We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome from start to finish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome from start to finish!”
Reviewed December 10, 2009

As soon as we arrived at the hotel the staff was extremely accommodating. Not only we had an extremely accommodating staff we had an extremely accommodating General Manager! We don't always have the opportunity to have a General Manager welcome us to the hotel but it was quite a pleasure. In fact from day one we felt that we had a VIP treatments. As soon as we got to our room we notice how clean and neat they are. The are very boutique looking and modern. Location is very convenient to shops and beach since the beach is walking distance. Overall our experience has been the best out of any hotels that we have stayed in Puerto Rico and we travel quite a lot to San Juan. Again thanks to the hotel staff for making our experience the best experience in San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Californian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,589
    837
    220
    68
    29
See reviews for
575
1,082
176
526
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

What a surprise! This hotel is located in the CENTER of convenience; the beach, shopping, nightlife (gay & straight), super market across the street, bus line, freeway, airport and city culture (old and new San Juan). Our room was a garden suite. Being able to open the door, sit, and enjoy the quite pool was a plus. The entire staff - valet/front desk/pool/guest services made this HOTEL a 5 STAR. The Business Manner's of the staff is a "10"- Jose, Roberto, Gilberto, Margarita, Peter, Esther and Onyx. I cannot remember visiting a RESORT and remembering any of the STAFF'S names? Doubletree Hotel - this is a DIAMOND hotel and you should be proud of the service - great job everyone. TOM DALLAS TEXAS

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eastdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Wow. This worked out so well for our 5-night trip to P.R.

It has clean modern rooms and nice newly-renovated bathrooms. I have never seen so many different types of lighting (all controlled by separate switches around the room that you have to find). The Murphy bed was much more comfortable than I thought it would be. My wife liked the bathroom so much she wanted to take it home with her. :)

The location isn't bad at all! It's 3-4 blocks to the Ocean Park balneario (public beach) and I'd say 6-7 blocks to the strip of Condado hotels/restaurants. You can catch the A-5 bus for 75 cents, right next to the hotel, follow it to the last stop and you'll be right in Old San Juan. Don't waste your money on a taxi for that. The 24-hour supermarket across the street is a fully-fledged grocery store... they have just about everything. Recommended restaurants nearby: Bebo's Cafe, La Patisserie (for their weekday breakfast specials).

As previous reviewers have stated, head to Luquillo for a nice beach that's not far out of San Juan. Beaches to the west of town (e.g. Dorado) were nice too, but a little too silty (muddy) for my liking.

My only gripes: Expensive parking, expensive but so-so hotel breakfast... BE AWARE of all service charges/taxes that will be added to your bill. Hilton discloses these (~25%) when you book, but some of the other sites may not, and you should take this into consideration. If you book somewhere else, they might hit you up for more $$ when you check out.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midatlantictraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This hotel was fanastic! We were greeted warmly by the front desk, received our room promptly, and a warm cookie! The hotel rooms were fantastic, very clean and mdern. It's such a beautiful hotel for the price! I am not suprised that is now ranked number one on tripadvisor. There is a supermarket next door that has everything you need. There is a fantastic authentic puerto rican restaurant right down the street, even though the name escapes me... just ask the front desk and they will tell you. It's just a short walk to the beaches on the main strip and all the chain restaurants your heart desires. On the strip, you can hop on the bus to Old San Juan! We rented a car and drove the rainforest, which is a must do! The beaches in San Juan are average... I suggest Luquillo... gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Jose Cepero, the hotel's manager, is the best there is in the industry! He and the staff made sure we were always happy and had everything we needed. Here's some info you may find useful in planning your trip:

The GOODS:
- hotel service (as everyone raves about in most other reviews!)
- very clean, modern yet comfortable bed and room
- 24 hr. supermarket is right across the street (has everything you might need including an endless supply of the traditional and local hard liquors!)
- swimming pool and hot tub areas were very clean
- public bus access is right outside of the hotel. (Be prepared: EACH person MUST have HIS/HER OWN EXACT bus fare - we didn't know this and my husband and I added our fares together. We held the bus up and were thankful that a small child had some extra change for us!) Bus ride is approx. 20 mins. to Old San Juan. It's a great way to see the everyday streets and meet the locals!
- variety of restaurants on-site. We found them very-reasonably priced and very good!
- a short 5 min. walk to Bebo's Cafe - where the locals eat! Try some authentic Puerto Rican dishes for great prices! (approx. $5-8/dish). AWESOME food!!! Be ready to speak your best spanish as many of the waitresses/waiters don't speak english :) Totally worth it!!!
- 10-15 min. walk to Ocean Park beach. Beautiful, wide open beach, light sands... it was just so relaxing wading and floating around to the rhythym of the ocean waves. Bring bottled water with us and if you forget, don't fret - local men wearing bags that keep drinks (local beer!!) icy cold sell their beer for $3 each. Nothing beat the sun sizzling our skin and the icy, cold beer running through our bodies! Also, other local people walk along the vast Ocean Park beach selling hot, fried local foods for cheap and also their yummy, refreshing ice cream!!
- we were lucky enough to have a room on the bottom floor, with a sliding door that led out to our own patio which then led to the hot tub/ swimming pool area! It was an absolute treat!!! It was so clean, beautiful, relaxing and how can we complain about our access to the pool!!! Our last night there, while my husband and I enjoyed our wine, compliments of the hotel as our anniversary gift, we spent our time hot tubbing and meeting people from all over the world! It was our own little party just 30 steps away from our hotel room's patio! It was great!

The NOT-SO-GOODS:
- taxi ride was approx. $15-$18 to OSJ (Old San Juan) so my husband and I had to plan our trips to OSJ carefully. For example, we thought twice about having dinner in OSJ because going there and back in the evening would cost us $30 for a taxi ride. BUT if we spent our day in OSJ and took the bux there, then we'd only spend $15 for the night taxi ride back to the hotel as we preferred not to take the bus at night.
- you may have to wait close to 30 min. for a bus ride from OSJ back to the hotel in the middle of the day (like we had to). We weren't in a rush but waiting that long was a little annoying. Maybe try to find a bus schedule?? I consider myself organized, but I wasn't THAT prepared...
- no nightlife at the hotel - this could be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on what you're looking for. If you want to dance, gamble at a casino, etc, you'll have to taxi or bus to other nearby hotels.

Overall, the staff and the service made up for the distance to other places around the city. Since the taxi rides weren't that expensive and public transportation was a stone's throw away, we couldn't complain. The hotel's manager, Jose C., helped made our wedding anniversary one to remember! He gave us everything we asked for and we're so glad we made the decision to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristineCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad & Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I had to be in Puerto Rico for a wedding in October. After researching and reading reviews, decided to stay at this hotel. What a wise decision!!! The hotel is lovely! Clean, well situated, an extremely comfortable bed and service that I have not experienced anywhere else in the world.
We started off as a party of 3 in 2 rooms, when the others in our party came to drop us off and saw our accommodations, they immediately cancelled theirs and booked 2 extra rooms. The Front Desk staff did this with efficiency and a smile.
And a fantastically low rate, which made it even more appealing.

I won't even talk about the delicious warm cookies and friendly smiles and hellos everyday from everyone. Or the two sets of bathroom amenities sent to my room when I called housekeeping for 1 item.

I want to thank everyone but some names escape me. The ones I remember are Antonia, Grisel and Juan. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaMoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LolaJenknz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I stayed at the Doubletree for two nights and had an absolutely wonderful experience. I stay in hotels multiple times a month and would easily say that the people who work at this hotel are the most friendly and helpful staff that I have ever met. Everyone (especially Peter, Juan, Diana, and Margie at the front desk) continually went out of their way to make us feel welcome!
Our room was beautiful - very spacious and well decorated.
The hotel is located in a nice location; walking distance from the ocean, art museum, and a variety of restaurants.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LolaJenknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,881 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing