We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At $400 a night, why can't I have just ONE Laugh out Loud?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well, my friends and I all met up and went to Puerto Rico as we hadn't seen each other in years.

We rented a Suite. 1 bedroom + 1 Wall bed in living; along with 2 bath. 1 bedroom had a king bed, jacuzzi tub and balcony. The living room had a wall bed, full kitchen, and full bath with a shower. The space was VERY NICE... with the exception of STAINS in the light colored berber carbet.. that looked very nasty.

The only thing that annoyed us about this hotel is that one of my friends told a joke, one friend laughed at a medium volume and we got a complaint from the front desk! REALLY!!!!????
Then we turned on our TV to watch HGTV one night and the volume was only positioned at 1/4 of the total volume.... here comes another complaint! Turns out, there was a standard room right next to our suite and it was a family... I was very upset that we made a complaint of THEM making compalints! I know they only paid probably $209 a night and we certainly paid enough at $400 to have one 3 second laugh out loud!

Well, because of that I won't be back..... Only other Plus - STARBUCKS ON SITE!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpectrumLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your input and apologize you were disappointed in your stay. We follow a standard procedure when we receive a noise complaint coming from a room. We apologized for the inconvenience for we were investigating a complaint from the room next to yours.
Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 776 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent Christmas week at this hotel and was very pleased with the whole experience. The rooms here are slightly larger which is nice because that allows for larger beds. We had 2 queens which the kids enjoyed instead of trying to squeeze 2 kids into a double! The staff was incredible, very attentive with follow-through. This hotel is situated behind the Carribe Hilton and does have its own quite pool and spa, if you would prefer that over the hustle and bustle of the Hilton. So you can have the best of both worlds. We spent time at each pool and enjoyed them both. This hotel is also nicely situated between Condado and Old San Juan, both are walking distance although Old Town is 1.8 miles, but still very doable! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to check out your room first and make sure its exactly what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lafmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

“Would Stay Again!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 NEW Spent Christmas week at this hotel and was very pleased with the whole experience. The rooms here are slightly larger which is nice because that allows for larger beds. We had 2 queens which the kids enjoyed instead of trying to squeeze 2 kids into a double! The staff was incredible, very attentive with follow-through. This hotel is situated behind the Carribe Hilton and does have its own quite pool and spa, if you would prefer that over the hustle and bustle of the Hilton. So you can have the best of both worlds. We spent time at each pool and enjoyed them both. This hotel is also nicely situated between Condado and Old San Juan, both are walking distance although Old Town is 1.8 miles, but still very doable! I can't wait to go back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I hate reading overly dramatized negative reviews on here let alone writing one. I think that those who frequent this site & read this post will understand. My wife & I have been staying here four nights already with smaller issues being taken care of by the staff quickly. That's not the issue now. The problem is who could have authorized maintenance to do repair work at 1:30 in the morning? Are there not "quiet hours" that are generally from 10pm to 6am? Surely we are not the only ones that can hear this noise that the front desk is denying could be taking place. If that's the case then there are two ghosts working on replacing an outside bathroom door on the second floor right below our room. Yes the front desk has given us another room & as we head over we see the "ghosts" packing up their tools & disappearing into the night...at 2:00am. Seriously, who could have thought that this was an appropriate time to do this work? I'm sure there is a logical reason for this but at this time of the morning I certainly can't think of one. This posting is only for this issue. I will submit a full review of our stay later.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your input and apologize you were disappointed in your stay.
We work hard to ensure our guests are safe and comfortable and assure you there are security measures in place to do just that. The noise you refer to was caused by an outside contractor that was not supposed to work in that area at that time. Yet we immediately moved you to another room, and compensated you for the inconvenience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, family of 4--mom, dad and 2 adult sons. We had 2 large bedrooms with full baths, a 3 rd full bath, and a living room, dining area, and kitchen. Larger by far than some apartments I have lived in. Each bedroom and the living room had big balconies, and the view over the lagoon was nice. Only time we noticed any noise was planes early in the am.
Very quiet--hardly ever saw anyone in the halls or elevator. They have a separate check in area with absolutely no waiting.

Negatives--long walk to the pool and beach, but this is a large property, so that was expected and ok. No wifi in rooms is the biggest negative. They need to get this changed.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants. The gym and spa are very nice.

The location is good. We were able to walk to old san juan when we wanted, or taxis are right there and not expensive. Also walked across the bridge to dinner at the Conrad one night.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to respond to our questionnaire and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one. We are currently working on installing Wi-Fi in all our rooms and suites and hope to be completed within the next 90 days.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Condado Lagoon Villas. Even though we were there during the week after Christmas, it seemed quiet in the Villa area. We slept great, except for the small planes that start flying over early in the morning.

Our room was clean, spacious enough for four and we had a nice lagoon view. Yes, it's a long walk to the main hotel, but for the few days we were there, it was no big deal. Again, we liked our "quieter" neck of the woods.

We enjoyed dinner at the Pina Colada Cafe and the breakfast buffet at Palmeras. The breakfast at Il Giardino was not up to par -- food not as good, disorganized, workers not as friendly.

The hotel is close to a bus line to Old San Juan, which made it very convenient for sightseeing. We only used the beach/pool one day (flight delays . . .) The beach was rather rocky, and the pool was rather chilly.

If you need something from the front desk, be sure to go to the Villas desk -- you'll get immediate service rather than waiting in line at the main Hilton desk.

After picking up our rental car from the Condado area, we were pleased with our choice of Condado Lagoon Villas -- much calmer and quieter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas as your “home away for the holidays” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in our property and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed in the Caribe Hilton many times for both business and pleasure, so I am very familiar with the strengths of the property (proximity to Old San Juan, pool and beach facilities) and weaknesses (can be Vegas like with crowds, loud lobby entertainment). On the whole this is a good, solid beachfront Hilton property with very good access to San Juan for dining, shopping, etc that has met my needs for years.

This was the first time we stayed in the 'Lagoon Villas', and the stay wasn't great. It being Christmas week the property was booked to capacity. There were two big parts of the stay that were a change for the worse in our Caribe Hilton experience:

First, the new 'Lagoon Villas'. The name is truly mis-leading, these are not villas in any way, they are pretty standard hotel rooms. Nice enough and new, but none of the attributes of a 'villa'...sitting spaces, kitchenette or anything like that. These are hotel rooms. Secondly, they are a LONG walk from the hotel lobby and outdoor parts of the property, and the walk gets tedious after a day or so. Perhaps most annoying (to us) was there is no wi-fi in the villa rooms, you have to walk all the way down to the lobby (again the long walk) to use wi-fi which is unacceptable in brand new Hilton rooms. Yes, there is cable access, but that is useless for new ultra-thin laptops, our iPads and our iPhones. Who leaves wi-fi out of a new hotel room these days?

Secondly, the resort has really changed with the new villas now open. The property was always a little tight, but the pools and beach were nice if a bit crowded. Now with all those new rooms, and the property not getting any bigger, the property was incredibly crowded. Lines at 6 a.m. to grab towels to race to reserve a lounge chair, chairs packed side by side from the edge of the water row after row all the way back to the grass, every inch of the property packed with chairs. It felt like Jones Beach on the 4th of July.

I will still use this hotel for business, the convenience is great, but we are done using it for quickie family vacations...the crowds were mind boggling.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zinfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We take your comments seriously and do share with all parties involved. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here twice for one night per visit. We bookended our trip to Vieques with stays in San Juan at the Caribe Hilton. Our first visit was booked via Priceline for $90 and the second visit was booked using points. I think my opinion of the hotel would have been different if I had paid full price for this resort. It's a great deal on Priceline, but it's definitely not worth full price. Also note, that even with Priceline, you still have to pay the additional resort fee, which will be a percentage of whatever you paid.

Our first stay we were booked in the main hotel, but we went checked in there was none rooms available, so we agreed to be placed in the villas. The room was nice with a lagoon view and the bathroom was HUGE (separate room for toilet, separate shower and tub, double sink) and nice. The negatives: the city airport is nearby and the flight path is over the lagoon. Very loud. Also, there was a lot of noise throughout the nice from carts rolling down the hall. For our second stay, we were also in the Towers , but in a different building. Although we asked for a room away from construction, we looked out right over it. However, since it was a Friday night, they were not working so it wasn't a problem .This room was HUGE, lots of extra space, but the bathroom was tiny. Kind of the opposite of the first one. However, it was nice and quiet.

For amenities, the hotel has a great pool and beach area. It was slightly annoying that the pool is closed for cleaning in the morning, so swimming laps in the morning before the crowd wasn't an option. The lobby has a nice bar area. On Friday night, they had a band playing, which was pleasant.

Be sure to check your bill at check-out because they charged me a mysterious fee that I had to asked to be removed.

This hotel is large and has an interesting mix of couples, families, group of friends partying and people attending conferences at the hotel. Given the size of the hotel, there's a lot of variety in the rooms and service. Lots of hits and lots of misses. Overall, I enjoyed my stay would consider staying here again, but I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatone3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We take your comments seriously and do share with all parties involved. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 47 in San Juan
4,931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $232 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and set aside, the Condado Lagoon Villas are close to all the Caribe Hilton resort amenities and can enjoy the flexibility of our villa accommodations, each divisible into three separate units or combined into spacious suites, perfect for families or groups. Guests at the Condado Lagoon Villas can also enjoy the convenience of a separate check-in exclusively for Villas guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing