We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very artsy and modern! ”

Ben & Jerry's Old San Juan
Ranked #85 of 1,034 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very artsy and modern! ”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited old san juan a couple of weeks ago and stumbled upon the ben and jerry's store. It was awesome, we were kindly greeted, even though it was pretty hectic. Delicious ice cream and orange juice! We will definetly be back. Its very different to the stores back home!

Helpful?
Thank CarlotaBoukeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    113
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The place was a total disaster. The quality of the ice cream is still good but employees were not taking care of the place itself. First of all, the glass between the ice cream was dirty and you could not even seen the ice cream. The trashcan in the middle from where you order the ice cream was full, looked they hadn't emptied it for hours. And to complete it all, no paper towels in the men's bathroom. I had to dry my hands in my pants. It's all cool except that these employees need more training on how to keep a business, even more when you have a sign saying of how excellent you are on tripadvisor. I have pictures for proof of what I'm saying. The ice cream was super good anyways.

Helpful?
Thank rafacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benandjerryspr, Owner at Ben & Jerry's Old San Juan, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear rafacb,
I'm sorry to hear about your less than euphoric experience at our shop. We aim to please & all of your comments have been passed on to the staff. However, there are a few points I would like to clarify for future visitors.
The glass between the ice cream & the customer is double paned. Due to the high humidity in Puerto Rico, we are constantly battling condensation between these two layers of glass. It is usually the worst on weekends & very busy days. It was not from a lack of cleanliness that you couldn't see the ice cream, but from an excess of opening & closing the ice cream cabinets during a very busy period.
Your other observations, however, are within our control, & are areas where improvement can be made. You visited our shop during a very busy part of the year. Our staff in constantly trying to perfect the balance between moving the customer line along (reducing wait times) & keeping the customer areas clean & fully stocked. Obviously, during the time of your visit, they had miscalculated this delicate balance. I apologize for this.
Thank you for your input & we hope you give us another chance. April 8 is Free Cone Day at all Ben & Jerry's around the world... see you there!
-Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Good place, good music, great icecream”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went there with the family on a Saturday afternoon. The employees were fun, attentive, and fast. Ice cream cones were delish and the ice cream was just awesome. Great vibe and family environment. We will come back!

Helpful?
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great staff. Always good ice cream. Location is awesome. Restrooms were clean. Music was fun. Love it. Nice break from the heat :)

Helpful?
Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had an Acai Bowl, Egg and cheese croissant and a Veg Burger. All of them were beautifully served. The Egg and cheese croissant was simply awesome. Good service, awesome food !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prerna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben & Jerry's Old San Juan also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ben & Jerry's Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing