We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great- from a frequent traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great- from a frequent traveler”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Modern decor. Flatscreen and cable. Nice fitness room (smelled a little rubbery new). Lived the balconies in the second floor that open to the pool area. Groceries across the street. Great front desk staff. Romantic. Near old San Juan (but no place to park in old San Juan so get a cab). Neutrogena products. Paid $179 a night total. Parking is $15 self and $20 valet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_from_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,568
    823
    217
    67
    28
See reviews for
561
1,072
175
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The facilities were wonderful and the people were wonderful, however, the charges for eight nights have changed many times during our stay and they continue to change a full week after check out. Our stay was divided between two credit cards and the charges have bounced back and forth between our two accounts (sometimes all on one and sometimes split not at all the way it should have been). This has caused money to be transferred numerous times between our two accounts and the bank has levied nsf charges to my fiance's account. If you choose to stay at this hotel, it would advised to book on the internet through a third party and settle all payments prior to your stay with that third party.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidecut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
Hola sidecut,
It was a pleasure speaking with you yesterday. I am glad to hear that you found the attention of our staff to be fabulous and the accommodations terrific.
Again, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had with dividing your bill between to debit cards, I only wish we would have learned of this earlier so we could have rectified our mistake. However, I am happy that your bank was able to help you and that they voided the charges associated with this.
Please do not hesitate to contact me again at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for my birthday in November. We stayed for 4 nights and we enjoyed our time in San Juan very much. We wanted to eat the local food, so at the recommendation of one of the front desk staff, we had dinner a couple of nights at Bebos Cafe, which is a few blocks walk from the hotel. Very good food there and you can see that it's a favorite with the locals as well as tourists. We sat out at the hotel pool the first day and that was pretty nice but it's very small. We found out at the front desk that anyone staying at the Doubletree is given privileges to use the facilities at their sister hotel "La Concha" which was absolutely fabulous! We spent a few days there laying out by the pool and we even hung out there at night on the very cool "beds" and lounge areas they had around the pool area. We also ran into Darryl Strawberry and Bernie Williams in the hotel lobby one afternoon and took a picture with them. It's a very upscale hotel and the lobby looks like something out of Nip/Tuck... very "South Beach." We rented a car for about $30 and drove to the rainforest. Unfortunately it was cloudy that day and it rained (yeah i know, it's a rainforest so what did I expect? lol) but we weren't able to walk the trails because we weren't dressed appropriately but it was fun anyway. The best part was stopping at the stands on the way there and buying the very fattening fried empanadas and stuff. The only thing I didn't particularly like about the room at the hotel was the glass bathroom door. Like someone said previously, it's kind of unnecessary to be able to see what's going on in the bathroom. Although it's not clear, you can still see outlines. Not too cool. Also, the shower appears to be half done; it looks like it needs to be completed. Another glass door, this one is totally clear, and one side is totally open and you have to be really conscious of not splashing water out onto the bathroom floor. Again, not too cool. But the room all in all was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. We had a very enjoyable getaway in Puerto Rico and will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed at the doubletree over the summer with my husband and we enjoyed our stay. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The hotel is located within a short walk of the beach, grocery and restaurants. The room itself was also very nice. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gblai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night. The hotel was very nice and the service was great. We had only one complaint. Both of us were covered by mosquito bites the next day morning (our room was on a high floor). Not sure if this is an issue with the weather in San Juan during Dec or the hotel but both of us had a bad time sleeping. Having said that, and assuming that this was just a freakish one-off bad experience, the rooms were very nice and the hotel overall was great. They also helped us book a table at a nice restaurant in San Juan as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Hola Cr0n,
I am happy to read that you found the hotel to be overall great. I see you were able to spend some time on the island of Vieques and Luquillo. For your next visit I hope you will be able to spend more than one night with us and take advantage of our Beach Club, which gives you access to our beach front sister properties. Following up on your comments, I want to let you know that we do provide complimentary mosquito repellent at our Front Desk if going to the tropical Rain Forest.
Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We spent two nights at the San Juan, PR DoubleTree in December preceding a cruise. I've stayed at DoubleTree locations around the US and have always been satisfied with everything. This location was no different. (love those warm cookies on arrival)

There is a supermarket directly across the street which was very convenient for picking up wine & snacks for the cruise.

The staff was friendly and helpful and upon our asking recommended a GREAT restaurant for paella. It was superb!

The only downside (which DID NOT bother us) is that it is a $15 cab ride to Old San Juan.

We would stay there again & recommend that others do as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, MI
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews earlier in the year, I booked a 2 night stay. I would highly recommend this and plan on staying here when I visit San Juan again.

The service was outstanding. Antonio went out of his way to accomodate us. When two of my excursions were in jeopardy of being canceled, he told me that he could book similar tours. He even gave me his business card with cell phone. This was a very thoughtful gesture.

The rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean. The only drawback was that the shower doors leaked out water. Faulty design that should be addressed.

Business center had high speed internet that worked well and I never had to wait. Workout room was excellent with treadmills, elliptical trainers and weights. TV's were on each machine. Pool was spacious but a little chilly (low 70's). I also enjoyed using their Jacuzzi.

There is a 24 hours Grocery Store across the street which came in handy.

Overall a great stay and I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,644 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing