We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Checking in was easy. Daniel at front desk was friendly and had great follow up. Use bell services for initial check in as the rooms are spread out. Housekeeping was efficient, they were there to clean the room when I left for the pool and the room was clean and tidy on my return. The room had a kitchenette that came in handy. Beach, pool and grounds were beautiful. Starbucks onsite was fantastic and enjoyed 2 meals at the piña colada club. Found the lobby bar to be overpriced with drinks consisting mostly of ice. A quick cab ride to old San Juan just under $20 with tip. I am looking forward to a return visit in June.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlanta.david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 776 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived late in the evening after 20 odd hours travelling from the UK.

When we got to our room we were disappointed that it didn't have the sea view we had booked, and didn't have the balcony as advertised. When I called down to the front desk to complain, I was told that the room was what they would describe as a sea view with a balcony!

To be fair, there was a Juliet balcony and I did have a view of a bit of the lagoon between the hotel and the city, but I certainly wasn't going to be able to sit on my balcony gazing out at the ocean as I had hoped.

Also, we were irritated that there was no drink offered at check in, no water in the room, no vending machines nearby and so we had to walk a fair distance to one of the restaurants to pay ten dollars for a bottle of water. Not what we needed after such a long trip.

The following day, we were further disappointed to find no shade at the pool. All the sun loungers with shade had been reserved presumably at the crack of dawn. The sun loungers were all cheap plastic with no slip covers; the beach looked man made with the sort of sand that stains your feet and the restaurant prices were ridiculous for what looked and felt like a three star family resort.

We had booked our room for three nights, and were booked to return for another three nights later on in our trip, but we cancelled the reservations and moved across the the El San Juan.

To be fair to the hotel, they did offer us a choice of rooms to try and persuade us to stay and were very helpful with allowing us to check out without charging us a deposit. I will also say that the room was very comfortable despite the lack of balcony and view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JYJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our property. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations in terms of the room your room view. We do have several room types and views and rooms are assigned according to the room reserved. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were lucky to check in early, but the room was hot. The air conditioning didn't work. There were greasy foot prints on the tile floor, the towel bar was falling off of the shower door, and the paint was peeling off of the bathroom ceiling. Contacted reception and they quickly found an alternative room. It was newer and nicer, but the air conditioning stopped working. The worker that came to the room wanted to show me how the thermostat worked. I know how they work. Also called for towels three times over four hours and finally got them. air conditioning never was resolved to our satisfaction.

It is a great piece of real estate, but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our property. We apologize for the condition of your room, it is certainly not and acceptable condition and I will share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper as well as the Chief Engineer in order to prevent this from reoccurring. This is not indicative of the service levels we are aim for and do hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hotel is average Hilton. We were "upgraded" on arrival from King to Deluxe King. Only had a mini-fridge, microwave and sink. From what I saw the regular hotel rooms at Hilton Caribe had mini-fridges as well. I mainly selected this property over the Caribe for the kitchen so we could save some cash on meals. Otherwise it was a little far from the restaurants and beaches. I guess the 2 bedrooms probably make more sense. Not a lot of nearby restaurants that aren't on the hotel property. Hotel restaurants are a bit pricey as expected.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtravel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at our property. Rooms at the Condado Lagoon Villas are slightly larger than the regular rooms since we provide a small kitchenette in most of the rooms and our double bed rooms have queen size beds instead of regular double beds. Many of our rooms have a fantastic water view and we are very close to the water. We do hope you come back to our property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband, two children (ages 4 and 7) stayed at the Condado Lagoon Villas and felt the space was ideal for families. The villa consisted of one bedroom with two double beds, a bathroom (with tub), a small kitchenette, and a balcony. The adjoining room had a full kitchen, updated bath (with stall shower), living area with pull-out couch, and another balcony.

There is a small pool for Villa guests only, but we didn't use it; the kids loved the larger main pool. You can access the main pool/beach and lobby either by walking inside or outside, and we didn't feel the separation from the main hotel was an issue at all.

We were generally happy with our stay, and would most likely stay again. Having young kids, our biggest concerns were adequate space and beach and pool areas, and we were happy with all of these.

Here are our highlights and things we didn't love:

Pros:
-The view of the ocean from the balconies was fabulous.

-The front desk told us the hotel was sold out, yet we never felt it was overly crowded.

-The two rooms (with door between) was ideal for us. After the kids went to bed, we still had tons of space we could utilize.

-The pool area was beautiful. The pool water was on the cool side, but there is a swim-up bar (on a different level than the regular pool so you *can't* sit at the bar and still watch your kids swim, and many lounge chairs.

-The beach is private and very clean. It was extremely windy when we visited and the ocean was rough, but there is a breakwater for the beach so even when there were high-wind warnings, the water was calm. If it's not too windy, you can request the staff bring an umbrella to you.

-You can walk to Condado in 15 minutes, where there are several restaurants. (We ate at Ropa Vieja and Casa Lola; both were excellent -- far superior to the hotel restaurants. There is also a Denny's and Chili's for pickier eaters.)

-The gym is a true, full gym, not your typical hotel "fitness center."

Cons:
-Housekeeping was inconsistent. They did come every day but sometimes they would restock supplies (like coffee and dish soap) and other times they didn't. We found leaving a daily tip and note with what we needed (e.g., extra towels) worked well.

-Staff were fine, but not amazing. We had a couple of specific issues:

When we first arrived, the door to the LR/kitchen was locked, and we thought the bedroom with the kitchenette was our "suite." The second day, housekeeping left a note saying they realized we had both rooms and unlocked the door. We called management to get a one-night refund of the difference in price (not a full refund; we just wanted to pay for the one room that night, instead of paying for the suite). Over the course of 4 days, we called 4-5 times and no one ever called back. Finally, my husband held for 20 minutes until a manager came to the phone. He said he would get back to us after checking with housekeeping and did eventually credit us.

The website and promotional material says kids under 5 eat free and kids 5-12 eat for half-price at "select restaurants." (Also, one said "does not include room service" and another says "including room service.") We asked the front desk and two different concierges what restaurants these were, and no one could tell us. One concierge suggested we call or visit each restaurant and ask them. (We never figured it out.)

-The restaurants, including the grill by the pool, were extremely expensive and the food was unhealthy and unappetizing. For instance, two turkey sandwiches with fries was $28. We ended up not ever eating at the pool grill. We did eat at the "Italian" restaurant but ended up ordering traditional PR food. It was fine but not worth the money; there are better options in Condado or Old San Juan -- ask the concierge for recommendations.

We ate one day at the Pina Colada Club by the hotel entrance. Even though we were "the first customers of the day," they were out of several menu items. My kids each ordered a kids' burger. My daughter got a regular burger and my son ended up with a chourico burger. He ate it, so we didn't complain, but for a $60 meal, we expected more.

-Don't eat at Morton's. While it's the Morton's prices you expect, it's not the typical good Morton's service and food.

Tips:
-Have the cab driver stop at the grocery store on the way to the hotel from the airport. He only charged us an extra $8 for the extra stop and 20 minute wait. We got breakfast food, milk, snacks, beer, wine, and rum at the grocery store. The rooms have a full kitchen with stove, oven, full fridge, microwave, and dishwasher so you can save money (and eat healthier) by eating some meals in your room. (We decided to forgo the hotel breakfast buffet and eat breakfast in the room every morning.)

-Buy lunch at Starbucks in the hotel lobby. They have hot and cold sandwiches, yogurt parfaits, drinks, etc. at a much better price than the hotel restaurants.

-Walk into Condado or cab it into Old San Juan for dinner.

-Take advantage of Happy Hour specials at the hotel restaurants. For instance, the hotel bar has $5 veal sliders and $3 hummus and $5 drink specials from 5-7.

-Take the free pilates and yoga classes at the beach in the morning.

-Visit Castillo San Felipe del Morro. It's a $14 cab ride from the hotel and $3 admissions (kids are free). We all loved it, and then we walked into Old San Juan for lunch and sightseeing.

-We all loved the half-day excursion to El Yunque rain forest. We heard great things about the full-day trip, but thought it would be too much for the kids.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a villa with the adjoining room (or you can have two bedrooms adjoining the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kellieander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel was nice. The rooms are a decent size but could be cleaner. There is a kitchenette in the rooms and there was still food in the fridge from the last guests, as well as food in the cupboard.

The resort is lovely. Large pools and a nice beach. The service was good, the food was only average. I'd try another hotel in San Juan before going back to this hotel, at over $300 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at our property. I will share your comments with our Management Staff and take your comments in consideration to take any corrective action possible. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Fantastic place to relax and have fun. The walk to the main portion of the resort is very pleasant along the sea and past an old (closed) heritage site, with views of the Condado area. Has it's own swimming pool and spa for Lagoon Villa guests only. Also different kinds of birds, including peacocks roam the the grounds, adding some colour during the day. We had a seaview room, which overlooked the Lagoon and the sea, with the Conrad right across the lagoon. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises can be watched from the balcony.

Had a couple of issues which were promptly resolved, one was with a tap in the bath no running properly and the guys from engineering, although they took a little while to arrive, after all this is the carribean, then proceeded to take care of it efficiently. Another was the the door covering the minifridge whcih could not be opened as no key could be found, but this was evetually sorted.

It is a little out from all other resorts and from the Old San Juan, although you can take a bus or taxi, although taxis are more expensive. If you fancy a walk, the it is very pleasant to walk across the bridge to Condado, whe there a many restaurants and bars, as well as other resorts. We walked to La Concha resort and back.

The breakfast in Giardino's is ok, but not good for this quality of hotel, unless you want to pay extra to eat at one of the other restaurants, which is even more expensive, but much better quality breakfast.

Overall, a great place to stay, staff made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to overlooking the Lagoon with a sea view, fantastic sunrise and sunsets can be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.7 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $234 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and set aside, the Condado Lagoon Villas are close to all the Caribe Hilton resort amenities and can enjoy the flexibility of our villa accommodations, each divisible into three separate units or combined into spacious suites, perfect for families or groups. Guests at the Condado Lagoon Villas can also enjoy the convenience of a separate check-in exclusively for Villas guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing