We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not close to tourist spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value but not close to tourist spot”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is a good value. The room was nicely decorated- very modern. The mattress was a bit firm. The bathroom had a bit of an awkward layout; with only a narrow glass shelf and a tower rack for the towels- so if you have a lot of makeup, hair stuff , etc- there's no drawer storage. The self parking (and there is a daily fee) is not close to the entrance. You have to go up the elevator then through garden/shop area then through the outdoor restaurant then across the circular driveway. The location is a good 2 to 3 blocks from Ashford Street in Condado where most of the restaurants/ shops are. There is also a resort fee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    841
    227
    69
    29
See reviews for
580
1,092
179
533
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were in town the day before our cruise was to set sail and wanted a nice hotel for a fair price! This is the best hotel at any price! The staff were warm and so were the cookies. The hotel is walking distance to many nice local stores and restaurants. They also have a nice fitness and recreation area in a safe courtyard, which was nice for just hanging out with our travel companions. Nice lobby area as well. Roomy and comfortable for families to gather while they wait for everyone to gather or wait for transportation. TWO Thumbs up.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank Tlmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Saludos Tlmaynard,

Thank you so much for such a great review!! We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. If I should be of assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caba@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for two days on business, and was glad to be back. Six blocks from a free beach, right across the street from a full-service grocery with a steam-table for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's an $18 taxi from the airport, but if you need to pay by credit card, you'll pay $30. So the thing is to make sure you don't have to use your credit card in the taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisMcNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel a really great staff, rooms, and location. I really enjoyed that it was located walking distance to Condado and a quick ride to Isla Verde. I really enjoyed the warm Chocolate Chip my favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great place to stay for families or individuals...for business or pleasure.. Excellent location for most things you would want to do. The beach is close byin the Condado area, as well as night life. Shopping, the Museum of Arts and the supermarket are all close by. Great value for the money. Have to be mindful of the Murphy bed, not stumpinmg your toe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank Claudette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The neighborhood isn't the greatest everything else made up for it .The rooms are very nice.Every employee that I encountered always treated me with respect and greeted me with a smile ....plus there is a market directly across the street, it was a life saver!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This Doubletree by Hilton in Condado was absolutely amazing. My husband and I came for a romantic getaway and this totally fit the bill. To start, the staff was excellent. The people at the front desk had the best "where to go" and "what to do" advice and were beyond friendly. They all spoke wonderful English and were willing to help with whatever we needed. Second, the decor of the hotel is so modern and beautiful, it is quite breathtaking. They give you free cookies whenever u ask as well as complimentary bottled water and coffee. It is near to the bus stops, taxis on call, within walking distance of the Condado night life and the beach. You also get hotel, pool, gym, and private beach access to the Courtyard by Marriott hotel and La Concha (just ask the front desk and they will write u a letter). I can't find one bad thing to say!!!!

Room Tip: The north facing room might be best. The sun rising on the East might wake you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninarosegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Saludos Ninarosegold

Thank you for choosing us for your romantic getaway and for all of the kinds words in your review. The staff was so genuinely grateful and happy to read how they were able to provide such a memorable getaway. It was great to read that you were able to take full advantage of our beach club arrangements with some of our sister hotels. We hope to welcome you back soon and if I can be of assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,943 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 48 in San Juan
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing