We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just OK”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel was OK. The rooms are small and you have to walk to get near the beach. If you're looking to save money this might be a good choice but if you're here on vacation and want to be on the beach you might be better off somewhere else. Not sure why everyone rates this place so high - it's just OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agw7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    849
    229
    68
    30
See reviews for
594
1,103
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staying at the Doubletree in San Juan was the best choice I have done in a very long time. I was looking for a Hotel that could offer me and my family a sense of relaxation and the doubletree pulled through. I would like to thank Jodil Caban for the hands on service. My family and I really enjoyed our stay in Puerto Rico. We cant wait to come back to the shinning star of the carribean. Well be staying at the San Juan Doubletree again soon!!!!!!!! We have become loyal customers for life!!!!

Room Tip: Any room at the Double tree n the San Juan Hotel is great. Guaranteed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canarito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We escape of the daily life and enjoy family time together is a rechargeable place . The decor and the back music make you feel like you are in a Spa . We enjoy The Garden with the coqui"s sound and Orquideas. The pool with the colors changes at night and the games around it was Fun !. The gift shop had every thing you need too. The breakfast buffet and the cookies were awesome!

Room Tip: Tell exactly your needs during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piraguas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Rooms are modern decor and very practical; whoever designed the rooms deserves a pat on the back for making the most efficient use of the space. This hotel provides upgraded toiletries; microwave & fridge give me more options for dining. Comfortable bed with plenty of pillows and option of using a double size murphy bed if desired. Free wifi and wired internet service. Early check ins have been no problem here; front desk (and all staff) have been friendly and efficient. Housekeeping is doing a good job too. Large pool and spa area is a plus. Small bar and restaurant in lobby, but more dining options are available close to the hotel, including a 24/7 grocery store right across the street. I am a business traveler and find all my needs met here. I look forward to staying here every time I am in San Juan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaNugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hola TampaNugget,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to see that we were able to provide you with an early check-in, and it gives me great pleasure to know that we will be welcoming you back during your future business trips. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First trip to San Juan Puetro Rico. We booked a room at the Doubletree, we had read the reviews on tripadvisor.com and decided it looked pretty good. We did not go for an expensive room it cost us for 3 days $118 for booking early, and had a very comfortable queen bed. The whole 3 days we were there we never heard people in the other rooms and slept very well. We had a coffee maker in our room and that was very handy since we both drink a lot of coffee. The fitness center was great and free to use. The staff was amazing Antonio was very helpful. The wifi worked very well, letting us talk to friends and make plans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hola Tabitha M,
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree as your home away from home during your first trip to San Juan. I was happy to see that Antonio and the staff were helpful during your stay and I hope we will be welcoming back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Island, SC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was exactly as described by reviews on TripAdvisor and we enjoyed a great stay. Their welcome cookies are just marvelous and worth every calorie (310 of them). Our room was clean and very well-designed and ergonomic (excellent use of space). The hotel staff were very helpful and always pleasant.
We used the T5 bus (stops are just across and up the street from the hotel going into town and right near the hotel entrance on the way back). At only 75 cents each ride, it only cost us $3.00/day getting into and out of Old San Juan - and we used the free trolleys (2 routes run there) to save on our feet for walking at the sights. Fair warning though - you have to be patient, sometimes it might be an hour before the T5 bus comes, another time only 20-30 min. (even at the bus terminus in Old San Juan!). There doesn't seem to be a set schedule. Plus you need exact change per person (the front desk was very nice about giving us change each day).
The SuperMax grocery store across the street was very handy (be sure to try the locally grown bananas - so much sweeter than those we get in the US) and we used the hotel recommended restaurants nearby ("Silk" for Japanese/Chinese and "Under the Trees" did a fabulous fire-grilled burger). We had a wonderful breakfast at the Doubletree (again very accommodating and great service) and also used their 2 for 1 Happy Hour one day. Definitely we would recommend and stay here again and they deserve their great rating on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bouviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hola Bouviers,
Thank you for staying with us. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went on a cruise and decided to spend a few extra days in San Juan. We were looking for a hotel located near everything and found it in the Double Tree Hilton.

Antonio greeted as as we arrived and took care of us for the next three days providing everything from beach chairs and towels to directions to El Yunque. Nice guy, great asset to the hotel.

Margarita at the front desk made us feel like family and the hot cookies didn't hurt either!

All of the staff was great at answering our questions and helping us accomplish what we needed to do.

If you need a car rental, try Enterprise on Ashford Ave. They will bring the car to the hotel and they were very helpful with directions. We dropped off the car at 10pm and walked back to the hotel. The area was full of people enjoying the evening and there was a very noticable police presence.

We are going to stay here again and are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hola GeoAdventurer,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that Antonio and Margarita were helpful with directions and making you feel at home. I have shared your review with them and they were excited to see that you enjoyed your stay. For future reservations please contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will gladly assist you.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing