We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget priced hotel with some renovated rooms, right on the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Make sure you get a renovated room as they are quite nice, but small.
The showers are among the best ever! The beds are comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 706 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

This is a gay friedly Hotel, and we are so happy we stayed here. We had room 207, queen size bed that had a ocean view, The room was very clean, the staff was great. I think we were the only lesbian couple there this week, but the boys were hot!!
We will recommend this hotel to all gay couples we know. You walk out from the bar onto the beach and into the water.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcyLilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I went down with 2 girlfriends and we had such a fantastic time. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable however we did wish for temperature control at night because the AC was on too high. If your intent is to spend the majority of your time on the beach this place is perfect. You walk down the back steps directly on to the beach where they provide chairs and umbrellas free of charge. We spent a lot of time at the beach front bar sipping on reasonably priced drinks and talking with the locals and other hotel patrons. The whole place has a very good friendly vibe. If I return to PR I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank megleebak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I stayed two nights here after "roughing it" in Old San Juan for four nights. It's right in the middle of all the big hotels on Ashford Avenue and restaurants/shopping/Walgreens was not too far away. It is smack dab on the beach and the people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. I asked for, and received a renovated room (see pictures) and it was a very comfortable place to sleep. I did have an issue with the maid not replacing the towels she took and I was afraid it was going to be an issue when I checked out at 6am...but it was not.

That being said, it didn't have a lot of ambiance. The bar downstairs played the WORST music-I'm talking Britney Spears/MTV stuff and I would have preferred some salsa...especially since I was in PR. The music alone kept me from hanging out at the bar.

As other reviewers mentioned, it is ground zero for Condado gay beach culture and I would have preferred not to see young, gay Puerto Rican men "cruising" the strip looking for love/cash. There is an abandoned building right next door and evidently things get steamy on the beach next door after hours. I don't write this to scare anyone away...as it wasn't a safety issue and as a female traveling alone I didn't feel unsafe, just know what's going on around you. I met a local, very friendly drug dealer right outside the hotel as well, too bad I'm not into drugs.

I won't likely stay here again, though this has less to do with the hotel and more to do with the area. It didn't have the character that Old San Juan did...depends on what you're looking for. There wasn't enough opportunity for people watching or going out for this solo traveler, but it should suit couples/families just fine!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I went to this hotel with three friends for a short term stay of 3 nights/4 days. The hotel was right on the beach, quiet, and conveniently located amongst tons of cute restaurants and boutiques in Condado. They offered on beach bar service, chairs/umbrellas etc, free internet access (that was spotty on a few of the days) and a friendly/helpful/flexible staff. Although they didn't have a workout room, there was a fitness center right at the end of the street that offered 15 dollar day passes.

The hotels on either side were no longer in use and there was construction going on down the street, but it was not noisy and it appeared that everywhere in Condado construction was going on anyway.

There was also a convenient local bus route right along the outer road that took us to Old San Juan in around 20 minutes.

If you want american style breakfast you may have to head to one of the american chains, but if you're adventurous you can also piece together a breakfast from the closeby grocery store.

lastly, as a vegetarian I was nervous that the restaurants in the area would not have options for me, but they did and were very accomodating to a party that included a vegetarian(myself) someone with a nut allergy and someone with an allergy to whitefish!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BklynMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The Atlantic Beach Hotel at one point was probably a gay hot spot for a cheap, no frills hotel on the beach, conveniently located to restaurants and the bus line. Unfortunately, like so many successful gay bars and establishments, the owners pocket the profits and put off any improvements as long as possible. This hotel is now in the process of renovating the rooms and their apartment building, where i stayed. The desk staff was helpful and courteous. The renovation is superficial. One of my rooms had a contemporary new bed and attractive bedspread, but the other rooms looked like leftovers from the 60s in a floral pattern. The water pressure was terrible. Takes a long time for hot water to get to the third floor.They put in a new granite counter tops, but didn't have it sealed and any moisture at all left big spots until it evaporated. Wait until someone spills some wine or suntan oil and it will be there forever. The exterior of the hotel is chipping off. The Wi Fi only works in the lobby. None is available even for pay in the room. The bar is boring. The beach during the week (high season at the end of February) never had more than 15 people, and on the weekend had only 25: and most on the weekend were not gay. It's ok if you are on a low budget, but there are better places to stay if you can afford it.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank DrBStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Hello All,

If your looking for a great hotel, beach, staff and location? This is it; me and my partner stayed at the Atlantic Beach Hotel for a week and had a great time! The staff went well and beyond to attend to all my needs.

Thanks,

Daniel

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washington_DCDcdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
322 reviews
2.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#40 of 47 in San Juan
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $181 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing