We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would NOT stay here again.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would NOT stay here again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room was extremely small and outdated. The bathroom was also small and the hair dryer did not work. The air conditioner made some awful noise that continually woke me up all night. Would NOT recommend this place. Old San Juan was just okay....the neighborhood felt safe, but had lots of interesting characters at night. I would definitely stay somewhere closer to Condado or the beaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresno_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    341
    153
    74
    64
See reviews for
134
411
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

That's right! You too can take a vacation and stay in a beautiful colonial San Juan and if you stay here you can have the extra excitement of having the manger tell you that he's going to have the police remove you, even though you're reservation is for three nights and they are insisting its for two.

I of course have an early morning flight and it being between Xmas and NYE there is scarce hotels within easy reach of the airport.

Yeah, what a sweet taste to leave such a beautiful place with! Truly the people and geography of Puerto Rico are incredible and wonderful. This hotel, not so much.

So, after threatening me with police which I agreed was the only way they would get me out and also promised that option came with a free lawsuit. They finally did some research, not their string suit, and lo and behold............ They found my reservation! Oh, with a little help from me who had it emailed into them. Yeah that smart!

They were quick to respond with a heartfelt apology! Just KIDDING! Yeah that's right, they tried to explain why I was responsible for them threatening me with police! Yep, I shait you not!

It turns out that my reservation had a room change to a more expensive room by 20 bucks. I came with friends and didn't make the reservation, so I was unaware. They're all home or on their way.

So after them trying to explain how threatening me with arrest was not their fault, they gave me the key to the other room. When I returned the other key and was half way up the stairs the desk clerk, waved me back to let me know that I have an outstanding charge of $11 and will I be paying it at checkout tomorrow at 6:30 AM? Yeah, t told him! And I promised a glowing review!

If only for solidarity please do not stay at this hotel.

To the owner and manager! I hope you're seeing this! I'm writing it in your own hotel!

Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamesaustinmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
You came to the hotel and signed the registration card which stated that you was for two nights and when you was supposed to check out you didn't want to leave because you said you had three nights paid, we needed that room for another guest as we explained to you but refused to empty the room, in those cases we have to use the authorities, later came out that your agent booked another room with another reservation number for that last night and somehow you didn’t know it and that was something you was supposed to know, over all you are blaming us but that is not fair, the details of any one traveling is his own responsibility, I am sure next time you travel are going to be more careful with all the details, also we wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Superb Location and Service. Not too hard on the pocket book, either. Rooms were OK, but not luxurious. Good security here, even though I never felt threatened in San Juan. If you're looking for a budget hotel in old San Juan, you won't find a better one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbs1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights on Nov 18/19. Check in was a bit long. Lobby is small but welcoming. Room was comfortable and clean. Hotel is in the middle of Old San Juan and walking distance to some good restaurants, the free trolley and great sites.
There is a computer in the lobby that you can use free of charge. You can also print your boarding pass for free.
We did not use the breakfast (located on the roof of the hotel with a view of old San Jan).
I would definitely would go back there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel is clean, but nothing special. Good location. Staff was very helpful. Left our luggage there after we checked out. There was continental breakfast for a small charge. Hotel is a bit tired. But we would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great spot for the festivals in old San Juan! Walk or take the free trolley to many of the great sites. We found ourselves in the center of the celebrations and loved it! The hotel is very old but clean & quiet. The bed was comfy & the small fridge in the room came in handy. Restaurants, shopping street vendors, music & dancing in the streets! What fun! Great continental breakfast up on the rooftop with views ...( For a small fee) Could use an update but overall a great location to immerse yourself in history.

Room Tip: A room in the rear is a bit more quite.. Wear slippers as the carpeting is well worn! It is air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

It has an excellent location, but we had a terrible experience. We chose it for my husband's birthday and we had an awful service since reception. Not a nice welcome. The hotel is full of inconsiderate employees and a very mean owner. The room was literally falling apart. The air conditioner was dripping and the bed was the most umcomfortable, noisy, springy ever! Bathroom too small. They even charged us for an extra night that we didn't even planned on staying. It really was a terrible unnecessary experience. We recommend other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are awful, falling apart. Never choose this hotel!! I mean it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear lady, your comments talk laud about yourself and it is obvius you did it in bad faith, you are trying to tarnish our reputation accusing us of charging you for nothing, that is stealing and that is not truth, it is sad that your vicious review got posted but people know better, wish you the best, Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing