We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the fine print before you stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Read the fine print before you stay here!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

As far as hotels go this Holiday Inn Express was great. The staff, room (although small), breakfast and ammenties were all that we expected. Right down the street was the waterfront which was a very relaxing place to walk in the cool of the evening. Our biggest frustration with this place was that there was no on-site parking! We had to pay $15.00 every day at the garage across the street. Parking in San Juan is at a premium but when you think you are getting a reasonable price for a room, think again and add an extra $15.00 a day to your expenses for parking!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th (top) floor. From there we had an ocean view, although it was down the street. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLH10120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear DLH10120,

I would like to thank you for your review with us. We understand our prime location in Condado makes the parking at a premium fee like any other location in San Juan. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will look forward to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,

Alev Tabak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    210
    125
    22
    16
See reviews for
163
151
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location - one block from the beach and a park where there is live music on Sundays. Also, close to Avenida Ashford, which has tons of restaurants and also leads to Old San Juan. This is a safe walk and an excellent way to see the city and walk to the Castillo de San Cristobal (an incredible fort with great views) and the center of the old city. Staff - very helpful w/ directions (like anywhere some people are more helpful/friendly than others), questions and requests. We had two rooms - one was a little tight for 4 teenagers, but decent. Ours was a king size corner room w/ awesome views, very clean and very comfortable. No complaints at all. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear StephenBee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found convenient location wise. I will share your positive comments with our staff and we hope to have you with us again.
Sincerely,

Alev Tabak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

stay for a few nights and was great being there. Good Service. The beach in one side and a laguna on the other. lot of place to buy jewels. Go walking at night and dine nearby. It has been a great experience.

Room Tip: The only bad thing is parking have to get a valet parking on another side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Sandra,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the location. Looking forward to having you with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Alev Tabak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We checked out of this hotel last Tues 6/17. Our room #611. The hotel was recently remodeled and looked fantastic. It was clean, the staff great and location was good as well. On our first night the room was cold so we turned the AC down (in the middle of the night). At 6:00am my husband got up and his feet came out from under him and his head hit the tile HARD. The entire floor had condensation... (I fell as well when I got up to help him but did not get hurt-obviously was not aware of the floor condition) He insisted he would be fine and just had a headache (lasted a full 24hrs). I could not get him to go to the hospital to be checked. We were with another couple and he did not feel it was necessary to disrupt our vacation. We did file an accident report at the front desk. She was surprised that we didn't know you can't turn the AC down because it is hot in PR and with tile floors that will happen. I suggested if that is the case that "caution or safety signs" should be posted in the rooms explaining this. I really think it was an AC issue as our room just never seemed the right temp. The fall obviously put a damper on our vacation but we are glad it was not worse. My concern is the next person may not be so lucky.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear dicee1,

Thank you for your review and I would like to apologize for the incident that occurred during your stay with us. I would like to mention that, in the Caribbean, the temperature of rooms should be at least 75 F. Turning off the AC will cause humidity and make condensation. Unfortunately, we are limited on signage that has to be placed in rooms as standard requirements. I understand that an incident report was filled by the Front Desk right away and any treatment offer was turned down. Again please accept our apologies in the matter and hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely,

Alev Tabak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We are actually in the process of checking out now from the Holiday Inn... The staff could not be nicer and the location is great, but the room we had was gross. The room was humid, humid, humid. The humidity level in the room did not lessen even with the a/c cranked. It felt damp and it was really noticeable getting in bed as the sheets felt damp. Overall a highly uncfortable night. I noticed mold under the air conditioner this morning. The bathtub bottom was bubbled up. It was like standing on a water bed. We noticed later that it was water under the tub and it was squishing out onto the bathroom floor. We had a lake by the time everyone showered. Management gave us $10 off the room cost for our night, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Gagal14,

We are so sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the bathtub and the AC in your room.
Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations in that matter. I have shared your review with my Director of Housekeeping and Engineering so we may improve in this area. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you give us another chance for the next time. Please do not hesitate contact with me directly if I could be of any assistance.
Sincerely,
Alev Tabak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful; check-in and check-out were quick. Our room was clean and met our expectations, with a sliver of a view of Condado Beach. I found the bed to be comfortable, the air conditioning worked fine. I'm sure that rooms on the highest two floors would have reasonable views if that is what you are looking for, although this is not a beachfront property. Speaking of the beach, it is less than a five minute walk from the hotel, which is why I mention that this property is worth it for the location. The Condado is one of the prime beaches in San Juan, and therefore you can't beat the price of this property for it's location in relation to the beach as well as the shops, cafes and restaurants found along Avenida Ashford. Given that it sits back off of the main street, there basically was no noise. Had we stayed longer, I would have taken advantage of the hotel pool. It was virtually empty and appeared to be a welcoming oasis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank global_latte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hola global_latte2,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you have found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed our convenient location. Hope to have you with us again in the near future, may be for longer stay. Thank you again.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here a couple days before our cruise an the day after. We are Platinum club members and have stayed at various HIE's. This one ranks as so-so for various reasons. The rooms and bathrooms have been recently remodeled however the air conditioners apparently were not. They work great but are very noisy. Having hot water for a shower was hit or miss. You either had none or when you finally got hot water it was too hot and the controls in the shower didn't control much. The location was a block from the beach and a park which was nice. The greatest asset this hotel has is its staff. They were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Samantha W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay and would like to let you know that we have taken the necessary actions. Again thank you for staying with us and hope you give us another chance in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Address: 1 Calle Mariano Ramirez Bages | Bages Condado, San Juan 00907-1687, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado features an excellent location in the exclusive Condado area. Enjoy our recently updated Wi-Fi Internet for fast and speedy connection. Its beauty and splendor overlook Condado Lagoon. Within walking distance, you will enjoy first class shopping, with all major jewelery stores, souvenirs and fashion designer boutiques at hand. Visit the beautiful Condado Beach within walking distance to the hotel. And when the night falls, casinos and exciting nightlife are the name of the game. Take advantage of our free deluxe continental breakfast, 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea in lobby, outdoor pool, fitness room or business centre. With highly trained and qualified personnel which guarantees all necessary arrangements for groups, conventions, social activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel San Juan
Holiday Inn San Juan
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing