We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - best value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - best value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just got back from our Caribbean trip and I must say this hotel was by far the best we stayed in! Super modern and EXTREMELY clean! The room was a bit small, but very nice. Free wifi! Upon arrival we were greeted by Bo who was very helpful with all of our questions & were given warm fresh baked delicious chocolate chip cookies. The shower was enclosed by all glass walls and there was a frosted glass sliding door for the bathroom. The bartenders Jose & Carlos were excellent and made killer mojitos! The bar area is small, but nice & also had a great happy hour. Pool was small, but clean & nice. The location of the hotel isnt in the greatest area, but you can jump in a cab anywhere. Cabs get a little pricey, but renting a car was such a hassle and very confusing if you don't know the area. We ended up taking a cab downtown for dinner and it only took about 10-15 minutes. All in all we loved the place! I would say its great for couples!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbleeker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hola cbleeker87,
Thank you for your kind review. It was my pleasure to answer your questions and provide you with information during your check-in. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com, and I will be happy to assist you with you your reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    816
    215
    65
    28
See reviews for
544
1,061
174
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Fla
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place to stay at while you are in business.
The staff of the hotel is the best!! they treat you like if you where a family member of theirs.
They know you are away from your love ones and they do they very best to make your stay very pleasant.
I have stayed in a few hotels in San Juan, but this is the only hotel I stay at when in the island doing work.
Thank you again to all the staff you guys are the best!!!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Saludos Rey 12,

Thank you so much you for your kind words. We are truly proud of our people and without a thought, believe that they our biggest asset. If I can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me directly at yodil.caban@hilton.com. We look forward to welcoming you back, on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have been to the island many times to visit family so we've never needed to stay at a hotel. Our 10 year wedding anniversary and completion of master degrees brought about the need to celebrate in style. After much research, we decided to stay at the Doubletree because of the positive reviews and it's affordability. We were very happy with our decision! We were thrilled that we could check in early and were very impressed with front desk agent Sugeil Fermin. Sugeil was extremely accommodating. She really took her time with us and gave us great info on transportation and food options in the area (Bebo's was awesome). The room was clean and comfortable, the complimentary bottles of water were much appreciated, the chocolate shop was a pleasant surprise, the on site laundry was great to use, the bell hops were young and enthusiastic, and don't even get me started about the free chocolate chip cookies (yum). Staff went above and beyond from printing boarding passes for us when we had an issue with a computer in the business center to bringing extra toiletries up to our room. What more can I say, we will be recommending the Doubletree San Juan to others and will stay here again. Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinyTraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hola TinyTraveler1976,
Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary and the completion of your masters degree. I will make sure to share your nice comments with Sugeil. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com for the celebrations of your next milestones so I can assist you with your reservations .
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My stay was one night only. I tried to book it again for the last 2 nights of my trip while in PR, but they were full and I ended up at one of the pricier, resort hotels right on the beach. The Doubletree was by far, the better value and within easy walking distance of the beach. The rooms are very clean, and very updated. The staff is extremely helpful and welcoming.

I don't recommend the beaches in Condado for swimming unless you are very young and strong, as the surf is pretty rough and just getting beyond the breakers can be dangerous.

The grocery store across the street has a good selection if you want to grab a snack or fresh fruit and yogurt for breakfast.

I will book this hotel again when in San Juan next fall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineFreqntTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed at the Doubletree in San Juan for a much needed vacation and I had the best experience. Of course the city was amazing but honestly the staff at the Doubletree made all the difference in the world. While all of the staff were great, two of the bellmen really went out of their way to offer assistance. Roberto worked in the evenings and would always recommend great places for dinner or let us know where the hot spots were for the night. He would also make sure to relay everything to the taxi driver and gave great instructions as it was two of us girls traveling. Also, Antonio, worked in the mornings and he was wonderful - breakfast was always a hit and he always came up with interesting things for us to do each day. It was honestly one of the best vacations I've had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Doubletree Hilton in San Juan Puerto Rico before boarding our cruise ship.The Doubletree is an excellent hotel with very modern, clean rooms for a reasonable price. It is 2 blocks from the ocean ( 5 min. walk ) and there is a supermarket across the street where you can get anything you need including beer, wine ,rum etc.for real cheep !
The Hotel will let you bring your drinks around the pool.The Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the Bell Hop arranged for our group see the rain forest for $45. each (awsome time).
When you check in, the staff give you warm cookies and say come back anytime for more.
Our transpation from the airport cost $ 8. each for 6 of us in a van. Note , Don't rent a car ! The drivers are crazy and many narrow streets.Many cars are all dented up (no surprize when you see them drive) Most everyone in San Juan speaks both english and spanish. Any Questions just contact me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindarbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I planned a short weekend in PR and the doubletree was cheap and centrally located. The staff are helpful and friendly. When American Airlines canceled my flight twice the hotel was kind enought to find me space even though it was overbooked with other stranded people.

In another note, this is perhaps the nicest doubletree I have ever stayed in.

This place is recommended for families or couples. It has a pool and a gym, both of which are open 24 hours. The hotel also has an agreement la concha which gives you access to their pool, beach chairs and other services.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoff_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing