We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Caribe - comfortable and great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked a room at Casa Caribe last minute for three nights and were very happy with the experience. The rooms are quaint, clean, humble and originally decorated, which gives a great feeling that you are staying in a typical home (vs. hotel), but not crowded and hostel-like. Room 11 was particularly spacious, like a mini apartment complete with kitchen sink, table, couch, refrigerator, eating utensils, etc. Ed and his adorable and docile little dog Belle were very accommodating and helpful. As soon as we arrived, we bombarded him with questions to make last-minute tour and restaurant plans and he hooked us up quickly with great recommendations. The open air common areas are fun and relaxing. Coffee, pastries, cereal and OJ in open air in the morning were great. Overall Casa Caribe was very friendly, comfortable, and gives a great local feel, all for a screaming deal. Congrats to Ed on his B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 238 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Are you traveling on a budget, but you still want to enjoy the beach, and the city without overpaying. This hotel is the best choice for you. The hotel is two blocks away from the beach, which is great, the rooms are clean, and well maintained. is in the middle point between Old San Juan, and the airport which will give you a perfect location to enjoy the city and catch your fly. The management team is very cordials and helpful. Next time I travel back there I will definitely be staying there again. and I recommend you to do the same and expend the extra dollars in food, and tours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

You are in the middle of El Condado and inside the B&B is quiet and clean. Rooms clean and a fair price. Take a taxi to Old San Juan enjoy the night out and return to a clean, cool and quiet room. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank mikeW417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. The outdoor lounging area is nice with a lot of plants and trees. Ed at front desk went above and beyond to help us find everything from places to eat to the best parts of the beach to visit. All the staff was very friendly here. Everything was within walking distance which was nice including the beach only one block away. Would stay here again if I return to Puerto Rico in future. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Cute, cozy bed & breakfast. Staff are pleasant, manager is kind and helpful and they are pet friendly. Location is perfect, near restaurants, walgreens and walking distance to the beach. Thanks and come visit us soon at La Salita Cafe: www.lasalitacafe.com

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess-Stephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This B&B is brilliant! Excellent hotel to stay prior to Caribbean cruise. Not only does it have a locked entrance gate but it is so welcoming with the garden area, tables and chairs, all my family [6 adults and 2 children] loved the ambience whether sitting out enjoying a good choice of continental breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening [our own] listening to the cocqui frog with the grandchildren trying to find which tree they were hiding in, such a great atmosphere.The grandchildren never did find one unfortunately although my son and daughter in law said they saw a very little green frog through their shower window on the tree outside.
We had 3 rooms and all were large with huge comfy beds, aircon and a large overhead fan, which I loved, no problems with shower or hot water. I loved the bedroom furniture and decor in the rooms, to me that added character and interest instead of the ultra modern flat pack furniture in some B&B hotels.
Casa Caribe location in Condado is within short walking distance of beach, shops and restaurants. Taxi drive to old San Juan doesnt take long, didnt bother with bus as apparently it arrives "maybe in an hour if at all". We were lucky to get taxi that catered for all 8 of us, recommend barter a price before getting into taxi to your destination. Not far in taxi to Pan american cruise terminal.
All Casa Caribe staff were friendly and helpful especially Ed [manager] who waited up for us at hotel when we arrived from airport on late flight, which was good for us as we did not have to go to sister hotel. Ed managed to contact the taxi company and get my granddaughters little suitcase returned immediately as she had left it in taxi, unfortunately we didnt have Ed to help on return journey home from Caribbean cruise as she did the same thing but drivers were not so honest!
Ed, even at short notice arranged for us to have a full day out with E&B tours the next day, the guide was named Hector and he was such a nice person, it was a pleasure to be with him. We went to the rain forest El Yungue, a beach in the afternoon and the Bio bay in the evening. Must admit I expected more from bio bay but the kayak was an experience! My son [who has special needs] and granddaughter were frightened in their kayaks and asked to go back to land, be aware that you still have to pay for the trip and as Sienna was with her dad/my son in law he had to miss the experience as he was rowing their kayak.
We stayed at Casa Caribe from 5-8th March 2014 and would definately recommend this B&B hotel and would stay again if we ever go to PR. Yes there are big named hotels nearby but why have an impersonal hotel when you can have a cosy B&B like Casa Caribe, I have kept up to date on tripadvisor reviews since I booked this hotel last year and personally I dont know why people have to complain about little things like continental breakfast etc, help yourself! get on with it!! enjoy yourself! I emailed Ed and reception staff several times over the months and always got reply immediately. Well done Ed and staff!!

Room Tip: We were in room 4, my son in room next door to us and my daughter/family in room 3. We were all on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Clean place but could def use some updating. Had basic breakfast with coffee, oj, assorted pastries, cereal, white bread (hope u like carbs!). Price was definitely good considering location- right in condado, a block from nice beach, across from marriot (which we used for the pool, chairs, etc.). Safe neighborhood. I'd return to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
970 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Caribe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Caribe Inn

Address: 57 Caribe Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $103 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Del Caribe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Caribe is an affordable Caribbean inn found on a shady side street just off Ashford Avenue, the main strip of the Condado area. Just beyond the garden wall & pond you'll discover the wraparound veranda and front porch where guests socialize in this cozy tropical inn. Every morning, fresh brewed complimentary coffee and a continental breakfast is available. The biggest casino in the area is in just 1/2 block away as are all the bistros, sidewalk cafes, and boutique shops and the famous Condado Beach at your doorstep! On a lively street, this modest B&B is 4 minute walk from the beach, 4.3 km from Isla Grande Airport and 6 km from the San Juan National Historic Site. There are 8 rustic rooms with wooden floors and warm decor. All come with free Wi-Fi and cable TV, plus ceiling fans. Some also have kitchenettes. Amenities include continental breakfast and a walled garden with trees, fountains and sunloungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Del Caribe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Caribe Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing