We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My travel companion and I stayed at this fine hotel recently, prior to a cruise. An excellent hotel overall...front desk exceptionally friendly and professional, clean and comfortable rooms, and a pleasant ambiance throughout the property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fredderico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,865)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Excellent hotel to stay on business. The desk work space and lighting is as good as it gets. The rooms are very quiet and the beds are very comfortable. Air conditioning is quiet and temperature can be regulated to your liking. Good selection of pillows from hard to soft and if you have the option of using the quilt or replace it with a light blanket for more comfortable sleeping. I should mention that there is pleanty of floor space so you are not cramped. This is a comparatively small comfortable and cosy hotel with a very friendly staff that is always willing to go the extra mile. Fitness club equipmnet is very well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: I try to stay in a room overlooking the pool in either building and have found them to be quiet in e...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hola David G,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that we lived up to your needs as a business traveler with rooms with good desk space and lightning. The complimentary wireless high speed internet and our 24 hour complimentary Business Center are other amenities we offer our business travelers.
I hope to welcome you back next time your business brings you to San Juan. Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was a really nice hotel. It pretty much had everything I could ask for. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even the vallet parker guy talked to me on the phone when my wife and i got lost trying to find the place from the airport. Under the Trees is serves some amazing burgers! The pool and hot tub area is nice and was in perfect location since we had a slide door that pretty much put u right in the area. also there's a grocery store across the street which is super convient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajohnson0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hola ajohnson0784,
Thank you for staying with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your Garden room with direct access to the pool area and jacuzzi. As you mention, with microwave and refrigerator in the room the 24-hour supermarket across the street is convenient for stocking up snacks.
I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if can be of any assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree for 2 days prior to going on a cruise and were quite pleased with everything the hotel has to offer. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. I would stay there again if the opportunity ever arises.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SDesRoches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed three nights and couldn't get over how nicely appointed the hotel and the rooms were. The decor was spot on, the rooms were smallish but had everything you needed without feeling cramped, the bed was extremely comfortable - more comfortable than our bed at home, and did I mention the decor? Awesome! Probably the best value in a hotel anywhere I've ever been.
Oh, and don't forget the Doubletree cookies - delish!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Budrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Doubletree Hilton in the Condado district of San Juan for 2 nights. As soon as we checked in, service was excellent. They were quick to answer questions such as maps, bus routes, restaurants to try out. It is a splendid location in the Condado district where tons of restaurants are in walking distance. There's a huge supermarket across the street opened for 24 hours so that was highly convenient. Our room had a queen bed and even had our own microwave! How convenient. The grounds were so well kept..relaxing next to the pool and the whirlpool at sunset was exactly what you need on a busy day.

If you walk two blocks north, you can catch the city bus to Old San Juan for 75 cents a person. it takes you straight to that area in 15 minutes. You could also walk a couple of blocks to other boutique hotels and the Condado's shopping district. A couple of blocks also takes you to some authentic Puerto Rican food to Bebo's Cafe...cheap price, good food.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay in Puerto Rico. It was a great location and a really decent price at that.

Room Tip: - request a room that overlooks the pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Passion8traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hola Passion8traveler,
I was excited to see that you received excellent service from the moment you walked in the door, and that our staff assisted you with questions on directions, restaurants and things to do. We are within walking distance of several great restaurants, the beautiful Ocean Park beach is only 5 minutes walk and the bus with direct access to Old San Juan stops right in front of the hotel.
Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of assistance with making your future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were in San Juan briefly staying at LaConcha before going on to Vieques Island for a wedding. For our return to San Juan I had made reservations at the Doubletree by Hilton as it was less expensive. However, the amenities and service were anything BUT budget. The rooms were immaculate and yes somewhat small but a person doesn't live in their hotel room when on vacation. I appreciated the "boutique" type feel of a smaller hotel and the service was stellar! The grounds were lovely and the pool and hottub added to the overall experience. I was also in touch with Grisel Rivera, in charge of tele sales at the hotel, on more than one occasion as I continued to add rooms to our reservation based on the value price of the rooms. Our friends were also very pleased with the value of this hotel. If you want the beach side experience of a hotel, Doubletree will facilitate use of privileges at LaConcha. Some people may prefer a short cab ride as opposed to a longer walk to LaConcha. Another bonus of the Doubletree location was of its proximity to a very nice full service grocery store open 24 hours a day just across the street. The rooms also had small refrigerators and microwaves as well as safes. A final example of customer service occured when we noted we were missing one of our electronic devices. I had mentioned this during our stay and at checkout to Margharita. Before we had completed our 12 hour flight home, we had received an email from the hotel stating they had found our lost item. One of our friends who also stayed there, misplaced some important papers which were found and promptly returned to our friends room. Staying at this hotel was the perfect way to end our vacation before going home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 10kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $137 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing