We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We started our trip with a two day stay at the Double Tree. From the first impression to the first dip in jacuzzi, this place really just hit the spot. The property was modern and clean, the staff was very pleasant and the rooms gave us plenty of space for the three of us. The 24hr gym, pool and jacuzzi became a huge highlight to me. The location itself is marvelous! 2-3 short blocks to parque de indio for my 5 yr old and Bebo's Cafe for breakfast or lunch or dinner for authentic local cuisine just a block away.

There was nothing too fancy about this place so if you ae looking for some beach front sexy resot type ting this aint it. You have kids any age or a group of people looking for a steal and great value...this it it!!! I travel to PR annually, this is my new fav when visiting the Condado/San Juan area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheSantiagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hola TheSantiagos,
Thank you for you kind review. I was happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and that your 5-year old enjoyed El Parque del Indio at the entrance to beautiful Ocean Park beach.
Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Doubletree San Juan Hotel was perfect for a one night stay for an early morning flight out of San Juan. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. We were greeted as we were dropped off by the cab and welcomed to the hotel. Check in was quick and friendly eventhough we were checking in before noon time. We grabbed a quick lunch which we split and the meal was served on two separate plates with all the trimmings without our having to request it. We spent the afternoon at the pool since the beach was a few blocks away. We had a few cocktails at the bar and got a great recommendation for dinner. The hotel is situated centrally with over four restaurants in the immediate area to choose from. This was a very pleasant stay for a very economical rate. The hotel is very modern and offers an ample excercise room, full service business center where we were able to print out our boarding passes. The room was very small but had all of the amenities needed from a double closet to computer desk, flat screen T.V., very modern bathroom with smoky glass door. The bed was a full size which was too small for my husband and I but since it was for only one night we managed.The staff was so serviceable, pleasant, and helpful. The food was very good and with ample portion to share. This is a nice hotel if you do not mind not being near the beach. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MagVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I use this hotel for Business Travel, at least 2 times per year. It is centrally located in San Juan, and while not in the heart of "Tourist" areas, which is great for me in terms of traffic and congestion, it is just 2 blocks from the beach and plenty of great restaurants, shopping, etc.

The Hotel has a business center, restaurants, plenty of places to work (two laptops for common usage at the lobby area for all guests to use), laundry facilities, and a small swimming pool. So, would be great for business or pleasure trips.

The rooms have microwave and small fridges. They are roomy, with desk area for working, and are clean and newly renovated in a modern taste.

The hotel staff could not be more accomodating. They have routinely ran to the Post Office for me to get mailing/shipping supplies, and have mailed many things for me, charging the postage to my room. Great service, every time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0112CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel is almost always full and this time was put into a run of the house room. When I arrived in my room, it was extremely cold (62 degrees) so I turned up the wall thermostat and the AC just kept running. I called the night manager and explained what was going on and she sent up the engineer. He tried changing the thermostat and nothing happened. He left and came back and put the old thermostat back and said there was nothing he could do. I called the desk and they changed my room only to have the exact same thing happen in the next room. I called down again and the night manager said that it is just how the thermostats are set and. I asked about being able to control the room temperature and she said that is just how they work and said I could again talk to the day manager and see if he could do something. So once again will be in either a very hot room because I have to turn the AC off at night or an extremely cold room because the AC will not allow you to control the temperature. I have stayed at this hotel many times and in the past they were quite attentive to needs but that is definitely not the case on this trip.

Room Tip: The shades in the rooms do not keep all of the light. If you do not want the morning sun coming in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SeeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Saludos Logisys,

We are so truly sorry that you had this experience during your last stay with us, and were sadden to see that we were not able to achieve the same 5 marks, from your previous review of our hotel. Upon verifying your room we noticed that the internal A/C sensor in this room was faulty and did not respond to the thermostat changes. This problem has been fixed and I have requested that my Engineering Director verify every room to ensure that this situation does not inconvenience another guest. I am with hope that you will see this as an isolated incident and will give us the opportunity to stay with us again. If I can be of assistance to you in any way, please contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first time in Puerto Rico. Property is well within walking distance of all beaches and downtown hot spots. Would not, however, walk at night, but that's the case for anywhere in Puerto Rico. The staff are some of the friendliest and most helpful we found on the island. Rooms are very modern and clean. Pool area and work out facilities were very nice too. Try the mojitos at the bar! Awesome!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel is nicely decorated, good location, staff very pleasant and responsive, breakfast was good. Air conditioner could have been cooler, but it was quite hot outside. Supermarket across the street a bonus. Bebos Restaurant around the corner was superb for local food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STTIngeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice hotel and an enjoyable stay. Staff was great, and for those who speak limited Spanish, very accommodating to English speakers. Good location for business or getting to the sites. Pretty good food for a hotel restaurant.

Only slight negatives would be a room air conditioner that had a tough time keeping up with day time temps in July, and the view out some of the rooms is not very scenic. Minor complaints though.

Again, the staff at the hotel are great and rooms are priced very competitively.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seminole_kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,763 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $162 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing