We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and friendly”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
boston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and friendly”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Milano for two nights at the end of September (Hurricane season) before our cruise from Old San Juan because of (1) its easy walking to attractions, free trolley and the port, also (2) its better cancellation policy (72hrs) compared to SJ Suite (much cheaper but at least 1 day will be charged) and (3) having an elevator compared to Casa Blanca. The free breakfast included by Orbitz (typically charged a bit over $5 pp/pd) helps the budget.

The stand queen room on 2nd floor has small high windows looking out to walls but is very quite. The room appears smaller than the picture than but is sufficient for our need.

There is a small refrigerator in room and we later find out the bottled water within is free.

There is no safe in room but a sign on the door directs guest to the front desk where they have the safe box (like in the bank safe) available for use.

A/C works well. We did asked for the 1 of only 2 remote control upon checking in (as suggested by others) and find the preset temperature is comfortable and returned the remote the following morning.

The cost for the simple breakfast (toast, some pastry, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, etc) makes it not as attractive.

It will be helpful to have some tower bars or something allowing to hang clothes that we washed after walking in the very hot and humid environment.

Location is very convenient that we can easily walk to many attractions, free trolley, restaurants, and the port. When it gets too uncomfortable, we will just come back to relax.

The front door is locked at midnight and the front desk is always manned.

They let us to store luggage (chained and tagged) after return from the cruise during our final exploring of the old town.

Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly, from the front desk to the breakfast restaurant. The mood is laid back.

One final note, a good portion of the Fortaleza Street is currently under construction that you can only be dropped of at the side streets, and the street side room may be noisy due to construction activities.

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    347
    159
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
424
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I chose to go back to Hotel Milano for his birthday ….. There is something about the hotel that makes you feel at home…. Everything is laid back, the rooms are very clean , the staff are incredibly amazing; they were always so attentive and helpful especially when it came to restaurant choices and sites to visit.

The Hotel Milan location is perfect, we love that you can walk out of the door and experience Old San Juan and walk back in to the hotel and feel like you are at home All this at an affordable price…. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrightel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico,ca
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Close to restaurants, bars, shopping and the cruise port. Do opt for a room with real windows as some rooms only have tiny slits of glass. Avoid the street side rooms if you want to sleep as the bar across the street is extremely noisy until the wee hours of the morning. The Brickhaus around the corner had great food, reasonably priced and was open late night.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catravlerChico_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights following a cruise. I was pleased with the location, its within walking distance to a lot of things. You can take a trolley around all of old san juan, for free!! The staff were all helpful and friendly, with great suggestions on places to eat, etc. Thanks to all, especially Raphel and Louis and Jose !! Hope to see you all again soon:)

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 4th floor facing the road with big windows:) enjoy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just left this hotel after two night stay. It was exactly what I had expected. The rooms were adequately sized and very clean. The hotel is located close to every major attraction and we were able to walk to all of them. I am a bit confused by people's negative reviews, it is not a luxury hotel, but I did not expect it to be either. The front desk staff was very helpful, the breakfast was great and well worth the price. It was quiet, yet surrounded by things to do. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mlel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here the night before we went on a cruise. Wanted to stay at a hotel which was walking distance to the cruise terminal. This hotel is walking distance. The value of the hotel is not good compared to another hotel we saw close by. The room was okay, just very outdated and was in need for an upgrade. We stayed in a city view room with one large queen bed. The bathroom was large enough for us, just in need of updates as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. Especially the man that was in charge of the continental breakfast.

Overall, if you are looking for a hotel room like the higher end major hotel chains, this isn't for you. It was okay just for 1 night. Not sure if I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman1979_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the quaint and pleasant, Hotel Milano (family of four) located in the heart of Old San Juan. I would recommend the room on the 4th floor, overlooking Calle Fortaleza. The room was ample, clean and comfortable and within walking distance to several great eateries and many of the attractions. This is a small family owned hotel -- not a resort, so sure, you may not have all of the amenities offered by the "big guys" but that is what makes this hotel charming and offers a genuine OSJ experience. We stayed four nights and during the week, the street below were very calm and quite; however, on the weekends, OSJ comes alive with its nightlife ambiance (noise was not an issue, actually very faded sounds and nothing that would keep you awake). After all, that is what El Viejo San Juan is all about... live it, experience it and enjoy it. Our stay was a positive one and would book again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 47 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing