We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to See Old San Juan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours

Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.19*
and up
Old San Juan Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 7 Food & Drink in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are the ORIGINAL walking food tour company of Puerto Rico (founded in 2009). What's that? Our food tours combine Puerto Rico's unique history and cuisine in the beautiful setting of historic Old San Juan. Featured as a top tour option on CNN, BBC, Caribbean Travel & Life Magazine, USA Today, Frommers, Lonely Planet and more, Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours offers delicious 1-3 hour food tasting events focused solely in historic San Juan, Puerto Rico (Old San Juan). Leave your tourist fanny pack at home and awaken the traveler inside! Our guided food tours include mouth-watering food samples (enough for most to feel full afterwards) showing off the diversity of Puerto Rican "comida criolla" or local cuisine. We are so much more than rice and beans! Come learn our rich history, treasured architecture and hidden off the beaten path restaurants you don't want to miss. Our food tour offerings depart daily at 10am and 3pm.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Way to See Old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The four of us throughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was both knowledgeable and helpful. She kept us on track without making us feel rushed. In my opinion the food was not the main attraction of the tour meaning the food was good but not gourmet. That was fine with us because we wanted the cultural experience more. We started with a yummy appetizer at Carli's be sure to order the house drink Boom Boom? It was fantastic. Other stops included a coffee cafe Cuatro Sombras then Rosa De Triana for mofongos where we got to mash the plantains. Our other food stops included a very nice hotel Hotel El Convento for rice and beans and Cafe Princess for the finale dessert -flan. Along the way we stopped at different historic locations where our guide would speak about the area.
I recommend this tour but remember this tour runs rain or shine and we were fortunate to have a
beautiful night for our walk. I don't know how enjoyable the tour would be if the weather was'nt on our side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bookie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,392
    167
    32
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful time ~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a wonderful experience with this tour! The history told by our guides and the choices of food we tasted were a great introduction to Puerto Rico's culture. The folks on the tour with us were delightful and we visited with them the following day in Old San Juan. We would highly recommend this excursion to anyone. Wear comfortable shoes as walking is involved.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PR1JandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A night of wonderful flavors, aromas, colors, and history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The name: Flavors of Old San Juan does not do this tour justice. It was much more than just a walking dinner tour. Victor, our guide and host made this evening amazing. He combined the history of the people, the city with the history of the food. For every dish there is a story, a history of how the dish came to be as well as a history of the establishments we dined at. All this combined made each dish that much more interesting and tasty. Not only was there great food but amazing coffee and the stop in the spice shop was great as well. If you like to cook, then you may just find yourself taking home some spices. Again, it was the story behind the spice that Victor told that just made it more interesting.
With six stops you get a real taste of the unique foods of the Caribbean and Puerto Rico. I highly recommend this tour. You will not be disappointed.
Note: It is a walking tour and Old San Juan has some hills, wear comforatble walking shoes. Restrooms in Old San Juan can be "interesting" at times but the guide will make sure to point out the places with good ones so make sure to take advantage of them. It is a good idea to pack a small bottle of hand santizer as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informative tour on old san juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a great tour to do in the beginning of your trip so you know how to navigate old san Juan & understand the history. However you will need to eat after the tour. It's just appetizers no real substance. I would like to recommend that alcoholic drinks be added to the tour especially if the restaurant we visit is known for a drink. It should be part of the tasting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nessaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We did it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We can't get enough of this company...we took their Old San Juan Food Tour after hearing it was a new format and thought it was even better than before! The last tour we took featured four restaurants, this time we dined at six stops (and it was less money!).

I'm a pretty die hard coffee fan and have had my cups of Joe before, but was blown away by the coffee place they visit and the information they provide about it. Definitely appreciate Puerto Rican coffee more.

We also thought the guide was great and you could tell she had a passion for the city: its history, culture and food. She was well spoken, made sure everyone heard her and enjoyed the experience with her and with each other. I don't know what else to say about it, than it was a very magical evening!

Oh! also, the bonus was we were given a guidebook that had a great map of Old San Juan and two coupon sheets with discounts at restaurants and shops in the city. We went back to a couple shops and places featured on the tour and enjoyed those savings. Well done! I think next we'll do the cooking class, as we try to come as much as possible to San Juan.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nonni4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours also viewed

 

Been to Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing