We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wind Chimes was about a block from the beach which was great, and perfect for a trip with friends. Easy walk or cab to bars and restaurants. The rooms were nothing special, but good for the price in that area. The pool was small but fun to have. We were a large group and the hotel ended up splitting us between this hotel and their sister hotel down the block, which wasn't ideal, but in the end didn't really affect us since they are indeed that close. I'd recommend for friends or couples, not really good for family trips.

Room Tip: We had a suite style room on the second level that included a small seating area outside which was g...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoraMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 598 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here only one night, because it was so bad, and we only wanted to leave. It seemed like we were disturbing the receptionist when we arrived and he were almost to lazy to show us our room - we didn't felt welcome at all. The shower was so bas that it was more easy to just use the sink, the pool is much smaller than the pictures looks like and there is no bar or breakfast area at the hotel - but at another hotel, where it is really expensive and the service is even more slow and lazy. There is so many other places to stay in that area, so there is no reason to even think about visiting this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I found the hotel to be very quaint. It was very cozy and always clean. I had breakfast at their sister hotel which was fresh and tasty. The different people at the front desk were always helpful. It is also about a block away from the beach so definitely in walking distance. The location was near Condado so that was a plus. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about this place... As a solo female traveler I felt very safe! Great Location! I was scheduled to leave on 4-4-14 which was the friday before my bday 4-5-14 I decided to change my flight! I'm from Massachusetts its cold here! So waking up in fabulous puerto rico on my birthday is what i did! All Thanks to the lady at front desk! (I wish I remembered her name) She was so awesome! Let me stay in my original room.. so no check out hassle or moving! Cant remember bartenders name but he was tall dark & very sociable I enjoyed the bar whenever he was there... Second time in Pr & I had a great time! I also like to say the hotel was very quiet & i liked that! Even though it was my birthday I wanted to just read, relax & eat! ;-)

Room Tip: I was in room 108 first floor bar, lobby. pool, door to exit hotel all right in front of me... I was...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 143,455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The parking at the hotel is limited to three spaces. We were leaving very early (4 AM) and I wasn't at all happy about parking on the street a few blocks away. Calvin responded compassionately and put us in the parking lot, and generally helped above and beyond the call of duty. I expect people who deal with tourists to be burned out- not here! Or elsewhere in Puerto Rico, for that matter.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank NMWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This boutique hotel was charming and impeccably clean. The A/C units are all new and modern. A plus in San Juan for sure.

The biggest problem I have is with the tricky parking. There is only room for about 3 vehicles, so don't fail to get a reservation for parking at the time you book the room. Even with 3 cars. getting in and out of the tiny lot is tricky.

I must also point out that, on the booking web site I used, booking.com, the parking rate is $10 per day. In reality, it is $15 per day. Just sayin'.

Room Tip: Don;t accept the rooms in the tiny alley in the back (for ex room 113). They are so dark, they might...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived loaded with 2 heavy suitcases to encounter two old houses surrounded by a wall with
entry only allowed by getting buzzed in through wall door. Immediately one must climb several
stairs to get entry into front house......not easy with yard man continuing to water the stairs and yard. Front desk clerk, female, very pleasant which we did not find with the other desk clerks, all
male. Our room, walk through front house, across yard, behind second house, much on narrow
uneven walkways. The room, needs updating, furniture early flea market, basically clean, dark
like being in a cave. Location of room was facing the bar with loud TV . No food available on the premises. Neighborhood....across street 3 large old houses abandoned.

Beach one block away. Supermarket (Supermax, well supplied) about 4 blocks away. Small
swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gypsytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
637 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
821 reviews
3.6 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $87 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing