We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Canario by the Lagoon(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$96
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$264
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$322
$259
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveler rating
205
192
104
49
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
192
104
49
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat barsister hotelpuerto ricocloser to the beachold san juanocean parkceiling fanbebo's cafesun deckoutdoor barshort walk to the beachsmall hotelhot tubnice poolbeach towelstwo blocksacacia
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 621 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

This place looks nothing like what’s pictured. It is filthy and run down. Stray cats roam the premises and everything smells like cat urine. I took one look at this place and turned around and found a real hotel to stay at. This place needs to be shut down. It is possibly the worst hotel on the island.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
4  Thank extra0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

This hotel is run by greedy managers and owners that lie to you.
I booked a room online late in the evening based on thinking I had no hotel to stay at the next evening. I found out I did have a room at another hotel so quickly canceled my wind chimes reservation early the next morning.
I was told based on the circumstances that I would be charge a minor fee but would be refunded for most of the $223.45.
Well. they did not honor this statement.
The reason for being in Puerto Rico was to help those effected by the hurricane.
Avoid this hotel like the plague.

Room Tip: find another hotel
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sweatystinkfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo M, Guest Relations Manager at At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sweatystinkfest,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it. We are very honored to have so many guests trying to help Puerto Rico as well as to welcome you at our house. It's very important to learn that reservations made through a third party have specific and usually strict cancellation clauses. To have your issue solved we invite you to contact them and let us assist you in the process. Give us a call or write to us via email to answer your questions. We'll take what you wrote to improve our services. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

My family of 7 slept in a two queen bed room. My kids range from 11-1. There wasn't much space in the rooms nor in the hotel. It is all quite small but I already knew this before we came so that was ok. My kids loved the pool. It is a block away from a beach and 15 minutes from a supermarket and 15 minutes away from restaurants and smaller stores. That's all walking distance. There is no parking for cars here so I wouldn't rent one and go here. We used the public bus to go to old san juan from here. It was 75 cents a person. The only downside to this hotel is that the staff can be sometimes be unfriendly which is strange because most of Puerto rico is quite friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theshu2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo M, Guest Relations Manager at At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Thank you so much for your review and for taking time to provide us with your amazing words. We are glad you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel. Your feedback is the best reminder that our emphasis on outstanding performance is rewarding us with recognition and beautiful energy. Next time to get a bigger room book two double rooms and we will take what you wrote to better our service. Our guests are our priority. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Horrible experience. Rooms do not match the descriptions or pictures online. Staff was rude and not helpful. Bounced around to sister hotels who don’t know what the other is saying. Stay away from this mess.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Glenn II C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo M, Guest Relations Manager at At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Glenn II C,

Thank you for your review. Our guest opinions are very important. We appreciate your feedback and also we would appreciate if its true what is said in your feedback, how to improve our service and assist you. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our stay at Wind Chimes was very convenient to the home of friends we were in San Juan to visit. This property is very cute on the exterior. The rooms are basic and functional. There are beach towels available at the front desk, which is nice since the beach is a 1 block walk. The sister property closer to the beach - Acacia - seems to be a notch above this one. It has a HUGE hot tub with a beautiful view of the ocean & can be used by guests at Wind Chimes. The bistro in Acacia, Niche, has a really nice b’fast/brunch.

The bed linens are fine. The towels are okay - nothing plush. There is no hairdryer in the room - perhaps they’re available, I didn’t ask. If you are leery of bathroom showers in hotels, bring shower shoes - the tile is terra-cotta and it’s hard to tell how clean the shower floors are. They may be very clean, it’s just too dark to see. Our room was very quiet- we could hear no street noise. The power went out for a couple of hours & the staff was quick to start the generator.

A note on booking — my friend in San Juan booked the room. She was told by the hotel to do this on booking.com, which she did. On the website, she chose the option that included a $25 per room/per night voucher for breakfast at Niche. She paid in advance for 4 nights. The day we arrived, she went to pick up our room key since our flight arrived late in the evening. She was told by the front desk that “their information” did not show the breakfast vouchers were included & they would not give her the vouchers even when she showed the confirmation email stating this from booking.com. Later in our stay, I went to the front desk for towels & overheard a staffer telling another guest that the information they had from booking.com did not match the info the hotel had, and there was nothing they could do. Beware that what you book may be changed upon arrival.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank shayandthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews