We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Ranked #19 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Perfect place for friends”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights. We stayed in room 6. It was worth the cost and our room was more than what we expected. The bathroom was a good size( but had no electical outlet).Ed the manager was extremely helpful and was always willing to answer questions. Of course I didn't give an excellent since we found a dead cockroach in our shower the 3rd night. But the cleaning service was perfect, I actually walked in on them moping the floors. Also when we did find the cockroach in our shower we kindly asked them to take care of it and they did immediately. The breakfast was very continental and if you're looking for a giant breakfast, you won't find that here. As for safety, this place was perfect and any outside noise couldn't be heard by us. Our favorite part of the stay would most definitely be Belle the mutt. She will join you for breakfast and rest in the shade on the couches with you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jtooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    78
    32
    27
    31
See reviews for
19
86
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We arrived during the night with our little daughter and they guided us from their sister hotel to the B&B. Our room was big, had AC. We stayed there 4 nights and can really recommend the place. We had a great time, Ed helped us with everything we needed. We would come back any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharinarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place actually exceeded my expectations, which is always a nice bonus.
It's got a lot going for it, the location is fantastic, just around the corner is Ashford street with a lot of good restaurants, bars, and casinos within walking distance. There are also a few beaches that you could walk to as well. It's about a 10 minute drive to get to Old San Juan from the hotel.
Check in was weird because they close their office in the evening, so we checked in at a different hotel about a block away.
They told us several options for parking our rental since there isn't any onsite parking. We parked in a secured lot about a block away for $10 per day. This is a very safe feeling neighborhood.
We stayed in room 13 and it was pretty clean with room to move around. The room was in the back building and was very quiet with almost no road noise. Breakfast wasn't much, some pastries with juice and milk.
I would stay here again if I were visiting San Juan again because of its location and it was a great value compared to the other large hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Room 13 in the back building was very quiet with some space to move around. It is only accessible by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyJxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for a night pre-cruise. This is a small, no frills B & B. No complaints on cleanliness, but the rooms were not as nice as one would have hoped. It took us a while to figure out the lighting system as the system of switches is quite awkward. There was no staff on duty past 5PM, so no one to ask if one had questions. You had to leave the property and go to another one owned by the same people that is around the corner if you needed anything. It was noisy at night and sounded like someone was having a fight in the courtyard behind our room. It made us feel uneasy, as we did not feel that our room door was substantial. There were panhandlers on the main street where the restaurants were located. This made us a bit uncomfortable, as we were not sure about personal safety in this area. We are used to staying in an area of Old San Juan that has a Police presence where families walk along the Old Wall in the evening. Would not stay in this property again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights, and consider it to be of great value for San Juan. It was very clean, and the staff were very courteous and helpful. The location is great, just steps from Ashford Ave with lots of restaurants and activity. It is for people who want to stay in a small local place instead of an impersonal large hotel. It is also very close to the beach, with beach towels supplied. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here at the end of our week long trip traveling the island, and were overall very pleased with our stay. It's a very affordable B&B located in the middle of Condado right by the Marriott and is about a third of the price of the Marriott. It is a very simple B&B, but it worked for us. You're able to walk to tons of restaurants, coffee shops, and bars. There are also multiple casinos within walking distance, and most importantly Ocean Park Beach is a minutes walk away. If you're looking for luxury this is not a spot for you, but it is an affordable, safe option in Condado. We would stay again when in the San Juan area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's well located, in the middle of Condado, with a lot of restaurants and coffee shops around. If you want to start your day with a nice walk, you will discover that Ocean Park Beach is at a stone's throw.
It has a courtyard where you can have your coffee, watching the tropical rain around and waiting for the sun to come. Rooms are spacious and cosy.
All the staff was friendly and helpful. They kept me some luggage while visiting the island. The manager, Ed, even help a friend of mine, who was not staying there, to find her lost cell phone. He knows every place around and you will get good suggestions to hang out. At last but not least, Belle, a wise dog, will share your coffee time if you are lucky. So, what else can I say? A place to come back and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inuit_Leilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 48 in San Juan
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 48 in San Juan
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Caribe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Caribe Inn

Property: Casa Del Caribe Inn
Address: 57 Caribe Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Del Caribe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Caribe is an affordable Caribbean inn found on a shady side street just off Ashford Avenue, the main strip of the Condado area. Just beyond the garden wall & pond you'll discover the wraparound veranda and front porch where guests socialize in this cozy tropical inn. Every morning, fresh brewed complimentary coffee and a continental breakfast is available. The biggest casino in the area is in just 1/2 block away as are all the bistros, sidewalk cafes, and boutique shops and the famous Condado Beach at your doorstep! On a lively street, this modest B&B is 4 minute walk from the beach, 4.3 km from Isla Grande Airport and 6 km from the San Juan National Historic Site. There are 8 rustic rooms with wooden floors and warm decor. All come with free Wi-Fi and cable TV, plus ceiling fans. Some also have kitchenettes. Amenities include continental breakfast and a walled garden with trees, fountains and sunloungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Del Caribe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Caribe Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing