We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Shining, but Drearier”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Like the Shining, but Drearier”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was the worst hotel experience I have had. We arrived late in the evening - about 9pm - and there were two men behind the desk who were indifferent, and not welcoming. The "Superior Room with one queen bed" was bleak. The sheets were gross - threadbare polyester. There was a revolting smelling air freshener in the room. At 4:30am the air conditioner in the room started leaking onto the carpet and woke us up. We called downstairs and after 1/2 hour the desk clerk came up and moved us to another room, "Superior Room with two double beds" that had three tiny windows by the ceiling that made it feel like a jail cell. Because of the sleep interruption we were unable to get up early to explore the city. In the morning, when we complained to Hiram who was working the desk, he was prepared with a defense: he denied that it was a problem, saying that it was fine because we were moved to another room and that the maid checked the air conditioner and that it was working without a problem. As I pressed the point that a hotel is in the business of sleep and we were robbed of this by the hotel, Hiram got angry at me and repeated "you keep talking about last night, last night, last night". Yes - that was the point. After a long argument he said he would refund us and release us from our two night obligation. When we checked out, he had only refunded us for the second night. Only after a longer argument was he willing to give us a 50% refund for the ruined night. Also - the restaurant with the continental breakfast only had the waiter and two maids in it - leaving us to think that we were in fact the only people staying in the hotel. When we asked to speak to the manager, he would not speak with us. I've read the bad reviews of this hotel, and there is often a reply from the management questioning the character of the complainant. I look forward to hearing what they have to say about us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AstaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Sorry to hear that you had such bad time with us but if the first night you wouldn’t close the air conditioning slit not allowing the air coming out you had not have the dropping problem (that morning our personnel found that slit closed by the flap) after that incident sadly you found everything at fault, you said that we justify the bad reviews attacking the character of the reviewer but you may examine your own attitude with us, for sure was very negative while we offered you other room options and gave you almost full refund, good luck to you, Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    344
    158
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
422
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our room was clean and spacious (2 double beds) and a big window with a view of the sea between the buildings. Well, until a cruise boat parked up, that is! Great central location - you can walk the entire Old City in a day easily. Cheap continental breakfast buffet option ($5 p/p) which was quick and you could sit on the rooftop. All the staff we met were helpful - restaurant recommendations, taxi bookings etc.

Room Tip: Some doors were open for cleaning and looked tlike the windows weren't quite as big, so you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel was in a great location for a 24 overstay in Old San Juan. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very polite and helpful. I enjoyed all of the art in the lobby. From here was a super short walk to Castillo San Cristóbal and about 20 minutes by foot to El Morro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djaguirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Milano in December 2011 prior to a cruise. One of our reasons for chosing was the proximity of the hotel to the pier. We had taken a cab from the airport so we didn't have to worry about parking - which seems to be one of the few drawbacks of the hotel. It is in an older building but was very well maintained. It was pretty quiet while we were there, but the few staff that were working were very polite. We loved the fact that the hotel is centered in Old San Juan - we were able to walk to great restaurants, shopping, and sight seeing. The continental breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace and was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank litgirrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Location is central to everything you would want to do in Old San Juan... Everything is walking distance from this place..although they do not have a parking structure, there is one two blocks away for cheap (2 dollars). At night the building is safe - they lock the doors and the guest would have to be buzzed in the staff i up 24-7. The continental breakfast was refreshing - eating while siting on the rooftop! Everyone treated us like family, it really made me feel like home. I will definitely come back and stay at this hotel when I comeback!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Hector and jose!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and right in the heart of Old San Juan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiespeak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night pre-cruise. The lobby was okay, but then we took an elevator up to where the room was located. There was no A/C in the halls and you have to use a key to open glass doors to even get to thehallway where the rooms were. The room was about 8x10 with barely enough room to walk around the bed. There were roaches crawling on the wall and the a/c didnt work. The bedding was from the 1980s. The picture they have posted must be the only roomthat has the newer looking bedding. They agreed to move us. The next room did have a/c that worked, but the carpet was disgusting and we had a very uneasy feeling. The hotel is in a "shady" part of town and there was loud music coming from a club until about 3:30am. Do yourslf a favor. Spend the extra money and stay in a nice hotel. BTW, breakfast upstairs was rotten bananas, some toast, and juice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csh0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear lady, that junior room is about 18'x14' and it is under 100.00 p/night and are the first that go, we upgraded you as soon as you complained but right away that room was checked by our maids and found no roaches, sorry you were not happy either with the security doors on the halls, everybody likes that extra security in the access to rooms, people know when reviewers character lacks fairness, good luck for you, Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 48 in San Juan
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 48 in San Juan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 48 in San Juan
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing