We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and amenities, staff definitely cares for their patrons.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service and amenities, staff definitely cares for their patrons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located next to a SuperMax supermarket that opens 24 hours - and had the option of valet parking for $20 or self parking next door for $15 (at the condo double tower building).

After checking in , we were given the DoubleTree check in cookies, which was fresh and warm. The hotel has a 24 hour pool and whirlpool which was very convenient for whenever we felt like taking a dip. We requested to be placed on a high floor when we booked this hotel online a few weeks back, and delightfully, the hotel staff gave us a room on the 6th (out of 8) floor. The business center (3 PCs) was opened via your key card, but provided good connectivity to the internet. There is free Wifi, but the wifi is very slow - extremely slow throughout the day and night when using on my ipad.

We were locked out of the room one night because the lock mechanism by the door was loose, but someone from the hotel came up immediately after we called from the phone in the hallway. Additionally, phone calls to the lobby for amenities was well received and quickly attended to. The hotel also gives out complimentary travel gear (like toothbrushes, toothpaste, and other minor items) - i took a toothbrush at the start of our stay.

Hotel looked really new and staff was very pleasant throughout our stay. Our room was facing inland, and had three windows (with block out shades and regular shades). The room was cleverly constructed, with the bed near the windows, and the closet and bathroom tucked inside the room. The bathroom had a large sliding opaque door as the opening, and was spacious with a stand up shower of tile. One thing that i didnt like about the bathroom was there was no option to open a more powerful vent that can take some of the moisture away. Regardless, the bathroom looked updated and new. The room looked new and clean as well. The bed was very soft with 4 pillows of different hardness and 3 additional cushions .

We had vouchers for breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. The breakfast was buffet style with a chef making omelettes in front of you. Additionally, you can ask to be served. Everyday in the morning, the hotel provides coffee for free near the entrance of the hotel which was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    816
    215
    65
    28
See reviews for
544
1,061
174
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Good:
- convenient location, right off Rt.26 and easy access to almost all things in San Juan
- very friendly staff, extremely helpful with room changes, directions, tourist attractions, restaurants, etc. (Bo, Julianna, & others - we reached at 5.30 am, they gave us that night free)
- convenient access to beaches & facilities at 2 resorts (La Concha & the Courtyard Marriott, both of which were very good)

Could be Better:
- breakfast is standard buffet, could add more variety (you get bored of the stuff 4 days in a row)
- if you are planning to spend lots of time at the pool, its quite a small pool!

Overall, great time, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the Garden Wing...they open up to the pool and have a comfortable outdoor sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VC397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree. Beautiful and clean hotel, excellent room. Good restaurants. There'a a supermarket across the street. There'a just one thing I'd prefer: it could be nearest the Ashford Ave, because I had to pay $15 every time I wanted to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgínia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I got to the hotel 1145PM from a long flight from the west coast to PR. I was not even greeted, not even a smile, by the front desk. I was simply asked for last name after she got off the phone, I didn't mind the wait but disappointed with not getting welcomed.

I went up my room then realized I did not receive the famous double tree cookie welcome. Since I did not get lunch, I was hungry and did not mind going down to ask for a free cookie. Went down and asked for a cookie and the Internet access and the receptionist again never smiled.

The rest of my 3 night stay went well since I did not have to deal with the front desk. The valet guy, Will, is a different story. He provides friendly and excellent service.

Good location. Close to the beach, 7-10 mins walk. Next to a 24 hr supermarket. Rooms are small but as a single traveler, I do not mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Saludos Echo924,

We’re very sorry you did not experience the level of service to which we have become known for, especially from our front desk. Our main priority is for all our guests to experience an exceptional level of service and of course get to enjoy our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. I must apologize that this was not the case during your visit. I have personally spoken to our staff regarding your comments and I can assure you that they are committed to maintaining that highest level of service and attention as possible. If I can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I traveled to San Juan recently on business and stayed at the Doubletree. The hotel is in a great location. Within a 10 minute walk of resturants and hotel casinos. My only complaint is the room is a shoebox.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveloflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
610 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,032 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed four nights in a king-size room overlooking the pool area. The room was spacious and well-appointed. Since the room faced into the interior courtyard, it was quiet and isolated from the busy street outside. The microwave oven and refrigerator are a great plus, and allowed us to take advantage of the supermarket across the street. We could thus buy and store fresh fruit and other perishables. The staff were invariably friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is convenient for excursions into Old San Juan and outside of the city. If you plan on driving outside the city, this great location near the highway exit allows one to avoid the heavy traffic in and out of Old San Juan. We had only two minor complaints: (1) The pillows were too high and firm and when we asked for softer pillows we were told that none were available; and (2) the coffeemaker in our room was not working (since we are tea drinkers, we could use the microwave oven to heat water). Other than that, the stay was pleasant and we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The king-sized rooms are in a separate, smaller, building and all of them overlook the internal cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed at the doubletree by hilton san juan on dec 6-9 . the hotel is ideally located close to pretty much everywhere . theres a 24 hr supermarket across the street , bebos which is a puerto rican restaraunt 2 blocks away from the hotel .please note guests staying at this hotel have access to la concha renaisance resort about 10 min away in taxi .front desk will give you a letter stating you are there guests , simply show the front desk agent at la concha the letter and you will have access to pool and beach .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank edwint_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hola edwint_85,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you found the hotel to be perfectly located and that you were able to take advantage of our Beach Club with access to our beach front sister property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing