We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$92.19*
and up
Old San Juan Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 7 Food & Drink in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are the ORIGINAL walking food tour company of Puerto Rico (founded in 2009). What's that? Our food tours combine Puerto Rico's unique history and cuisine in the beautiful setting of historic Old San Juan. Featured as a top tour option on CNN, BBC, Caribbean Travel & Life Magazine, USA Today, Frommers, Lonely Planet and more, Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours offers delicious 1-3 hour food tasting events focused solely in historic San Juan, Puerto Rico (Old San Juan). Leave your tourist fanny pack at home and awaken the traveler inside! Our guided food tours include mouth-watering food samples (enough for most to feel full afterwards) showing off the diversity of Puerto Rican "comida criolla" or local cuisine. We are so much more than rice and beans! Come learn our rich history, treasured architecture and hidden off the beaten path restaurants you don't want to miss. Our food tour offerings depart daily at 10am, 3pm, 5pm and 6pm.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We decided to take this tour after hearing how great it was from a fellow traveler. My wife and I both like to eat traditional foods wherever we are travelling. If you like to do the same then I suggest that you do this tour. The guide has a lot of knowledge about the history of San Juan, as well they also know quite a bit about the food that you are eating as well. They will also tell you of places that are good to eat that you haven't gone to on the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Everett04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,474
    170
    33
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cooking Class in Old San Juan”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our group had a great morning with Kathy learning to cook an authentic Puerto Rican lunch. The class was fun, informative and most importantly... delicious! We're looking forward to trying to recreate our Tostones Rellenos & Flan for ourselves now that we are back home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best foodie experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

excellent food excellent team of work the experience is outstanding you should take this the chef takes you from a journey in puertorrican gastronomy from sofrito to temblequee excelent meals good portions and the dessert uff try it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaRpr6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I took a Flavors of San Juan dinner tour in March 2013 - I had heard lots of great things about their tours, and the month before I had really enjoyed the lunchtime market tour. The Old San Juan dinner tour was terrific! Our guide Hiram was passionate about the history of his city and had lots of little anecdotes to go along with the history of San Juan and his knowledge of the architecture all around the colonial city. The food was a perfect pairing - even though I'm a local and am familiar with our local cuisine, the choice of restaurants was terrific and all of the food was delicious. It's so great to get the star treatment at all the restaurants - each time, we barely had to wait for our food to be served, and the service was great.

I highly recommend this tour for families, groups of friends, and even locals looking for something different to do. There are other tours in Old San Juan, but this is definitely the best one - they are professional, fun and a great value. I'll be back the next time I have family or friends visiting the island!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank crewfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, passionate guide, and well presented.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hiram does an excellent job in presenting this tour. My family (wife, boy age 11, girl age 8) toured with him and really enjoyed our time. He was excellent in handling all of our needs and questions. He gives an excellent tour. Very informing about local artists, architecture, and hands on tastings (great for kids and adults). Well worth the time and money. I highly recommend booking this tour with Hiram.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Flavors of San Juan Food and Culture Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing