We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
294 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a 1950 look from back on the day. Refreshing and very relaxing place to stay. Close to everything. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by. We will definitely go back soon. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    184
    100
    48
    58
See reviews for
67
227
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel through a time share reward, Spirit Incentives I believe. We were there Sunday - Thursday. We had a nice room upstairs that had windows to the courtyard (sun deck) and to the street. We never had noise issues, just the sounds of the city. This is NOT on a major intersection like said in other reviews. My husband and I walked from the hotel (Ocean Park area) to Condado (only about 1/4 mile to separate the two) to get to many options for food/shopping. We took the Bus to old San Juan once and took the cab the other time, I would suggest taking the bus if you're not on time restraints, it's MUCH cheaper ($0.75 each way) versus a $20 cab ride, and it's less than 5 miles. The beach is a 3 minute slow walk, less than a 1/4 mile away and it's wonderful. I also went for a run along McLeary Ave while I was there and felt very safe, I must have passed about 100 other runners around 5pm.
There's a small famous bakery just down the street from this hotel (away from Condado) that was really good, and the street behind the hotel has many smaller restaurants to choose from, they had a block party/festival there while we were staying, it was fun!

The staff were all great! Didn't drink at the bar, but the bartender was very nice/polite.

The room: we did have a nice clean room, the TV/Cable had some issues occasionally, but nothing that a little patience didn't fix, and one time the water completely stopped working for about 10 minutes, just a little inconvenient, but i doubt those things would be an ongoing issue for anyone else thinking about staying there.

I would suggest this hotel as a nice, more quiet but still prime location for someone who doesn't mind getting a little exercise during their trip. Really, just walking around the streets helps you get a feel for what San Juan is really like.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool/sun deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great tropical experience! I wanted to surprise my partner with a great Puerto Rico experience and i sure got it. I booked this hotel through hotwire and sure didn't know what i was getting myself into. I must say i don't regret it. From the decorations, to the room, to the pool, hot tub, coqui, bar, etc.. Everything was great! I wish i can get into details, but its too much to write! Thank you Wind Chimes Inn!! I will spread the word out :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo053184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Windchimes was incredible! It has the feel of a small villa in Europe and is absolutely charming. The experience is very personal and provides for a genuine experience. If you are looking for a small B&B type of place, this is it!!!! Get to know the folks that work there- they will bend over backwards for you. Excellent place, would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place right when I walked up. From the lovely man at the front who carried our luggage in and to our rooms, to the cute pool and outside entrance to our room. Great price and is located right by the beach!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BareFootBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean, the venue is nicely decorated, with a very strong island/Spanish feel.
The site is very clean and I just adored their spoiled rotten pet cat that followed me in, sniffed around, made himself comfortable on my bed and took a nap! Cat lovers heaven.
The staff is cordial and friendly. Just a block from the beach, I would stay in this adorable place again.

The only pet peeve is the lack of parking. But you can park on the street. It is a first come, first serve and you may end up walking several blocks to your car.

Room Tip: I stayed on the entrance level, the same level where the pool is. I loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My son booked this on some sort of time share gimmick. What a great surprise! I like staying in a historic place, rather than a chain hotel. There must have been some confusion on the reservation, and they changed the room when they found out there were 3 of us, without us asking. (My son did pay for the additional person). The room was clean, the ac worked fine. The staff were ALL very friendly and accomodating. From restaurant suggestions nearby, to assistance on choosing a bio bay tour, to information on the history of the Inn, to help in parking issues. The pool was so beautiful, I was only sad we did not have time to swim - we had to cut our trip short due to a tropical storm.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, but only an occasional big truck caused noise. The room was very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowgirlAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing