude and demeanor is not towards helping guest,( as I read the reviews about the hotel he has a generic message that he sends to everyone who reveals the hidden truth about this hotel. Hilton needs to re-evaluate or conduct proper customer service training for its employee including upper management. The crazy thing is when we went to complain to other managers/employees one person advised that we complain and report his attitude because they were also disgusted with his behavior and attitude towards past guests and employees. One employee told us about a random survey that we may/may not receive and if we were to receive it to make sure we report his behavior. Coming from a company that ranks high in JD power awards for superb customer service I was so disappointed with the type of manager the Hilton would choose to represent their brand.There was mold spots on the bathroom walls. When we requested towels they were brought to us the next day almost 12 hours later. Talk about overprice, well lets just say that the word overprice is an understatement for the food and drinks.I had to make the best out of my stay however as long as LG Marcano is the manager over there I will not be recommending anyone. Hilton needs to hire the right managers and employees that are genuine about ensuring that their guest enjoy their time while staying there. Highly disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Let me start out by letting the readers know that we have stayed at this property three other times in the past three years. This particular stay was for our 28th wedding anniversary. We arrived early in the evening of June 8th and check in went quite smoothly with no waiting a all. We had a wonderful meal at Morton's Steakhouse which while very pricey was the best we have had in a long time. They even printed a special menu with our names and anniversary date as well as providing a picture hey took with all he signatures of he staff wishing us a happy anniversary. The room was cleaned perfectly everyday and ALL interactions with hotel staff was above expectations. We were greeted at least 4 times by he manager Lemuel while waiting for our car to brought by the valet. He was genuinely interested in not only our stay at his property but also our experiences in Puerto Rico. The main pool grill, while pricey, had very good food as well as the swim up bar providing very strong mojitos and piña coladas. The private beach, the only one in PR, has very calm water and made for an excellent alternative to the pool as needed. The breakfast buffet in Las Palmera's was very tasty even though a bit pricey. Ask for a server by the name of Harry as he is the worlds best server, bar none! The clerks at the Villas desk were friendly and always were willing to provide local suggestions off property for food and fun. The only gripe that I have is the description of the room being "ocean view". Our view was of the city and the lagoon (which technically is part of the ocean) which I feed feel was not worth he $$ upgrade. Overall we had fun in the sun on "La Isla de Encanto""

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor or higher for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to respond to our questionnaire and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one. Our objective is to deliver an excellent experience and have you come back.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 47 in San Juan
4,925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $241 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and set aside, the Condado Lagoon Villas are close to all the Caribe Hilton resort amenities and can enjoy the flexibility of our villa accommodations, each divisible into three separate units or combined into spacious suites, perfect for families or groups. Guests at the Condado Lagoon Villas can also enjoy the convenience of a separate check-in exclusively for Villas guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing