We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Hotel in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Atlantic Beach Hotel offers a budget hotel in an excellent location. The hotel is situated in San Juan Condado Beach and caters to gay travellers especially couples as the hotel does not allow anyone other than hotel guests in rooms (which is a good thing). The rooms are basic, but clean with A/C and hot water in working condition. Bathrooms are a bit small. The ocean view and its location right on the beach in Condado area as well as the free parking and WI-FI throughout the hotel makes up for some defficiencies. The hotel also has a rooftop ocean front deck with lounge chairs and is perfect for spending romantic evening with your lover, spouse, or just hanging out with friends. The hotel also has a coin laundry which is handy for washing clothes especially beach towels and swimming items. My spouse and I loved the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Beach Location, Ocean View Rooms, Roof Top Deck, Free Parking and WI-FI
  • Disliked — Rooms are very basic, no bell hop for baggage service, No Queen or King Size Beds (one bed is too small for 2 people)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank willshabshis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    134
    109
    100
    244
See reviews for
61
244
106
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JERSEY CITY,NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

i have to say that this hotel is in a really bad condition if you read the negative reviews all are true.i wanted to stay here because as a gay person love to support my people. the facility is very old needs alot of work i stay here for 5 days,my first and last time this place it`s a shame!! please sell this hotel to someone that really love gay people. if you go to puerto rico get a drink in this hotel bar and look around and you will see that everything is true. but DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JJAY74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

I've stayed once before and decided to give it a second chance. I won't make the mistake again. The property has gone downhill considerably AND IT WASN'T GREAT BEFORE...just a few snippets from my recent 3 day stay:

1. I was told I could park along the gym on the side of the building by reception (everyone else seems to park there too) and 6 hours later had a $75 ticket on my car. They apparently like to target tourists' cars, I had a Hertz with neverlost in it so it was obvious and the cars in front/behind me has no tickets.
2. The room was filthy. The air conditioner was rusted so bad that I'm shocked it had the ability to freeze me to death- as it did.
3. I changed my arrival date within 10 days and they almost refused the change. Poorest cust. service I've seen and I live in Manhattan! I needed to change my vacation dates due to a work trip which came up. NOW FOR THE ICING ON THE CAKE...
4. My friend doesn't drink so she ordered a pineablle juice and I had a single beer, 2 drinks = $16 ($8 local beer and $8 juice). I haven't even seen those prices in my 6 years in NYC (yet).
5. THEY ABSOLUTELY MIX WATER WITH THEIR LIQUOR. THERE ARE TINY BUBBLES IN THE VODKA AND TEQUILLA WHICH MAKE IT CLEAR HOW THEY RIP YOU OFF, ALL ASIDE FROM THE FACT THAT 5 HARD DRINKS WON'T EVEN GET YOU BUZZED. IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME THEN ORDER A SHOT (JUST MAKE SURE THAT THEY USE THE SAME BOTTLE AS THE DRINKS THEY POURED YOU EARLIER). F.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank francesco212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We recently stayed at the Atlantic Beach Hotel for 5 nights and very much enjoyed our entire stay at the property. The location is directly on the beach and within walking distance to some great restaurants.

The staff at the front desk and bar employees treated us great. The maids were also very nice, although there was a bit of a language barrier at times we were very pleased with the way they cleaned our rooms and they always left us extra towels.

We definately plan on returning very soon to Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank sierraalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2006

I had the pleasure of staying at the Atlantic Beach Hotel in June 2006.

This hotel is right on beach. I found the staff to be extremely friendly. The hotel offers a dining area which overlooks the beach so every morning I enjoyed having my continental breakfast while looking at the fabulous ocean!

The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The weather was quite humid so the air conditioning was a comfortable relief.

The patio bar is the best in the area for atmosphere, music, and view of the ocean.

Bottom line, I had a great time and loved the Atlantic Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2006

I have just returned from an unforgetable time in puerto rico. our stay at the Atlantic beach hotel was full of good service and nice accomidating people. our week stay was so incredible that it was hard for us to leave paradise. the hotel is centrally located near shopping, places to eat, and nightlife.
i would overall recommend theAtlantic beach hotel to anybody who wants to experience a little bit of San Juan, Puerto Rico paradise .

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2006

I had a reservation for a two week say at the hotel. I heard of a government crisis and did not feel comfortable going to Puerto Rico at that time. I called the hotel about 10 days before to cancel my reservation. The hotel refused to refund me my two day deposit. They were not courteous to me or cooperative. I have been going to the hotel for years and would have gladly put my deposit towards a future day. The refused and were very nasty. Now I now why this hotel has so many negative reviews.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Mgr. at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2006
In responce to the reviewers negative comments made against the Atlantic Beach Hotel, we would like to clarify our Hotels Cancellation Policy, which is as follows.

Any Guest who wishes to Cancel or reschdule a room reservation which was booked through our automated internet reservation system must do so by notifying the Hotel in writing no less than seven days prior to their schduled arrival date in order that a full deposit refund can be issued.

However, in all fairness to our Guest, it is also our policy for situations which may occur that are verifiable beyond our Guest control, such as the one described by this Tripadvisor reviewer, we will try to be extremely flexible by offering a full or partial room deposit refund or a credit toward a future stay at our Hotel.

Furthermore, during the reviewers dates in questions we did receive other communications from concerned Guest who had questions about the pending partial goverment shut down which had in fact been highly overstated in the media.

We would also like to add that we received No written Cancellations nor request for rebookings from any of our Guest during the time period mentioned by the Tripadvisor reviewer.

We always value our returning Guest and urge the Tripadvisor reviewer or any other interested persons to contact us in order that we may correct any unfortunate misgivings they may have with their Reservation or our Hotels Cancellation Policy.

Sincerely;
Atlantic Beach Hotel Management



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantic Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing