We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavors of San Juan”

Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.19*
and up
Old San Juan Food Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Puerto Rico Craft Cocktail and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 9 Food & Drink in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are the ORIGINAL walking food tour company of Puerto Rico (founded in 2009). What's that? Our food tours combine Puerto Rico's unique history and cuisine in the beautiful setting of historic Old San Juan. Featured as a top tour option on CNN, BBC, Caribbean Travel & Life Magazine, USA Today, Frommers, Lonely Planet and more, Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours offers delicious 1-3 hour food tasting events focused solely in historic San Juan, Puerto Rico (Old San Juan). Leave your tourist fanny pack at home and awaken the traveler inside! Our guided food tours include mouth-watering food samples (enough for most to feel full afterwards) showing off the diversity of Puerto Rican "comida criolla" or local cuisine. We are so much more than rice and beans! Come learn our rich history, treasured architecture and hidden off the beaten path restaurants you don't want to miss. Our food tour offerings depart daily at 10am, 3pm, 5pm and 6pm.
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flavors of San Juan”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a great time on our food tour with Flavors of San Juan. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting San Juan

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellouise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,501
    172
    33
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“What a nice tour!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This tour was highly recommended on Trip Advisor and the reviews were right. We had Victor as our guide and met in Old San Juan. There were only 6 of us on the tour which made it nice and Victor had a trainee with him who was really nice too. We learned a lot about the history and architecture of the area. We also tasted great food at some really nice places, appetizers, coffee, piña colada's, alcapurrias, mofongo with rice and beans, and a yummy coconut flan. Making the mofongo was the most fun and delicious. The tour lasted 3 hours and we went on this tour our first night in town. A great way to get to know the history and foods of Puerto Rico. Victor was a great guide. Loved it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank melissa328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Great intro to Old San Juan”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our morning walking tour of Old San Juan with Rocio. Not only did we learned about the history of San Juan and Puerto Rico, we also had tasting of local food items at six stops located in different areas of Old San Juan. Rocio was knowledgeable and provided many tips for food and shopping. We thoroughly had a blast trying out local coffee where it was just roasted fresh earlier and even get to make our own mofongo. The three-hour trip passed by so quickly that we wished it could have been longer. We will take the evening tour the next time we are in PR.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Rocío”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent tour with Rocío. We learned a great deal about San Juan's history. The six food/drink stops were excellent. We even made our own frongo. Costa' s hot chocolate was divine and the cheddar cheese was an interesting addition to the drink. The coffee house was interesting. I don't like coffee but my husband loved it. This was the perfect start to our San Juan vacation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A tasty stroll through Old San Juan”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I were in San Juan recently for a weekend getaway. We had been to Old San Juan several times before and love the charm and history of the old city. But this tour really gave us a new perspective on the history and local food. We were part of a larger group (14-16) but was not really an issue as it was a nice sociable group of people, and Leslie did a great job of keeping everyone engaged during the walk. The stops are all well planned, and the food is a delicious sampling of some of the best that Puerto Rico has to offer. It's obvious that she has spent a few years fine tuning the tour and developing relationships with some of the best restaurants and shops in the area.

A very nice way to spend an evening, and great alternative to visiting just one restaurant for a sit down dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ngIsland_familyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing