We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location for a tourist or a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best location for a tourist or a family”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good new modern hotel, smaller room, great staff but the day I arrived there with my family for a vacation I realized I made a mistake. For the price I paid for this hotel I could got the hotel or resort on the beach, and its at least 15-20 minute walk to the beach from this hotel. Also the street along the beach has better eating options and for most of our meals we ended up walking 20 minute each side. We are kind of stuck with this hotel or we would certainly have preferred to stay on the beachfront hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,589
    837
    220
    68
    29
See reviews for
575
1,082
176
526
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very impressed. Great facility (fitness, business room and *hot whirlpool!), friendly staff and comfortable room. Greeting cookies. Free coffee/hot milk /and computer right in the lobby. Free wireless. Safe box, microwave, fridge, tv, coffee maker and tea bags included in the room.

Nice location. Not far from airport. 15 min walk to the beach. Best part ~ you can use the swimming pool and private beach at La concha renaissance resort (*infinity pool!).

Big applause to room service. While we were out early morning to enjoy the beach at la concha, they cleaned the room and added extra fresh towels for us.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SR_MZ_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hola MnemeZ,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you were impressed with the hotel and that we exceeded your expectations. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Chose this hotel for the proximity from the airport. Updated, very modern looking lobby and bedroom! We were here to check out the town for a few days only so this was a good place to lay down our tired legs!
We had a double and a Murphy bed!! Works really well especially if you're not there to hang out in the room. Small room but cool bathroom!
Those warm cookies after a long day of walking, free wifi in the room, 24 hour fitness center, pool and hot tub!
Right across the hotel was a 24 hour supermarket which we loaded up on water, microwaveable breakfast food since the room had a microwave and refrigerator!
Concierge was very helpful with directions! Taxis have a flat rate of $17 ! Don't bargain!
We also rented our car a few days later to save on rental fees. Rental car service included picking us up from the hotel and driving us to the lot which helped save a few days of car service. Taxis are very easy to flag town. Their taxis are huge - vans!! Which helps if you are traveling in a big group!
Housekeeping closes at 5pm so call early if you need anything- Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries! Nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MLAbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree from 2/18/13 to 02/26/13. It was our first time in Puerto Rico. We had a fantastic experience at this hotel. All the staff - the front desk, concierge, the breakfast wait staff and maid staff were polite, helpful and courteous. They are true representatives of the wonderful people of Puerto Rico. The room was clean and had all the ammenities we needed. The room faced the pool area. It was an oasis. It is good for the business people, families and anyone who wants the benefits of staying in a truly relaxing place. The hotel itself is in a great spot. It is across the street from the supermarket (includes liquors, supermarket stuff, fresh foods and hot prepared foods), the bus stop is almost outside the building (it takes you to old San Juan), the taxis are always there. It is also a short walk from the middle of the Condado district - beaches, shopping, restaurants etc. (try Bebos). We are talking about coming back. It is the perfect spot to stay and enjoy the sights of Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor by the pool. You have your own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hola Michelle M,
It was great reading that you had a fantastic experience during your stay with us, and that you received helpful and courteous attention from all employees. I hope your first trip to Puerto Rico is the first of many more to come! Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist you with any future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time here. Nice people and very clean. Small rooms but works well if your going to spend your time touring anyways. There is a grocery store located right across the street and a restaurant just down a block.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I'm already booking my vacation back. Hotel manger real friendly.Great Place Loved The Bar Experience especially the bartender Damariss.pool is great beach is a short walk.I got to walk ten block and ran into couple if casino great night life

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DonnMiguelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hola DonnMiguelon,
Thank you for already booking your next reservation with us. We look forward to seeing you again. I shared your review with Damaris and she was excited to find out she had a positive influence on your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of assistance during your next stays.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family of three recently stayed at the Doubletree San Juan, 3/25/13 to 3/29/13. I found NO negatives to mention during our stay at this property...and I'm one of those who is extra picky. :-) The bell man, the taxi-cab concierge, the front desk staff, and the Lily's Chocolatier gift shop staff were more than willing to assist us with any items we may have needed, and they were actually excited to answer any general questions about Puerto Rico, that we may have had. The beds were comfy cozy, the pool and hot tub was just enough for my 11-year-old, there were cookies for the taking at the front desk for all guests, and the $15 breakfast buffet was delish. Things at this property were clean, ultra-modern, in place, and on-point. I HIGHLY recommend the Doubletree San Juan, for you and yours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lorene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,872 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing