We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$211
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$306
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Canario by the Lagoon(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$339
$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveler rating
90
138
111
103
275
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
138
111
103
275
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 717 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Location is ideal to take in the beach and ocean, super close to bars and restaurants and just easy to get around and walkable to Old San Juan if you are fit. Very close major bus route. Staff was unsteady. One guy was kind yet another chased us up the stairs on day 3 to check we were not sneaking in with another group. Bar area and view are just amazing. The staff did not give me a genuine feel. Even though we prepaid they tried to fob us off with a shoebox like a prison cell overlooking an alley at first. Finally they moved us to an adequate room with a fab view but it was awkward: felt like we had to ask for what we should have got in the first place. Elevator is scary. Public areas need good clean. Has tons of potential!! Need stronger management and facilities attention.

Room Tip: Request sea view essential!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissPrissyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear MissPrissyN:

Thank you for taking the time to share some aspects of your recent visit to The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your mention of our incredable oceanfront location which you described as a "10".

Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to personally meet your during your stay, but I would like to take a moment of your time to inform you of a major hotel upgrade that will take place in the near future. Our elevator is presently set to be replaced and modernized this summer but in the meantime the present elevator continues to receive normal maintenance at regular intervals and recently passed its annual inspection and certification process. Also due to the great relationship that we have with your travel booking agent, we were able to rectify the error that was made during your reservation process and move you into the proper room that you had requested.

We again would like to Thank you for your past visit to The Atlantic Beach Hotel and do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Saludos;
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

we stayed here our first night in san juan because we were trying to save some money, but it was the worst hotel i've ever stayed at. the bathroom smelled moldy and the pillows had dirty shoeprints on them. the elevator was broken and the walls are paper thin, you could hear everything from the hallway and the neighbors. we only stayed here to sleep and still had a bad experience.
otherwise, it's a great location since it's literally ON THE BEACH and is walking distance from some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sana H:

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your previous one night stay in San Juan. We do apologize that we did not fulfill all of your needs. I forwared your Tripadvisor review to the persons who are responsible to take the necessary steps to correct any negative issues you have mentioned. Our dedicated staff members have asked that I forward you their deepest regrets and sincerest apologies for your unhappiness.

We do hope that you will give our staff another opportunity in the future to prove to that they are very much committed to making sure all our guest enjoy their stays at The Atlantic Beach Hotel.

Gracias
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

i was disappointed with this hotel. They renovated it, it could be so nice, they have everything to be nice, such a nice art deco building but it was renovated without paying attention to details, quickly and cutting corners… Room was somewhat clean… dirty windows, stain on the wall… to end on a positive note: location is great in front of the gay beach and the restaurant is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dommtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Mommtl:

We sincerely appreciate your recent stay and review of The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We were thrilled that you enjoyed our Seaview Restaurant and Lounge Bar and its spectacular oceanfront location and menu.

As with any popular hotel we are always looking to improve our existing product and services. So I did share the issues you raised regarding your room for which we are sincerely sorry it did not fully meet your expectations. Our maintenance personal do their very best to keep up with the salt misting on hotel windows which is a constant task especially during the winter months due to the sporadic rain showers and wind that confronts all oceanfront properties in the Caribbean. But they have assured me they will be more diligent with this task. As an informative side note, all of our wonderful beachs in Puerto Rico are public domain including the Condado Beach and are available for use by all persons who wish to sit back, relax and enjoy there unparalleled beauty.

Thank you again and we do hope your next return visit to Puerto Rico will bring you back our way.

Muchos Gracias
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

DON'T STAY HERE. It's obviously poorly managed, not secure, the receptionist lied to us AND may have been trying to steal our boards, the rooms were just okay, and NO HOT WATER all for $164 - so overpriced!

When we checked in, the receptionist named Francis, told us we could not bring our surf boards into our room and he said he would lock them up in the conference room of the hotel for us. He claimed that his boss, Nancy, the hotel manager, was the only person with the key. Francis also made us sign quite a few different documents - basically removing the hotel of any possible liability for stolen or lost items. Since the conference room, according to Francis was our only option, we carried our 7 foot boards inside. He insisted on helping us carry them through the corridor to the laundry room and would have smacked one against the wall if we didn't block him from doing so. He placed them precariously leaning against a wall in the hotel's "laundry room" - it wasn't a room at all - it was a hallway through which employees came and went from the outside. Any guest or stranger could wander in there from outside - there was no door to the laundry area and the doors to the hotel were kept wide open all night.

When we asked Francis when his boss, Nancy would arrive to put the boards in the "conference room" he said "he had no idea". This was a big red flag to us that the boards were going to stay there all night, but we waited around the hotel bar - which I admit was nice and right on the beach - but we found that Francis was actually at the front desk less than half the time. That left the hotel open to anyone who wandered in. Our boards were not secure and I had a strong sense that Francis was planning to steal or have a friend steal our boards. So we waited till he got off work and brought them up to the room. They fit perfectly fine through the stairwell, hallway and in the room, there was no real reason why we were not allowed to bring them up. In the morning we brought the boards down early so that Nancy, the manager did not notice, afraid they might try to charge us extra or something. When she checked us out, she had no idea we had boards. If Francis was trying to make sure the boards were safely locked up in the "conference room" or safe somewhere in the hotel, wouldn't you think he would have left a note???

Nancy did not seem too worried about anything we mentioned to her. It turns out there is no conference room in the Atlantic Beach Hotel. We are not picky travelers but the absence of hot water and soap in the hotel was just too much on top of worrying about the security of our $1,000 boards. The hotel's location is the nicest thing about it, but there are plenty of other options like it in the same price range.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are nice unless you are a light sleeper - they blasted electronic music until 12:00am on a Thursday in the hotel bar which is on that same side of the building.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Marley Z:

The management of our Hotel very much regrets that your short layover on you way to Rincon did not meet all of your expectations. During a recent management meeting the topic of your Tripadvisor review was discussed in detail including interviews with the employees who were accused of intentional misconduct.

With all due respect, I would like to assure you that all of our staff members take their positions very seriously and their only intentions are to make sure all guest are porvided the highest level of service, safety and security during their stays at The Atlantic Beach Hotel. In your particular case, our staff members on duty knew and shared the value you place on your kite surfing equipment as they were simply trying to find the best way to securely accommodate such large bulky equipment. My colleagues further stated they had informed you and your companion that even if your equipment had been able to fit through the stairways or into the elevator, the "Puerto Rico Fire Codes" would not allow the hotel to permit guest to store kite surfing equipment, surfboards, bicycles or any other large items in guest rooms or hallways due to the emergency hazards and risk they pose for all of our hotel guest and employees.

In the end, we believe our staff members made the appropiate decision to follow company procedure and fire codes by safely storing your kite surfing equipment in management's designated secure area so it would be available for your retrieval the next morning.

Sincerely;
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights and 4 days at this hotel and I say that it has excellent location if you're interested to visit old san juan and fine restaurants. Also, Atlantic bar/restaurant has a beautiful sea front scenery and happy hour all weekdays. In other hand, I consider that Atlantic needs to improve its service during the night. Because the night we arrived were 3 persons waiting to do check in, but just one employee. Unfortunately, that night the service wasn't the best, but the rest went fine.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear fabiannapr

We very much appreciate your taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Our entire staff always tries their very best to make sure all of our guest have nothing less than the best possible experience. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our weekday Happy Hour which takes place weekdays from 5:00pm to 9:00pm in our Seaview Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar.

On one other note, I want to say that we are sorry that your checkin took a bit longer than normal and we regret any inconvenience this may have caused you. We do look forward to your next visit to The Atlantic Beach Hotel with great anticipation.

Gracias
Juan Rivera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews