We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, and excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, and excellent facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights before our cruise. It was perfect for what we wanted. We were travelling from London so arrived at the hotel nearing 1am. A taxi from the airport cost around $16 at that time of night. We were checked in efficiently and given 2 warm cookies and two bottles of water, which were gratefully received after travelling for over 14 hours. The staff for our entire stay were all very helpful and friendly.

The rooms were clean, modern and well equipped. The hotel had a swimming pool, a hot tub, and a gym. We used all these facilities and really enjoyed them. The swimming area is a nice place to relax and the temperature of the hot tub is really nice and hot.

There is complimentary bottled water and coffee. They serve the complimentary coffee in the mornings between 7-9am, downstairs in the foyer. The bar and foyer is a nice place to sit and they also have seating outside, which we used daily.
They don’t provide laundry service but they do have washing facilities and will provide detergent and dryer sheets. We used this and found it sufficient for our needs.

There is also a 24 hour grocery store opposite the hotel which is very handy.
The location of the hotel is not in Old San Juan, a taxi there will cost around $21. The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk and a there are many restaurants and bars on Av Dr Ashford which is a 5 minute walk away. You can also use the facilities of their sister hotel La Concha; a renaissance resort, which is a five star resort. We went to the resort and spent the day at the pool.

This is a great hotel with very friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veggieofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    824
    218
    67
    29
See reviews for
565
1,072
175
519
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've been staying in this hotel for 3-4 years now.....I believe I stayed here shortly after it opened as a Doubletree a few years ago.....this was maybe my 6th or 7th stay.....usually I stay on business....but this time was on New Year's Day 2012 with my wife, an overnight stay, preparing for a week's getaway in Puerto Rico to start the year. My first impression a few years ago was "Wow"....what a nice property......room design, layout and location were excellent for business trips and it clearly continues to meet expectations.....it reminded me of the Doubletrees I had stayed at in Bogota and Kosice, Slovakia. But you can begin to see little signs that the wear and tear of continued use begin to demonstrate......things like occasional loose electrical connections, loose lampshades, burnt light bulbs, a little dimming of the lustre of furnishings......nothing serious at all.....but it has lost a little of its initial sparkle......a normal evolution. This is in no way anything other than a description.....not a criticism.....the hotel on this date was just slammed with people......extremely crowded, taxing the staff to keep up with parking, baggage handling, check-in, etc. The staff are by the way extremely well trained.....very friendly and engaging and helpful as can be. I have stayed at other Hilton properties.....I think all of them in the immediate San Juan region......and this is the best of the lot. For anyone "staying Hilton" ... for points and perks....in the San Juan area.....this property is the best choice. It is NOT a beach or resort hotel.......but it has a very nice outdoor pool area.......behind the front of the property......nicely landscaped with trees, shrubs, lighting, etc. I would recommend valet parking, if a guest is driving, because the self parking is a bit of a hassle and the difference in price between self parking and valet parking is not prohibitive at all. This property will continue to be my first choice when I'm in San Juan and "staying Hilton".

Room Tip: Use the valet parking for reasons enumerated before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Saludos roycharles,

We wanted to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you when visiting San Juan. We truly understand that to continue our success we must maintain our hotel in optimum condition and ensure outstanding friendly service. I have just requested a complete room’s inspection to immediately attend the quick fix items that you have mentioned. At the beginning of December we started to reupholster all of our in room arm chairs, we should have this completed by the end of January. We are confident that this will help us maintain our sparkle and will continue to implement programs to help upgrade our hotel and maintain our consistency. If I can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,
Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night leisure stay here. I have no major complaints that would hender me from staying here again. I decided on this hotel because it had better reviews than the other Hilton I was looking into.
Location: it is not where "all the action" is, so if you want to be in the center of the hustle and bustle you may opt for another location HOWEVER it is within walking distance to get to any eatery or shopping-within .50 mile.
There is a grocery store right across the street which was really convienent to get basic bottled water and drinks.
The hotel is on a couple of the bus routes which was nice to catch a ride to Old San Juan. If you choose to ride it, the cost is .75 person and you need exact change(no dollars). Good way to get around and see the city too-but only do this if you have time.
Staff: They were friendly and very helpful. No complaints in that department. Anytime I asked for help or towels they were happy to offer assistance.
Room: it was clean and very modern furniture. It had a microwave, hairdryer, mini fridge, etc. One negative(and certainly not a big deal) was the maid left some food and stuff from previous guest...again, not a big deal. Another negative was that the walls were slightly "thin" I could hear the neighbors opening and closing the bathroom doors. They are heavy type material made of glass and they slide. It wasn't enough to keep me up at night. I am also use to sleeping with a "noise fan"-and we didn't have one of those to drown out the noises. Again, these negatives were not bad enough to keep me from staying at this hotel in the future.
We used the fitness center and pool area; both were small but nice-served its purpose.
We ate breakfast there every morning because we had vouchers. It was good. They had eggs, potatoes, fruits, omlets, bread, sausage, bacon, cereal.
One benefit of staying at this hotel is that you get guest priviledges at another hotel and casino. We did spend the day at this other hotel which was located on the beach. They set up an account and link it to the Double tree. We were able to get food, drinks, towels, etc.
We felt safe in the neighborhood and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandfevergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We came to San Juan for a destination wedding and chose to stay here instead of the wedding hotel. We are so glad we did even though we had to walk back and forth to see the other guests for the 5 nights we were here. Rooms were comfortable, service was excellent, and the fresh cookies was always a huge bonus. It was also super convenient to have the 24 hour SuperMax across the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a night pre-cruise. Hotel was very nice overall and quiet. Hotel staff was very friendly; check-in and check-out were a breeze.

I had called down to the hotel a couple of months before inquiring about a kayaking trip and the hotel staff took care of everything, called me back the same day to let me know it had been confirmed. The evening of arrival the excursion company picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.

Rooms are very nice, much more pleasent than I was expecting, I especially liked the fact that the room we had had a large shower and no bathtub. The hotel had Aveda products in our room as well.

The room also had a trundel bed that we needed (think it pulls down out of the wall), I will say that when it is pulled down it does make the room more 'cozy' as there is not alot of floor space.

There was a desk, chair, and flat panel HDTV all in the room. No issue with noise during our stay.

The pool area seemed very nice and clean. The fitness room is located right off the pool and has large glass windows looking onto it.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Preston71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great place to stay on business. I wouldn't recommend for families only because it is in a strange neighborhood. There really isn't much shopping within walking distance.

Although it is only four blocks from the beach, I wouldn't recommend walking unless you are familiar with and comfortable in PR. If you have a car, there's a ton close by. Although the property is not beachfront, as a guest, you have access the beach at any other Hilton property in San Juan.

The parking structure is pretty inconvenient. The entrance in located around the block so it is worth paying for valet.

Gym is clean and has newer equipment. Four solid restaurants close by but all are a bit $$$.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ICUHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I chose this hotel mainly bcos of its reviews & have to say it was all up to the mark. We had a very good experience while we stayed at this hotel for 5 nghts & 6 days.... it's located right in the heart of the city next to the main highway making all places very accessible from here... old san juan is a 5-7 min drive from here & one route is to take the highway, the other one runs parallely right next to the condado beach & there are some great eateries on this road all this makes the drive a good one. There are some good dining option right around the hotel building too.... SILK - an oriental cuisine is right next to the hotel & is very good.... then there is Bebo's cafe which serves good authentic puerto rican food... Apart from that the hotel itself also is very neat with well decorated rooms & well maintained facilities (hot tub, pool etc.) - the parking is a little walk which is very common in San Juan!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing