We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely View - Poor Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Juan Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely View - Poor Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I visited this hotel because we had won a 2 night stay at a golf tournament. Before we arrived we read the reviews from Tripadvisor and were surprised of how poorly it was rated, but thought that the problems were because the hotel was being renovated. When we arrived the staff was very courteous and helpful. They gave us an executive room, recently "renovated" with a view to the Condado lagoon. When we arrived to our room we were speechless. The room that was recently "renovated" needed to urgently be renovated!!! The room had areas with mildew and all the wood furniture looked very old because of all the scratches.The bed was very badly made, with a bed-skirt that was way to big for it and a comforter that was way to thin and old. The outlets were not properly installed, the television set was not working properly, the bathroom was very small and dark...at the end what we want to say is that the room needed work! Its really a pity because the area is so beautiful, the staff is great and there are excellent restaurants in walking distance. I hope this review will help the management of the hotel understand that they should care more about the hotels appearance and maintenance before its too late.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diaz_Family_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    58
    83
    79
    207
See reviews for
69
132
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The most beautiful view in Condado. It's very cozy. The staff is suuuuuper nice. A n excellent place to stay in Puerto Rico. It is appropriate for families or older couples looking for a relaxed athmosfere. Within walking. Distance of many restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augustperidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We checked in around 3PM so the room was said to be ready. We dropped off our luggage and immediately went out to get a bite since there are tons of places to eat nearby. Upon our return we began to look the room over, the restroom was disgusting! There were hairs ALL over the sink and floor. When I was about to call down I noticed the sheets had the appearance of not being changed due to the hair on the pillows and sheets. I should have stopped there but I kept inspecting and found the top of the curtains had a thick black inch high stack of dust. I canceled the remaining portion of my week long stay. The hotel gave me another room but it wasn't much better. Spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tank2AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The (very slow) reception made a point of telling me when I checked in that the room I reserved was the best room: "executive"! The "executive ocean view" was all of $2 more than the regular rooms, and the room was far from posh (bits of wall lying on the floor, outlets hanging out of the wall) I would have said the room (shabby as it was) was ok, really, except that the tv didn't work. After a couple days and many visits & phone calls to the reception, I ended up with 3 fuzzy channels (weddings, oprah, and a local PR channel); the crappy response from the reception and poor customer service is inexcusable and the reason for this poor review. The location in Condado, which is very safe day & night, is great, though, and you can wander up to the Conrad to get services (shuttles, taxis, info, food) you won't get here. And the ocean view is terrific. If you can get a room here for a significant discount to all the other Condado hotels, then go for it. Avoid weekends if you don't like very loud techno music in your room all night. I did get a lot of amusement over wondering what the other rooms are like if mine was the best!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chinchiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is under extensive renovations and as a result may not be perfect. However the staff worked very hard to accommodate us. No hotel can satisfy everyone all the time but at least they try. The service and the restaurant was very good. Unfortunately my wife came down with a cold and the restaurant staff prepared her a wonderful chicken soup even though it was not on the menu. If you are looking for nice rooms, great service on the ocean then this is the place to stay. We were never hindered by the construction crew or renovation activity. We made three trips to San Juan during our vacation to P.R.and stayed at the San Juan Beach Hotel each time. Thank you Gabriel Santiago for your personal attention.

Thom & Sally Morin

Room Tip: Request newly renovated ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomMorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Rude staff... Outdated furnishings nice lobby but it smells like raw crab....I could understand if they had a decent dinning facility but the elevator smells as bad as the lobby..... Great placement as far as location.... But damn.... Take some pride in your work...... Please......nula bueno!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kcmary2538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It was a last minute booking , just for one night , if I had more time would find out before we arrived that this place is falling apart ... 2 more people around the lobby cancelling their reservation because of the hotel condition ... but location is great and the restaurant inside (not related to the hotel) is great either . Need a complete remodeling .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#39 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#34 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Beach Hotel

Property: San Juan Beach Hotel
Address: 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story Beachfront Hotel located in The Condado Area and all rooms have a view of the majestic Atlantic Ocean or the romantic Condado Lagoon. The hotel has an intimate setting with friendly staff ready to serve our guests. Here, each guest is an additional member of the family. We are located only minutes from the island’s "Golden Mile" in Hato Rey; the Caribbean’s largest shopping mall, Plaza Las Americas; and the Historic District of Old San Juan. In our area, you can walk to the finest restaurants, casinos, and high end boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your San Juan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing