We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milano”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Milano”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location just minutes away from cruise port, good food, and lots of street vendors. Room was VERY small with small windows near the ceiling. I will have to go with a different choice of rooms next time! I understand that the ones in the front are bigger with actual windows. Although, the room served it's purpose and allowed us a clean area to sleep. We returned and disembarked from our cruise at 11:00 a.m. but room was not ready. The kind elderly gentlemen (same gentlemen who works the roof top restaurant in the a.m.) took our luggage and chained it together to keep it safe and locked while we explored Old San Juan for the day. He was awesome and so were the rest of the staff with the exception of a middle aged gentlemen at the front desk. He never lifted his head until I spoke to him first, then acted as if I were really interupting him by having to check us in or answer a questions. There was a younger gentlemen there in the evening who was very nice-so we waited to ask him questions :) I would have to say that I would stay here again. Location is what makes this hotel wonderful and the price is fair!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    347
    159
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
424
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being picky travelers we get stressed when it comes to selecting a hotel especially in unfamiliar regions. Turns out we made a great choice! Hotel Milano was the perfect match ….We loved the hotel… the rooms are very clean, the staff are very helpful, the location was great and the owner Juan was exceptional.
For those who travel for the experience this is the hotel for you! The historical locations are accessible. You can literally walk to all location and come back for a nap before embarking on another adventure.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed 1 night after a cruise to explore Old San Juan. We walked the from the cruise dock to the hotel in only a few minutes. However, the walk is slightly up hill and depending on the size of your baggage, may be considered more than an easy walk. Our room on the 4th floor was clean, comfortable, and fairly large with nice windows. Noise was never an issue. The breakfast area on the roof was very pleasant with both inside and outside seating.

The hotel location was great for exploring the city, especially with several stops of the free bus close to the hotel. We ate at 3 different restaurants within a block of the hotel and would recommend them all, (Pirilo Pizza Rustica and Cafe Puerto Rico were excellent). We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the streets of Old San Juan among the colorful houses, buildings, and monuments of the city, all of which appeared very well maintained.

For us, the staff of the Hotel Milano was exceptional in terms of friendliness, service, and recommendations. Their restaurant suggestions and recommendations for little known sites to explore of interest to us became highlights of the trip. We expected the day after our cruise to be somewhat anti-climatic, but instead had a wonderful experience in both Old San Juan and the Hotel Milano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 878RichardF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent one night after returning from a cruise. We walked the .4 mile to the hotel with our luggage from the cruise ship dock. This hotel met our needs in terms of being a clean convenient place to stay as we added a day to tour Old San Juan. It is well located for seeing the sites. The property is old, being in Old San Juan, but well maintained and clean. Our third floor room had simple furnishings and was of adequate size. A simple continental breakfast was available for $5/person. Internet access is available on a computer in the lobby.

The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. They gladly watched our luggage for a few hours while we walked around town before our room was available. The next day, they watched our luggage for a few more hours between check-out and the time to get to the airport. They also gave us several excellent suggestions for restaurants.

I would stay here again for a day or two.

Room Tip: Ask about your room having windows. Also, ask about the roof top restaurant. It might be a good pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbens414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at Milano back in 2002 coming and going from trips to other islands. Clean and comfortable.
In 2012, tried to book a room for a Saturday night stay prior to leaving on a cruise Sunday. At that time, Milano had a policy of minimum of two nights. Isn't that nice? I attempted to call them, but with my limited Spanish, was unable to discuss a compromise (meaning I would pay a premium for 1 night). Not sure if that policy is in affect now, or during their "prime" cruise season. We ended up at a dump, which looked OK on the internet but was lousy. Do some due diligence on this matter, or perhaps engage an experienced PR travel agent. Milano is in a good location there in Old SJ.

Room Tip: No suggestions, as there are numerous problems to overcome: loud AC units, small windows if your par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w5lxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Old Town San Juan. We stayed here the night before our Carnival cruise. We stayed in a room with no windows, so we experienced no issues with noise and were able to sleep fine. The room was very small and would not be something I would suggest if you were planning on spending a lot of time in the room, but if you are in Old Town to party or sleep after your flight before a cruise, it is a definite option for a great price. You can walk to the Carnival port, but it is reasonable to take a cab with your luggage, so why walk the narrow streets with all your luggage? Everyone at the hotel was very nice. They were also great about holding our bags after check out so we could explore downtown before we hopped on the ship. If I go back to San Juan I would stay there again for a night or two to explore more of Old Town and party all night long; so I would not have to worry about the noise level on the streets! That is part of Old Town - it is a place to dance and party!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtheworld_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed one night here. We were in a room on the 4th floor with little tiny basement type windows. We heard no noise from the street so I guess the small windows were a good thing for that. Otherwise it was kind of like sleeping in a basement! The room was clean but the carpet was very old and there was a little mold in the upper corner of the wall. Otherwise the room was adequate. We were allowed to check in an hour early so I guess we were just lucky there. Also they allowed us to leave our luggage in the lobby as we had a later flight after check out. We did go look at the breakfast offered and it was mostly packaged goods. For the same price we went to Morenos Spot next to Starbucks near the pier and got espresso, eggs with ham, toast and fried potatoes which was delicious! The location of the hotel is the best thing as it is in a great spot in the middle of everything. The staff was also friendly and helpful. They had a computer to use to print boarding passes which was nice.

Room Tip: You can get a remote for the airconditioner at the front desk. Otherwise it was freezing or off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantw82goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 47 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing