We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but humid room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location but humid room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Good location with public parking acroos the street for $15 per day. Personnel was cordial. Room was okay (holiday inn express) but had a humid smell. Breakfast was okay if you do not look for protein base food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear luis t,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments about the location of our hotel and our staff. Your comments with the room humidity and the breakfast has been noted for review and future considerations.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    195
    116
    18
    13
See reviews for
144
140
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Hotel has a very good location but did not compensate for the terrible room I got. I have never stayed in a more humid room in my life... I would run my hand over the bed sheets and they were humid-almost wet... When I'd dress every morning, my clothes were equally humid. Even if I had the AC on, the room was a sauna. I'm fine with using towels several days in a row, but I was really disappointed to find the same soaking towels I'd used in the morning on the evening... Anything good about the hotel has completely overshadowed by this major humidity mishap. Must warn: I arrived at midnight, and there was no water in the room, no drinking water in the faucets, and no water in the vending machine in the lobby. The gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to get me a couple of glasses of water from the dining room (only good thing I can say about hotel's personnel). Bathroom was small, and the room was not comfortable for business travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Los Polanco C,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for 6 days and loved it! It is like a new hotel! The concierge Janice. ..well I can't say enough nice things about her. If there is something you want to do or somewhere you want to go she will make it happen! If you are trying to vacation in a nice hotel on a budget. ..well this is your place! My biggest piece of advice. ..ask the concierge for a taxi rate chart or they charge you whatever they feel like!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kelwarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in August 2014. We had 2 rooms for 4 adults. We wanted a budget-friendly room for San Juan as we explored the island. The rooms were clean, quiet, and had comfortable beds. The shower worked well, but the toilet would get stuck and keep running. The location of this hotel is ideal, just a block from beach access. Parking was available across the street for $15/day. Breakfast was good for a free breakfast (eggs, toast, fruit etc. available) Overall, this hotel was exactly what we were looking for and I would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here precruise and the hotel was in a great location. U r one block from the beach and great restaurants and bars. The area around the hotel is safe to walk around in after dark. The hotel is minutes from the cruise terminal. The rooms are a little small, but clean and very efficient. I would stay here again without reservation.

Room Tip: join the IHG and then ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

When reviewing a hotel, many people fail to explain what they were looking for when booking. We wanted something clean, safe, near restaurants, and comfortable. This hotel was perfect for us! Cost us $20+tip to get to in a cab from the airport. Very updated and exceptionally clean! Receptionists were very nice and helpful. The rooms are small - if you're looking for something big and spacious with all the amenities of a 5 star resort, do not stay here. This place is perfect for a one or two night stay, or a vacation in which you plan to spend minimal time at the hotel. By no means a five star resort, this place is perfect if you simply want a clean, friendly place to stay. The only downfalls were the small rooms and the overly crowded breakfast area. However, breakfast itself was very good with a lot of hot choices (French toast, sausage, pancakes). I would definitely stay here again and I certainly recommend this hotel to the budget-friendly traveler looking for just the basics! (See review for nearby Orozco's hotel, a fantastic local restaurant)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carri626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a week with 3 other friends. We had 2 rooms, 2 people per room. My expectations of the hotel were minimal. I pictured the Holiday Inn as outdated and mediocre. I was completely wrong. The lobby was nicely refurbished, clean, sleek, and modern. The rooms were also very nice with lots of window light. The bathroom was pretty small but we managed to deal with it as we spent most of our time outside of the hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating; letting us leave our luggage in storage after we checked out as we had a late return flight home. The breakfast was te standard breads, sausage, fruit, eggs, etc. It wasn't a 5 star breakfast but I was not expecting it to be anyways. It was free and satisfying enough. The hotel was within walking distance to the beach and noise level was very quiet. This was a good choice for travelers on a budget. There is barely an ocean view though so if being very close and/or seeing the beach is important to you, I would recommend paying extra to stay at a beach front resort.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank otabrizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#32 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Address: 1 Calle Mariano Ramirez Bages | Bages Condado, San Juan 00907-1687, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado features an excellent location in the exclusive Condado area. Enjoy our recently updated Wi-Fi Internet for fast and speedy connection. Its beauty and splendor overlook Condado Lagoon. Within walking distance, you will enjoy first class shopping, with all major jewelery stores, souvenirs and fashion designer boutiques at hand. Visit the beautiful Condado Beach within walking distance to the hotel. And when the night falls, casinos and exciting nightlife are the name of the game. Take advantage of our free deluxe continental breakfast, 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea in lobby, outdoor pool, fitness room or business centre. With highly trained and qualified personnel which guarantees all necessary arrangements for groups, conventions, social activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel San Juan
Holiday Inn San Juan
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing