We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of South Beach in Miami. Quirky but well done and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reminds me of South Beach in Miami. Quirky but well done and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A surprisingly complete little place with its own pool and cute bar. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. Beach was just a short block away, great for a morning run and swim. A good value for the money compared to the big impersonal hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OjaiRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    169
    97
    47
    52
See reviews for
57
211
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and 2 kids stayed in this hotel earlier this month. The hotel is located in a relatively safe and trendy area of San Juan, Puerto Rico. We had a rental car. As we pulled up to unload, we had to unload very quickly because the main entrance to the hotel faces a high traffic street and there is no place to park the car, we had to drive onto the sidewalk just to unload our suitcases.
The hotel itself has virtually no parking - maybe 4 spaces, so forget about feeling as though your car is safe. We had called a couple of days prior to arrival and the receptionist was rather rude in telling us that we should just find parking on the street and that this is easy to find. When we asked him about how safe it is to park in the area, he proceeded to tell us that he couldn't control what goes on in the surrounding area. We did find parking about 2 blocks away from the hotel in a dark street. Luckily, the car ended up being Ok. The clerk who checked us in on arrival initially offered to give us his parking spot on the street next to the hotel when his shift ended, told my husband to be at the main desk at 10:30 p.m. but left early without waiting for my husband or having the courtesy to call our room.
The room itself was nicely appointed but small, with just an end table on which a lamp took up most of the space. Not much room to set our suitcases. The bathroom was tiny, not convenient for helping the children get ready for their showers. In the morning, we found that the windows were not tightly shut and there were no screens - luckily no mosquitoes or other bugs got in the room. That morning we also were awakened by inconsiderate staff who were talking very loudly just outside our room. The hotel staff did take the effort to leave an envelope on the night table reminding us that "housekeeping makes a great effort to keep our room clean and safe, and that tips were appreciated" - the same staff that awoke us at 7:30 in the morning. We normally make an effort to tip the housekeeping crew at all hotels, but resented the fact that they were asking us to tip for a service that is expected as part of the hotel stay. The hotel room locks don't have electronic keys, rather traditional metal keys, and we had to sign a paper telling us that for lost keys there was a $150 charge.
We booked the hotel through an online booking engine. When we examined the hotel bill - to add insult to injury - we realized they had charged us $171 for "taxes and hotel fees" (for a 2-night stay); by then it was too late to cancel the reservation. When I asked the hotel clerk on checkout about the charges he said it was all from the online booking place. When I called the online booking place, they revealed that the hotel charges $62.50 per night for additional "adults" in the room, even though we clearly listed "2 adults and 2 children" when we made the reservation. The online booking place was understanding of the situation and extended us a refund to cover this unreasonable charge. Otherwise, the hotel would have cost close to $400 for 2 nights with NO PARKING. Maybe this hotel is well suited for couples who arrive with NO children and NO vehicle. For families, it was not worth it. After spending a week in Puerto Rico, we came back to San Juan and we stayed at another hotel that we thought was a much better value - just about 4 blocks from this hotel - with much bigger rooms and available covered and secure parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a 1950 look from back on the day. Refreshing and very relaxing place to stay. Close to everything. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by. We will definitely go back soon. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel through a time share reward, Spirit Incentives I believe. We were there Sunday - Thursday. We had a nice room upstairs that had windows to the courtyard (sun deck) and to the street. We never had noise issues, just the sounds of the city. This is NOT on a major intersection like said in other reviews. My husband and I walked from the hotel (Ocean Park area) to Condado (only about 1/4 mile to separate the two) to get to many options for food/shopping. We took the Bus to old San Juan once and took the cab the other time, I would suggest taking the bus if you're not on time restraints, it's MUCH cheaper ($0.75 each way) versus a $20 cab ride, and it's less than 5 miles. The beach is a 3 minute slow walk, less than a 1/4 mile away and it's wonderful. I also went for a run along McLeary Ave while I was there and felt very safe, I must have passed about 100 other runners around 5pm.
There's a small famous bakery just down the street from this hotel (away from Condado) that was really good, and the street behind the hotel has many smaller restaurants to choose from, they had a block party/festival there while we were staying, it was fun!

The staff were all great! Didn't drink at the bar, but the bartender was very nice/polite.

The room: we did have a nice clean room, the TV/Cable had some issues occasionally, but nothing that a little patience didn't fix, and one time the water completely stopped working for about 10 minutes, just a little inconvenient, but i doubt those things would be an ongoing issue for anyone else thinking about staying there.

I would suggest this hotel as a nice, more quiet but still prime location for someone who doesn't mind getting a little exercise during their trip. Really, just walking around the streets helps you get a feel for what San Juan is really like.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool/sun deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great tropical experience! I wanted to surprise my partner with a great Puerto Rico experience and i sure got it. I booked this hotel through hotwire and sure didn't know what i was getting myself into. I must say i don't regret it. From the decorations, to the room, to the pool, hot tub, coqui, bar, etc.. Everything was great! I wish i can get into details, but its too much to write! Thank you Wind Chimes Inn!! I will spread the word out :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo053184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Windchimes was incredible! It has the feel of a small villa in Europe and is absolutely charming. The experience is very personal and provides for a genuine experience. If you are looking for a small B&B type of place, this is it!!!! Get to know the folks that work there- they will bend over backwards for you. Excellent place, would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place right when I walked up. From the lovely man at the front who carried our luggage in and to our rooms, to the cute pool and outside entrance to our room. Great price and is located right by the beach!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BareFootBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#28 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#29 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#16 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing