We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very walkable neighborhood, ocean park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very walkable neighborhood, ocean park”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

get local flavor at the doubletree hilton....welcoming staff, helpful, pick up local street maps in lobby. a nice change of pace to the large resorts and just a short walk to restuarants on de diego or ashford ave, beautiful public beach 4 blocks bring your towel/beverage, local shopping nearby.
fab massage on site by appt at fitness center, hot tub, small pool, plenty of towels and outdoor seating/tables, computer access in room or business center, small but comfy room with fridge(grocery across street sells everything), microwave, coffeemaker, hairdryer, safe, tv.
just 75 cents exact change only to take A5 bus on de diego outside hotel to old san juan bus terminal 1 block from cruise piers and town....about 20-30 minutes. while ideally located for those who like to walk, rental cars and taxis will also get you to casino's, dinner, or the rainforest. i did take advantage of the hotel and adjacent restuarants and they were ok, my favorite "local cuisine restuarants" include "yerba buena" on ashford, and in viejo san juan: "el picoteo" in el convento hotel, or "raices" a short walk from the old san juan bus terminal (after 10pm i take a cab back).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,568
    823
    217
    67
    28
See reviews for
561
1,072
175
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

What an enjoyable stay at the Hilton my wife and I had. It was a very nice hotel, quiet and filled with a sweet and knowledgeable staff. Big thanks to Peter for being so great.

The main rooms are a little small, luckily we were upgraded to a larger room. It was very comfortable, especially the bed which was perfect. The washroom was quite large, equipped with a shower big enough for two. The only thing was, we had no place to hang up our towels. It was lacking some extra hooks and/or towel hangers. The windows also do NOT open. It didn't allow us to enjoy some outside air at night, but the hotel has air purifiers on hand to help clean the air on the floor, if you so wish. Lastly, the pull down drapes in the room do not fully cover the windows. Waking up was earlier than expected for us as sunlight easily creeps between the openings.

The hotel is conveniently located next to a supermarket and also close to Ashford Ave Dr. This is a great walk in the evening, taking you to nice restaurants and stores. (The stores are open until 6). It is also close to Ocean Park Beach, (ok but not great, no beach in San Juan is). The transit is right in front and will easily take you to Isla Verde, or, of course, Old San Juan (the MUST of any trip to Puerto Rico). A trip via Taxi to either destination here would be at the $15 mark.

Enjoy this hotel for the service, bed/bath and proximity to everything.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bombakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Very helpful and friendly staff, very comfortable and nicely decorated room with fridge and microwave, and very nice bathroom. Excellent bed and bedding. All was sparklingly clean as well. Good rate through priceline.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank rhroutjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubltreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Thank you for giving us an outstanding review!! In an effort to take advantage of our convenient location and offer our guest a unique beach experience, we are now offering our guest a complete beach kit at our front desk. The beach kit includes lay on loungers, cooler and beach towel. Since Ocean Park Beach is only three blocks away from the hotel we thought that this would be a great amenity for your guests. Should you have any questions or if I should be of service in any way please do not hesitate to contact me jose.cepero@hilton.com.

Always at you service,

Jose Cepero
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree the night before our cruise in early January. Given that hotel prices are extremely high in San Juan, this is a great choice if you are just going to be there for one or two nights.

The room was very clean and had nice decor. One bit of advice: do not put your make-up bag on the wooden shelves in the bathroom. When we left the room, the force of the door closing must have caused my bag to fall to the foor. Everything was cracked and all over the floor when we returned. Lesson learned!

There was a highschool/college swim event in the area while we were there so the pool was constantly filled with loud teenagers. We were only there one night so it wasn't really a huge deal for us. The pool looked very nice. Our room was on the lower level and opened out to the pool area. We never noticed any noise during the night.

We ate dinner outside of the hotel and stopped by the bar on the way back to our room. The bartender did a great job at showing us local rums and made us a really great mojito!

The next morning we ate breakfast at the hotel. We had a discounted rate so it did not include breakfast. The food was good but the service was really slow. I had a vegetable omlet with stilton chesse and I believe it was about $15. It was Saturday and there appeared to be many locals eating there as well.

There is a grocery store across the street which is very convenient. We bought soft drinks and water to use in the hotel room as well as to take on the ship the next day. If you were staying for an extended period, they have a large selection of liquor and beer as well.

On our last trip to San Juan, we stayed at La Concha which is much more expensive since it is a resort property. While I loved the resort atmosphere of La Concha, for only a one night stay pre-cruise, I would save some money and stay at the Doubletree again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LRS0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My husband and I arrived late in the evening to discover no food options at the hotel. We were referred to a local restaurant around the corner which turned out to be pretty good. We ended up there the next morning when we found out our "senior rate" did not include breakfast (in other words if you pick the senor rate you don't get breakfast so the price is basically the same as the regular rate with breakfast). For us the location made sightseeing awkward and used feet, taxi and bus to get around. We stayed for two days pre-cruise and for us would not stay again due to the location. in a nutshell good hotel but the location brings it down. We did not experience the good service others rave about however they did hold our luggage for us on the last day for three hours.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for giving us a five star rating for cleanliness. While reading your review I noticed that we could do a better job at ensuring that all of our guests are well aware of what we have to offer. With 4 restaurants to choose from right at the hotel, [Michael’s Bistro (International bistro cuisine), Under The Trees (fresh salads, fruits, and pasta), Silk (Asian cuisine offering sushi and teppanyaki,) and ‘Alquimia (wine and tapas with live entertainment and music)], with in walking distance to the popular Condado area with a variety of casino’s, restaurants and bars, 24hr supermarket across the street, 3 blocks walking from Ocean Park Beach, PR Art Museum and a bus stop right in front of the hotel that is a straight shot to Old San Juan, you should have not had this experience. I can assure you that I will follow up with our staff and ensure that our guest not only receive our signature chocolate chip cookie but also receive the hotel’s welcome letter upon check in. If I should be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com. Once again I want to thank you for your comments and hope to be able to welcome you back to our island.

Always at you service,

Yodil M. Caban
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

When my wife and I planned our honeymoon, we were a bit apprehensive about staying at the Doubletree because it looked a little bit farther from the beach than the other hotels in San Juan. Upon arriving, however, we could not have been more pleased with our decision to stay at the hotel.

The entire staff was incredibly helpful, from holding our bags for a few extra hours while we went into Old San Juan on our last day, to arranging our trip to the rainforest; they were excellent.

As far as the beach, it was only a couple of blocks away, and actually a very nice walk after dinner. Speaking of which, the two restaurants at the hotel were all great, offering a quiet sit-down place, as well as a casual place that offered delicious breakfast and lunch items.

The area around the pool was excellent as well, providing a little oasis at night for grabbing drinks or going for a late night swim. The gym was also in great condition and it offered a good deal of equipment, which was an added bonus since I'm a personal trainer.

When we go back to Puerto Rico we will most assuredly return to the San Juan Doubletree.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ckm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This particular hotel is now one of our favorites. The front desk staff in particular became more like friends. They gave us great tips on restaurants and using the bus the go to Old San Juan. We would not stay anywhere else in San Juan. The rooms are small but beautifully designed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LesP_Lexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,756 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,644 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing