We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree by Hilton San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is great. The location is perfect. The room was excellent. However, the staff attitude sucks. They do not like their jobs. One of the guys - Juan - was rude. The wait for help at the lobby/reception was too long. It is not good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoGuy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,807 - 1,813 of 2,930 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's a comfortable hotel in Condado Area, great staff, and the room was so quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is very complete. Doubletree has a agreement with the Courtyard Marriott Hotel in Isla Verde, so you can take all the facilities of the Marriott, like the beach service, restaurants on beach, sauna, lockers and casino. The perfect combination between both hotels!!!
There's a touristic zone were the taxi rate is about 12, 15 or 18 USD, for the hotel to the OLd San Juan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PandoraBariloche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Everything was great, except the room size. It was too small... It is a beautiful hotel, very clean, well located, all amenities, excellent customer service. It is located close to the best restaurants and shoppes in Santurce and Condado area. Well recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors preferred. Excellent choice to visit PR or anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hola Yasmin S,
Thank you for staying with us. I was happy to read that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be beautiful and clean. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com for your next visit, and I will try to accommodate you in one of our more spacious corner rooms.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It feels more like a business hotel, but the room was good: cosy, comfortable, and quiet. The whole place seems new, newly refurbished.

The staffs were great. Had the concierge to organized a day trip to the el Yunque national park, and it was decent.

There is a supermarket right across from the hotel. Don’t buy anything from the hotel’s convenient shop, buy it from the supermarket as it’s a lot cheaper. The hotel room also comes with microwave oven if you want to reheat some food you bought at the supermarket.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hola mrtravelmore,
Thank you for your kind review. I was glad to read that the Front Desk assisted you with making reservations for the El Yunque day trip and that you enjoyed the tour. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a modern atmosphere. The breakfast is very good and very complete. The staff is friendly and helpful. Always clean and neat. They have valet parking and other services including Internet.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe_Hern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really nice location with a fantastic beach within walking distance; the service was really good and the staff were very friendly from the Front Desk to the Housekeepers. We had a great time at the DoubleTree, the Hotel is only 10 minutes walking from the main strip but it's worth it to stay OFF the strip due to the heavy amount of traffic and tourist..
The rooms were spacious and spotless and the gym is well equip! Definately will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tourist V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hola Tourist V,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you had a great stay with us, and that you received friendly and good service from all the staff. As you mention, we are only a few minutes away from beautiful Ocean Park beach and close to several area restaurants. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Doubletree, but not for people who are there for a Caribbean vacation / Puerto Rican culture or vibe. If you're there for work, though, or just on your way in or out of the city, then it's great. It's clean, friendly, very pretty, comfortable, and my room was very nice. The bathroom was very stylish with tons of mirrors. I felt taken care of, and the pool area is lovely (the pool is small but attractive and lots of seating). The breakfast buffet was big but not very high quality, but whatever.

The thing is, it's very corporate. As others have mentioned, your room (and the food, the lobby, etc) could be anywhere in the US. It's situated on the outskirts of the main tourist area - stores and apartment buildings surround you. It's safe and there are lots of options for food, staples, etc - but a little pedestrian. To get downtown or to Old San Juan, you'll have to take a taxi that's $15 each way or figure out the buses - which was not hard at all once someone at the convention center explained which bus for me to take, but when I had originally asked at the front desk about the buses, they told me it would take way too long and wasn't convenient, so I should just take taxis. Not great advice. But there are several important cultural institutions in walking distance, including art museums, that I wish I had had time to go to.

I had good food and extremely cheap drinks amongst locals at the little dive bar/resto up the street, Diana's. If you can speak spanish I'd recommend giving them your business for lunch or drinks! Overall, a good place to stay for a short while, but not a destination place for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fellowtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 48 in San Juan
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $155 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing