We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Handy to the cruise ship pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Handy to the cruise ship pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a nice, comfortable hotel in Old San Juan. It was convenient to the cruise pier, so we didn't have to hire a taxi; we walked. Also, the staff is helpful and friendly. We were allowed to leave our bags during the day while we walked around town, and the bags were chained together for security, even though there is always someone at the desk. The rooms are small but adequate, and it was clean. We would definitely stay here again and/or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    333
    147
    69
    61
See reviews for
126
399
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I just got back from my first trip to Puerto Rico and it was amazing..not just because it's an unbelievably special island, but also because of our comfortable stay at Hotel Milano.
We were greeted by Iram at the front desk and he helped us during our entire stay. Everyone working there was very pleasant, patient and very helpful. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.
Best part was its location--everything you need is at walking distance. There's also a trolly (that is free) that can take you to different places if you don't want to walk.
Thanks to all at Hotel Milano for making this trip even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lua m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Each year we stay at the Milano Hotel in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico and each year it is a pleasure. The hotel is directly on Calle Fortaleza and just steps to the trendy restaurants and historical attractions of the "Old City". The hotel is clean, safe, and comfortable. However, the best feature is the staff...from Hiram (Front Desk) to Jose (Breakfast Room), Juan (Owner), to the Cleaning Staff. They are gracious, friendly people who represent Puerto Rico at its best. We hope always to return to this wonderful place.

J & J, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jag55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A nice place to stop while on your layover for your cruise. We were sharing a room with another couple and were very pleased with the accommodation, Although both rooms we stayed in were small they served the purpose as a place to rest and refresh while exploring the sites of Old San Juan

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry111Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were fairly exhausted from our red-eye from the West Coast, so asking to see the room wasn't high on my radar. All we cared about was a shower and clean place to sleep. Milano certainly provided that, but don't have expectations about a grand room. At least we didn't, but we were only staying one night until our room at Caleta 64 opened up. Had we thought to do a deluxe room we would not have had a room with a small "window". The staff was helpful, especially the older gentleman. He gave us directions to Caleta 64 after we were waiting for almost an hour for our ride to come. It is an easy walk, if you don't have a antsy pre-schooler and a large suitcase. The other staff member was agitated after the older staff member suggested we walked, since he had called a taxi for us. He seemed aggravated that we would change our mind!

Days after our stay, I realized that I left my neck pillow there so I emailed them. They responded right away. I practically ran there from Caleta (not their fault) to find that it was someone else's neck pillow. They were awesome though because I think they radio'ed housekeeping. After making sure that there was no other neck pillow, they let me take the other one. Nothing a quick load of laundry couldn't have fixed.

Great location, as others have noted.

Room Tip: Ask to see room! Speak Spanish with them if possible- the older gentleman is polite and nice to pra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Milano Hotel for 5 nights. We paid extra for a deluxe room with large windows. Hotel was old, but clean and comfortable. Great location! The staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful, with what to see and directions to places we wanted to get to. Jose Colon was very helpful in pointing out places not on the normal tourist itinerary. My only negative comment would be the breakfast. It was $5.35 per person per day, for toast, cereal, coffee, juices, milk, small danishes, small muffins, fruit and small rolls. I think they could have included that free with the room rental. But, I must say that it was very convenient. Overall a great stay and would stay there again, if we ever get back to San Juan.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My companion and I were planning a long weekend trip to San Juan and wanted to stay in the old city. We had our hearts set on staying in El Convento but there was no availability so we chose the Hotel Milano, sight unseen. We were very happy with our choice and plan to return on our next trip.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The stall shower was immaculate and the water forceful and hot. The building itself safe and secure. Most strikingly was the warmth and graciousness of the hotel staff. Hiram at the front desk was lovely. Jose Colon who attended the lovely rooftop breakfast room was charming and welcoming. He simply could not do enough to make us happy.

If you want an Old San Juan experience, I highly recommend the Hotel Milano. Surrounded by good restaurants and historic sites, travelers are exactly where they want to be in the old city.

Room Tip: Room 308, Queen Standard is a good choice. Overlooks Calle Fortaleza but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#40 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing