We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Smoking Allowed" rooms in San Juan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel, pool area and room were gorgeous. We stayed 4 to a room, using the bed and also a Murphy bed. There were no blankets provided for the pullout bed, only 2 chairs on which to sit, and coffee enough for only 2 people. Several requests for ashtrays, towels, coffee, and blankets went ignored for several hours. In a non-smoking country, it was great to find a hotel that still allows smoking, (so you'd think they'd provde ashtrays) but the service was disappointing. Next time, we'll opt for a hotel known for great service and we'll step outside to smoke. Hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoLisaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Hola TorontoLucy,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you we were able to accommodate you with a smoking room. However, I am sorry to read that we did not deliver you the excellence in service that we are known for. I would very much like if you would contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton so we can work on improving in these areas.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,865)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here 2nd week of October for 3 days and had a wonderful stay. Rooms are modern, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The welcoming cookie was definitely a nice touch aside from the excellent customer service! I agree with the previous review about the bathroom flooding from the excess spillage from the shower. But, that did not prevent us from having a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

the guy who checked me in named juan was the only really good part of this place. i booked last minute and spent a little over 200. the computers in the business center are slow and really in need of an update i am a part time writer and was constantly kicked off my own blog and news site until i gave up. the elevators in this hotel are the worst and slowest i have ever experienced. the pool is a joke very cramped and good luck finding your own chaise to lay on i gave up after the 3 whole minutes it took to navigate the pool area. the rooms though small are pretty nice good sheets and pillows and comfortable beds. the bathroom was nice well appointed with nice towels. DO NOT eat at the restaurant in the hotel. the restaurant is really cheesy tables and furniture like that of a college cafeteria if that. food was so so but cheap but if you are looking for haute cuisine go elsewhere. my biggest concern is cleanliness and they cover that part. getting a hotel in san juan is hit or miss if you dont want the ritz make sure you book 4 stars bc the 3 and a half star places are not nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couturecorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We Stayed 8 nights, and had a great experience. The staff was efficient and caring... Very nice room. Bed was comfortable. Very Clean and modern. SO nice to have a 24 hour grocery store next to the hotel. There was always a taxi on standby and it was never more than $20 to get to most places in the area. Busses were easy to ride as well. WILL stay there again. Manager was helpful when we had concerns about arriving in the middle of the night. Room was checked-in and ready to sleep!

Room Tip: Contact the manager early with any concerns
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Saludos KyleK,
It was great to read that you had a great experience with us and that you found our hotel to be very nice and clean. Hopefully your next visit will be soon and we can be of service to you again. If I can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Thanks to all the staff at Doubletree in Puerto Rico, especially to Daiana, Margarita, Antonio, Peter and Juan for making my every visit a memorable one
Cecily Simmonds-Barrett

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed here because at the time it was the #1 rated hotel on TripAdvisor and because we got a very good non-refundable rate on hotels.com. We were staying in San Juan for 3 days before going on a cruise.

The hotel itself is modern and nice with a very comfy bed and lots of pillows. The bathroom has a sliding translucent glass door so there isn't a lot of privacy. And the shower only has a glass wall for half of the stall while the rest is open to the bathroom. Unless you properly place the floor mat next to the shower the bathroom floor will get all wet.

This mainly a business, not tourist, hotel. You'll need to take a car, taxi, or bus to the tourist areas however there are always taxis at the ready--just ask the valet and he'll buzz one over. The closest car rental agency is at the Marriott ($11 cab ride). The on-site restaurant is pricey (again, meant for people on expense accounts) and the breakfast buffet disappointing. The little shop does sell gourmet chocolates though. :-) There is a supermarket across the street and a Subway a block away if you want cheaper food. The rooms have microwaves and fridges.

If I was coming back as a tourist I think I would stay in the more tourist-oriented areas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runchadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed her 5 nights before our cruise. It was fairly small but the staff were welcoming and we got a hot cookie when we booked in. At first I thought I would be disappointed with the location as it is about 10 minutes walk to the beach, but it was so handy for the buses and we did a lot of exploring. Also a great supermarket opposite which was open all night. We went to old San Juan several times and that was very interesting. We got on the ferry not knowing where it went and ended up touring the Bacardi factory which was good. The pool was small but it was never crowded and it and the jacuzzi were open all night. It rained quite a bit but that didn't spoil it. The week on the cruise the weather was brilliant the whole time. It also had a washing machine/dryer by the pool which was good.

Room Tip: Ground floor by the pool looked really good, but were fully booked. It is best to have a room over...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $137 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing