We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it.”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Recently stayed at the Acacia Seaside Inn and loved it. We had just come from a stay in old San Juan (Hotel Milano) and so didn't have very high expectations for a small hotel. we were very pleasantly surprised as soon as we walked in the lobby. We picked Acacia based on trip advisor reviews and we were not at all disappointed!

It is a charming small boutique hotel with a lot of nice touches. The lobby is small but very cute and welcoming. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a lot of character with spanish tile floors and many of the rooms have nice balconies with ocean views. The hotel has a great big hot tub (probably 30 feet) that faces the ocean that was wonderful to relax in after a hard day at the beach! The location is also great. Half a block to the beach and a short walk to some nice neighborhood shops and restaurants. It is also only a 10-15 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants of Condado on Ashford street. Would highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a small, charming, clean boutique hotel close the beach in a nice part of Condado.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    175
    74
    43
    46
See reviews for
60
368
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mass
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This was a great location. Right on the beach. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. Service at front desk is exceptional. The restaurant is very small and pricy but set aside a night for a meal. Exceptional.

Acacia is located on the edge of a middle class to lower middle class neighborhood once you leave the high rises that comprise the first few blocks to the beach. Some shops that are interesting, a few local places to eat, easy bus route to Old San Juan (A-5) half hour ride, even a Temple nearby.

We oaid $125 in early December for a room with a pool and partial ocean view.

Hint. You can rent a car at Target Car Rental about half a mile away. They'll pick you up. Front desk will handle it. We rented a car for the weekend to travel to Ponce, the rain forest and the observatory. Murder traffic during the week. This hotel is located in an area of little parking but on street is available a few blocks up Taft St on which the hotel is located. When you cross Loiza just park your car on that section of Taft and save $10 a night.

  • Liked — Building. Renovated beach house. Art deco design. Very much like being in Greece.
  • Disliked — Four floors with no lift.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ojdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We were in a double bed room with no balcony, but it did have a window.

All the staff were very nice and the room & facilities were all very clean.

My favorite part of the villa was the huge hot tub they had on the second floor.

The room was small (not unusual for the San Juan area) and there was no desk (bad for business traveler). However I was not on business I was having a vacation and found the room great. There also isn't an elevator, but I don't know why you would be traveling with luggage you can't carry.

The beach is one building away from the hotel and one block away from the wind chimes.

I was only once bugged about a tour( which I expected).

We were on the third floor and showered in the morning at the same time as everyone else and had no heat problems. The shower head was even adjustable so you could change the pressure to whatever you wanted.

We walked to the Marriott casino for an evening of fun, it was about a 10 minute walk. Also we ate at the best restaurant next to the Radisson called Zabo the food was just top notch!

I speak very little Spanish and found the two cafes near the hotel a hassle to eat at for this reason, therefore I really liked the boat bar.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

I would stay there again!

  • Liked — Clean, Cheap, Great location by the beach
  • Disliked — V shaped bed (rolled into the middle)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Stayed there with my wife the last weekend in November. We absolutely loved the place. It was a great, small inn with excellent touches. Very clean and great staff. We had a great time at the Boat Bar. Eddie, Jelson and Jay were incredible cooks and served outstanding drinks. Jelson makes a killer Sangria!

They concierge set us up with a rental car one day for 27 bucks! We were able to visit the rain forest as well as some other more private beaches for a fraction of the cost of one of the tours.

The location is a bit out of the way, so be sure to bring some walking shoes. We really didn't mind, and found this great little breakfast place called Pinky's around the corner.

All in all, I would suggest this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Food and staff
  • Disliked — No internet.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jworosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

After spending most of the day lost (after all, we were in Puerto Rico) my husband and I arrived at the Acacia Guest House and found Fillipe at the front desk. Just a note here about finding your way around the island - you can't. Don't rely on maps, don't rely on directions from locals, don't count on street names. You can, however, rely on Fillipe. He can not only give you accurate street directions, he can get you to the best meal you've ever had or help you find computer communication centers at all hours of the day and night. Fillipe was an instant friend. We would not venture back on the island without consulting him first.

The Acacia was much closer to the beach than we expected, from our balcony, room six, I had a view of the ocean - it is a short half block walk to the beach - beautiful.

Parking is a slight problem, you are in a neighborhood, a lovely neightborhood. This is nothing like the hotel strip in Isla Verde. You find yourself close to many restaurants and Starbucks is just around the corner. Window shopping was relaxing and a must, it made for a long enjoyable stroll. This area seems safe and I was very comfortable walking here - as were other tourists/locals after dark. Our room was very comfortable and pretty, I loved the bathroom tile - shower only. This place feels like an historic building and it might be although it also feels fresh and new at the same time. The new outdoor hot tub is gorgeous. This is just plain and simply 'a nice place to be'.

If ever again I am traveling on the main island of Puerto Rico - this will be my first stop.

  • Liked — The service, cleanliness, ambience, location, surrounding area
  • Disliked — I have no complaints
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BenjieAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We booked a room for the Wind Chimes down the street but they were full so they moved us over the Acacia. We were pleasantly surprised! Convenient Condado location in quiet neighborhood, only steps from the beach. Very helpful staff. Felix is top notch. Great hot tub _can just see the waves crashing on the beach from it. Our room was newly updated with bear skin rug on the wall and a plasma tv. Spent 5 days here and would come back to again. Nice amenities for the price.

  • Liked — hot tub
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rorr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

This place is fine if all you want to do is go to the beach (which is only a few steps away) and go to bed. First of all, there is a 3 night minimum, I only stayed 2 nights but had to pay for 3. There is only one restaurant in their sister hotel down the street Wind Chime Inn, and the food is mediocre at best. If you want something to drink after 11:00 pm, you will have to walk about 4 blocks down the street to the gas station because there is no soda machine or water fountain in either hotels, and the restaurant at the Wind Chimes closes at 11:00 pm. The staff is incompetent, all they are good at is calling a taxi for you. They can't even split a bill, which as a business traveler is essential. I've stayed at many hotels around the world and this is the first one that could not remove something from one bill and put it on a separate bill. It's a very nice hotel, but not for a business traveler, or anyone that likes convenience.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach.
  • Disliked — Staff.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Moplayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 48 in San Juan
762 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
797 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Property: Acacia Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Taft | Condado, San Juan 00911-1210, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. If you're a food lover you NEED to come to our restaurant NICHE BRISTO that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner, enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. Sound nice, right? Come and visit us! We're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing