We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Reasonably Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here in March. I chose the hotel because the hotels I usually stay at were booked (we come to PR every year). I'm so glad they were booked because this place is a gem. The staff was helpful, friendly and spoke English well. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Very clean (and I'm a germaphobe so I'm hard to please). The room was a little small so I'm not sure I'd pick this hotel for an extended stay but for a couple of days it would be great. Or at the very least, I'd pick a bigger room.

The view was not impressive but the hotel is conveniently located with a grocery store across the street and the BEST Puerto Rican food restaurant around the corner (Bebos Cafe...yum!). That alone is a good reason to stay there. It is also a short ride to Isla Grande Airport.

Overall, this is a great hotel and will be our first pick when we come to San Juan again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tgdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hola cmslj,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. I am happy you found the hotel to be clean and that or staff was able to assist you with your needs during your stay. We do have larger rooms available, so please fell free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com for your next reservation I and will do my best to assign you one of our larger rooms.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    854
    229
    70
    30
See reviews for
603
1,109
184
548
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our experience at this hotel was really nice. The staff was helpful from the minute we arrived. The cookies were great! The furnishings are sleek and modern. The room had everything we needed, and more. The murphy bed was big and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good. It was easy to walk around the area of the Condado. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reader71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a great hotel. We stayed 1 night on a layover and we not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are small, but very modern. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was very good and offered a wide array of options. The prices were high, but the portions were large. It is only about a 10 minute ride to the airport and they have a TV channel dedicated to airline arrival and departure times. It was $20.00 for the cab to and from the airport. Though we were unable to sightsee, there were many options within walking distance. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jglopga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hola jglopga,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will have more time during your next visit to see more of San Juan and Puerto Rico. As you mention we are only a short taxi ride away from the airport and also from Old San Juan. Within walking distance we have the Art Museum of Puerto Rico and beautiful Ocean Park beach as well as several excellent restaurants.
I am glad you were able to take advantage of "FlyteSystem", which gives up-to-date information on arriving and departing flights in San Juan.
Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Even though this hotel isn't on the beach, you have access to their sister hotel which has a private beach and 4 swimming pools. The entire staff that I dealt with at the front desk, restaurant, and room service were extremely friendly and helpful. The 24 hour grocery store directly across the street is great for anything you could think of that doesn't have to be cooked or frozen (small fridge doesn't have a freezer). I only wished the hotel would put the entire rate you will be charged once you book online. Seeing one fee in a email then another with 18% plus tax (which isn't specific) is annoying and causes confusion in trying to find out whether you have been overcharged. Overall it has been a great experience and I would stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minessota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here with my wife on July, we had a wonderful time it was just what we needed after having a horrible experience at another San Juan Hotel. Just goes to show you sometimes it's better to pay a little more than you hoped for. Def will be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeeAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hola TeeAd,
I am happy we were able to help make the remainder of your vacation a wonderful experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back as our guests in the near future.
Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance with your future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited San Juan for my 40th year high school reunion. I tried to stay away from hotels in the Isla Verde or San Juan area due to the traffic. I picked this hotel based on reviews and they were right. The location is excellent with a 24 hours supermarket across the street and walking distance to a great PR restaurant Bebo's and to Kasalta, a bakery that makes the best cheese pastelitos. I was concerned about safety before we went but felt very secure walking on Ashford, De Diego, Loiza and McLeary streetsThe hotel staff was warm, courteous and extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our warm cookie upon arrival. The rooms may be small compared to newer hotels but they are fully renovated and very modern, sleek and efficient. The frosted glass door to the bathroom ( you can not see) and the modern sink gave the room a very contemporary look. Everything was very clean and new and the bed was very comfortable. I just did the review for them and gave them a 10. They even kept one of our bags during our 3 day trip to Culebra. Definitely contributed to a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here April 18-23, 2012. The hotel is nice. The rooms have a nice modern decor. The pool and workout facilities were above average. Service was very good. The desk attendants were friendly and efficient. The only area for improvement would be to great guests regularly like they do at Hilton Garden Inns. The restaurant service was a bit mixed. Language barrier was a small issue at times. Also, the "Grab and Go Lunch" was more like an order, wait for several staff members to confer what I meant by "Grab and Go" (it was listed in the elevator), wait for the food to be prepared, then grab and go. As for location, the neighborhood looks worse than it seems. Barbed wire tops a lot of fences, but I never felt unsafe.

It is a 20 minute walk to the Renaissance, a sister property where you can use the pool and beach if you ask for a letter from the Doubletree front desk; and a 10 minute cab ride to the Courtyard, another sister property with one of the best beaches in Puerto Rico (the only ones better are on Vieques and Culebra).

I do wish we had stayed closer to Old San Juan, though, because we spent the most time there and we spent a lot on taxis. The bus system in San Juan is cheap but SUCKS! They don't have trip planners online, routes aren't in Google Maps Mobile, there are no schedules available for any route, the website is in Spanish with no English option, and the "20-30 minute" posted wait times are so wrong that they don't even qualify as a joke. One day, we got on the bus headed the wrong way. Most other days wait times were in the 20-45 minute range. One day, we waited over 1 hour and 20 minutes before giving up and taking a cab. Some drivers can be unhelpful and somewhat rude. A taxi ride to Old San Juan is $15 one way. Buses are $0.75. I wish I could say that buses are a no-brainer, but the lack of predictability makes it a tough call. If you do take the bus, B21 picks up on the NE corner of Calle Wilson and Diego.

One more note, the hotel can book both the El Yunque and Bioluminescent Bay tours for you during the off season at cheaper rates than online. During peak season, you should definitely book online, in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cpuuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing