We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let's get the only two downsides out of the way. The bed was springy/spongy, and the air conditioner was accumulating condensation on it and dripping. The bathroom with stall shower was nice and the stall shower was very stylish.

The hotel is in a good location on Calle Fortaleza near lots of restaurants. It's also near the cruise port, the free trolley route, and the Castillo San Cristobal.

The staff is very helpful, letting us keep our luggage there before check-in time and after check-out time, so we stretched one night in San Juan into two full days. I'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    331
    147
    68
    60
See reviews for
124
398
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed with my family October 27th before taking our cruise the next day from Old San Juan.
This hotel is conveniently located in Old San Juan approximately 20 mins from the airport by taxi and litterally 10 mins walk from "The Port". If you dont have much luggage and its not to hot you can certainly walk it. Great location to experience good local food and music. Its very clean and the staff were extremely helpful both during the booking process and our stay....infact they offered a very good Airline Employee Discount rate (must have you staff photo ID on arrival) which also included a generously sized continental breakfast....would certainly stay there again. Many thanks Juan and your great staff.

Room Tip: Depending on where you room is located you can hear some of the great local music. This was not a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Milano. It is located in the middle of Old San Juan - within walking distance of everything. The hotel is small, clean and comfortable, not extravagant, but well-priced. Our room was air-conditioned and included a small refrigerator. The staff was hospitable and helpful. The rooftop continental breakfast was a perfect start to our day and very inexpensive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jshandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This quaint little hotel is the perfect place to stay in Old San Juan. The owner and staff couldn't be more accommodating. Great price and great location. They even offer a rooftop continental breakfast for just a few dollars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

All I can say is, I had the greatest time!!! Perfect location to explore Old San Juan. I love that we can just walk around during the day and at night. Love all those restaurants and shops.The staff was very helpful. My big thanks to HECTOR. You are the best!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmen456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nothing to rave about but we would stay there again. Spartan but clean. Great central location in Old San Juan. Warm helpful staff. Not the place to spend your honeymoon but a good place to stretch your travel dollar just two doors away from Pirilo's Rustica Restaurant (arguably the best pizza in PR and most of the US). Unfortunately the roof top restaurant has been closed for years except for breakfast. It is such a wonderful asset that I think they should open it in the evenings just to offer wine etc to the hotel guests.That would make the hotel much more appealing.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bed room on the fourth floor facing the street. Other rooms were cheaper but few had any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are going to stay in San Juan Hotel Milano is the place to stay. It is located right in the middle of everything! Plenty of places to shop and the night life is fantastic! I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#40 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing