We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is spotty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beautiful location but rooms are small. Some staff were extremely friendly but others not helpful. Our AC was too loud and difficult to adjust and our TV didn't work. Staff said they would come help but never showed up.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philly_traveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 644 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed just for one night before a cruise. The hotel was in a bit rougher shape then I expected from all the good reviews. Service was fantastic, the location was excellent right near the beach and the hot tub was nice. Breakfast at Niche was very good and reasonably priced. This is definitely not a luxury place. We did book the least expensive room and didn't expect much. The room was very small, the linens did not look very clean, but the bed overall was comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night following a cruise and it was very nice. The hotel is definitely a small boutique operation so you will not get the amenities of a larger hotel. We arrived before check-in so the room was not ready - the only place to keep your luggage is sitting in the lobby. The hotel is very safe and the front door locks so this wasn't a major concern but it felt somewhat inconvenient. There is a small restaurant and hot tub but again, not the amenities of a large hotel. That said, our room was lovely and spacious and the shower and bathroom were great.

As far as the location, Condado is beautiful and this hotel is very close to the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. To get to Old San Juan (for more traditional sightseeing) from here, it costs about $16-$18. The front desk staff were always helpful and happy to call taxis as needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mafels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Average at best. I was not favorably impressed with this hotel. The room and bathroom were small. Our room was not cleaned one day, and when we pointed this out, we were only brought clean towels. The bed was squishy and bounced whenever I or my wife moved, so we were frequently waking each other up. While the staff at the desk was friendly and helpful, the other amenities of the hotel were few and far between. No breakfast or coffee unless you purchased it in the rather small, dark restaurant/bar of the hotel (which had ESPN blasting on the television the morning I went in there). And while I didn't have dinner there, it looked, from the menu, to be overpriced. Most of the time during the three days I spent there, no beach towels were available at the desk (they said they were being washed).

On the plus side, it's less than a minute walk to a very nice beach, and the area in general was very pleasant, with some good restaurant and coffee shops near by. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again, but I would look for one in this general location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Acacia one night before our cruise. The hotel is charming. At night the lobby area had candles lit, it was very cozy. The staff was extremely friendly. The bedding and bathroom was clean, but they should spend a little more time dusting, wipe the bathroom wall and light switches. They were dirty. The view of the ocean was nice, but there was a building right in front if us. You could see the ocean on either side of the building. I think this hotel is nice for a short stay, would prefer another place for a longer stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JDanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my sister in April 2013. It is a smaller hotel and a bit hard to find the entrance. The hotel has a nice Puerto Rican flavor and is beautiful inside. Good size room with a nice size bathroom. If you are looking for a beach stay, this is not the best location as the beach here is not that impressive. Better beach locations can be found near Isla Verde. There also is limited parking. We found that they had run out of parking and their sister hotel down the street also was out. This was a bit of a pain because we had to search for parking nearly every day and often parked at least 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jblake10129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have many highlights of the hotel: Comfortable room, friendly staff, great hot tub, next to the beach, clean beach towels, great tours they helped us on. A few things that could have improved our stay: The room was so small, there wasn't a closet or anything so we were having a tough time not tripping over our luggage. Also, there wasn't much space in the bathroom for toiletries and the hairdryer didn't work. The one gross thing we found was someone else's bandaid stuck to the bottom of the shower when we got there...other than that, the place was pretty clean. I read the reviews that people weren't at the front desk often. In the week that we were there, there were only 2 times someone wasn't there and that was when the hair dryer broke and when we were trying to check out. I'd say at least 90% of the time, they were present and very helpful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#17 of 48 in San Juan
187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#32 of 48 in San Juan
267 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Calle Taft | Condado, San Juan 00911-1210, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $129 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. If you're a food lover you NEED to come to our restaurant NICHE BRISTO that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner, enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. Sound nice, right? Come and visit us! We're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing