We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Amenities!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews and it was a great place to stay! It is certainly not beachfront but the beach is a 10-20 minute walk (depending on which beach) and the facilities at the sister hotel, La Concha, are fantastic. We really enjoyed the 24-hr pool, hot tub and fitness center and the grocery store across the street was perfect for buying things like sunblock and bug spray. As a Hilton Gold member, we were given the buffet breakfast for free and our room was upgraded. We were also half a block from a bus stop that took us to Old San Juan (75 cents each way). Would definitely recommend if you aren't set on staying right on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    849
    229
    68
    30
See reviews for
594
1,103
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice location between airport and old town. However the rooms are tiny and the curtains are thin which don't block out the light. Also don't assume any local flavor of ambiance. Outside of the small rooms this hotel could be in the states.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestsideChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are great, the staff are very helpful, and the cookies are terrific. The hotel have gym, pool and a lot of great restaurants nearby, like silk and under the tree. The Condado area is very nice, with lots of bars and restaurants.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcramirez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for the past nights and we can say that on the whole this hotel is good .
The room is small but fully equipped with complimentary water and coffee, microwave and fridge. The furniture is a bit worn down but kept relatively ok. The shower is nice and modern.
However from house keeping view there is place for improvement , the carpets weren't vacuumed , garbage wasn't removed from the bins daily and some other small housekeeping issues.
As mentioned before 14$ for a dull buffet breakfast is a bit expensive so we crossed the road to the supermarket and fetched our own breakfast at a third of the price.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
I would surely recommend this hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our flight was an early morning flight and we reached there by 7am! We had asked for early check-in during the reservation. Though we were super early, we were allowed to use the lounge and wifi till the time we got our room. The staff tried their best to give us access to the room as early as possible. The restaurant staff was pretty awesome too. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibuachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small compared to United States. Hotel and rooms are very modern. Room had shower with glass doors, no bathtub. Room and all common areas were very clean. Friendly staff. Short walk to several restaurants and a grocery store right across the street. Microwave, refrig, and safe in room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank epfan4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a 5 night business trip. The hotel is well located to go in and out fast into the main highway. There is no beach adjacent or at the hotel but close. The restaurants are very good. Rooms are well kept and the work area in it is very comfortable. Noticed that in some areas the property is starting to show some wear, specially hall carpet and around the pool.

Breakfast is better than other hotels and the staff is friendly and very helpful, as the majority of PR hotels. They offered a managers cocktail one afternoon.

I had a negotiated rate by my employer, however when I got the bill I was being charged $32.22 per day for a "Service Charge." This isn't/wasn't disclosed anywhere. They reversed it on my bill eventually, but this kind of thing is not pleasing. I also suggested that the valet parking should be elected at check in, and billed to the hotel room automatically. I had to stamp my valet parking everyday.

I will consider this property again, (I travel here 12 -15 times a year) basically for the ease of location, room layout and the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannymaldonado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing