We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing for the price and a lot of charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Ranked #19 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Amazing for the price and a lot of charm!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is located a couple blocks from the beach, shops, resturants etc. We stayed in room 13 . It was quaint with fridge and stove, it had three beds ,and a decent sized bathroom. Ed the manager was a huge help on attraction suggestions. The festival in Old San Juan was a blast and want to plan to come back to stay for that!!!! The place has a nice quiet ambiance by day and fun intimate setting for those nights to stay in and socialize with some of the other guests. All in all I would definitely be coming back and staying at the CASA DEL CARIBE!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    78
    32
    27
    31
See reviews for
19
86
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I recently made our first trip to Puerto Rico and had an absolutely wonderful time! We do plan on returning in the near future.

We visited Old San Juan for a few days to partake in a little of the nightlife, enjoy the great variety of restaurants, shopping of course and see many of the tourist sites within this area!

We did not rent a car while in Old San Juan because our delightful B & B, The Casa Caribe, was just a short and inexpensive bus trip away from the action. Traffic and parking within this area looks like it can be a real adventure and not one you are looking for.

Cab service was reasonably priced and readily available. Our trip from the airport to the Casa Caribe was $19.00

With great advice from the Casa Caribe manager, Ed, we did all the things we had planned and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

The Casa Caribe might not be the most fancy B & B but it fit the bill perfectly for our short stay. Kudos to the warm hospitality of the staff there.

We headed to a more exclusive location, The El Conquistador Hotel in Fajardo which is about an hour away. We did rent a car with Enterprise because this resort is somewhat isolated in this beautiful part of the island.

Our goal was to relax!... Meaning to enjoy the warm sunshine, swim in crystal clear water, lay on the beaches at Palomino Island and hike the El Yunque rain forest.

We did much more and were glad we did! (Bio Bay, Zip Lining and exploring !)

Each day we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality at El Conquistador but also went off grounds to visit small local restaurants, walk thru a small town, shop and enjoy conversation with many of the locals. One particularly wonderful dinner was provided by a restaurant called Metropole about 15 minutes from El Conquistador. The waiter, JAY, offered to select our menu which would feature local seafood dishes and specialties. We followed his advice and enjoyed it immensely.

What a great vacation! Puerto Rico does it better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Casa del Caribe with our families over the Christmas holiday. Ed, the owner, was very helpful in answer questions about the area and recommending restaurants. The B&B is a block from the beach and right near the main strip of Condado shops and restaurants. Since there were 8 of us, we reserved the entire second floor. It was perfect for us - separate rooms for our parents, and a huge shared room for the "kids." Breakfast was light - cereal, pastries, and really delicious coffee. We were all very happy with our stay and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a very convenient and especially affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cks_flutterbyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Room with no daylight, old carpet, bugs and cockroaches. Breakfast is a joke, donuts and really bad coffee.... There are several much nicer boutique hotels few blocks away for a much better rate (hotel casa condado)....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bart0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place was what made my trip really perfect. It has everything you need and nothing you don't. Very centrally located close to everything. It's a great value and the staff are extremely helpful. Staff member Oscar was so incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a Christmas vacation and we were more than impressed with this place. Centrally located with plenty of restaurants and shops around and two blocks from the beautiful beach. It has a small and cozy feel and Ed, at the front desk, is more than wonderful. He was helpful the whole time we were staying there. My boyfriend and I cannot wait to visit PR again and we will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Invictusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this motel. My boyfriend and I arrived at this beautiful place in the early afternoon and were warmly Greeted by Ed Vandenberg, he told us about breakfast, parking situation, ingress and egress, about how to get to the close by beach, and of the many restaurants all within close walking distance. Starbucks is just across the street as a delightful Turkish restaurant.
Later that night after discovering Fuzion, Kitchen and Bar by accident only a few blocks away we lucked out as tuesday is "half of everything" night.
We easily got back thru the keyed gate past the little pond, around the potted plants and flowers, just at the same time this lovely night bird was signing, only to later find out that this is actually a little frog the Coqui, that sings just like a medium sized bird! and you hear it at night all over the island.
The ocean just 1 1/2 blocks away is the huge sandy Condado beach, surfers, great restaurants, easy street parking, actually we found the beach and motel even more beautiful and spectacular than the photos. As one reviewer said "this is more guest house" than motel.
All the staff was friendly and helpful, and Belle, Ed's cute lil dog always friendly and wanting to be pat.
Our room was clean and comfy. TV, fan and AC. We had an upper room in the back section very nice and quite,free WIFI in the comfortable patio/reception area.

The only drawback that could be said is the parking situation, none at Casa del Carib, and $18/nite at the nearby Marriott Hotel.We solved the problem of expense by simply parking on the street in the neighborhood, at most we had to park 4 blocks away usually much closer. It is free , safe, and unlimited, no meter maids cruising to give you a ticket or parking permits required nor any time limitations.It really was not a problem all and we always found a spot during all times of the day.
We would highly recommend this convient, beautiful and romantic place to stay in Candado the gay section, and will return for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#12 of 47 in San Juan
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Caribe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Caribe Inn

Property: Casa Del Caribe Inn
Address: 57 Caribe Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Del Caribe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Caribe is an affordable Caribbean inn found on a shady side street just off Ashford Avenue, the main strip of the Condado area. Just beyond the garden wall & pond you'll discover the wraparound veranda and front porch where guests socialize in this cozy tropical inn. Every morning, fresh brewed complimentary coffee and a continental breakfast is available. The biggest casino in the area is in just 1/2 block away as are all the bistros, sidewalk cafes, and boutique shops and the famous Condado Beach at your doorstep! On a lively street, this modest B&B is 4 minute walk from the beach, 4.3 km from Isla Grande Airport and 6 km from the San Juan National Historic Site. There are 8 rustic rooms with wooden floors and warm decor. All come with free Wi-Fi and cable TV, plus ceiling fans. Some also have kitchenettes. Amenities include continental breakfast and a walled garden with trees, fountains and sunloungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Del Caribe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Caribe Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing