We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in area with less western influences.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in area with less western influences.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recieved this trip as a "gift" from spirit incentives. Everyone thought we were a little crazy to be staying at a hotel with only 28 rooms, in the middle of san jaun, but i wouldnt have had it any other Way! The beach is less than one block away, walking distance to shopping and restuarants, and only a short car ride to the city. The barbon the property wasnt open during out 5 day stay so i would check to see the hours of the bar but itbdidnt bother me enought to complain. The pool wascute and big enough to do some easy laps. We had an inside room, closest to the office so it was pretty quiet. Im not sure about the room located outside, but for being on a major intersection the hotel was peacfull. Stay was wonderful, all questions and concerns were addressed, so dont be afraid to ask questions. I would recommend this hotel for a couple, young and old who are trying to recieve more from their vacation than just drunken nights at the bars or beaches. I would recommend renting a car because taxis can become expensiveand the drivers are so so. Its in the neighborhood of condando, which really come alive a night, so i felt comforable taking strolls on the beach at 9 sometimes 10 pm, also rumor has it Thats its known as being the "gayborhood" which didnt bother us, but just inside tip for those who may be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaShell I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    170
    98
    47
    56
See reviews for
62
213
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice botique hotel. Beautiful soak pool. Nice quaint rooms. Perfect San Juan stay. Small tiled rooms just like all of the hotels in condado. Very nice staff. Easy to find. Hard to find a place to park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

In December I reserved a room for 2 nights. Also, I was assured that We would get a room in quieter section of the hotel. When we showed up in late February they had no room for us. The clerk couldn't reach the owner - the solution was for the clerk to lead us with our bags down a dark side street to another place. The room there was good. We liked it. We wished to stay there for our second night. That was refused. The best they'd do for us was to promise to have our bags rolled back to Wind Chimes that afternoon. This really stunk. It left us feeling worried about our stuff. We went out for the day, came back found our stuff intact BUT in a front room right above a noisy boulevard --that night we heard many loud jeeps and convertibles roaring by blaring their music.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needarest67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was a little worried when I read some of the reviews that said the hotel was little more than a hostel in a seedy area of town. I did not find this to be true. Yes, the rooms are small, and it has a campy kind of feel to it. But we enjoyed it so much more than our stay at the Sheraton, which was generic and so removed from the Puerto Rican experience.

We walked up Ashford Street one day to Pinky's, where we had a terrific breakfast. Then we walked down to Kasalta's for another local eating establishment favorite. http://browsingtheatlas.com

The hotel was charming and we enjoyed our stay. We'll stay again if we go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowsingtheAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This review is a bit late as we stayed four nights in February 2013. First I must say I read a few reviews from people who visited after we did & wonder if they were at the same quaint place as my husband & me. The front desk staff was wonderful (morning coffee in the lobby, excursions arranged, directions given, towels, etc & we experienced 4 front (very nice) desk people during our stay & the owner I believe even assisted us to the max when we had to depart via cab at 5 in the morning. The hotel is right on a bus route---75 cents gets U into town in 15 minutes!! We saw foot patrol officers just down a few blocks from the hotel & elsewhere--felt quite safe at night as well as day. Staying here you do feel like U are in a room which was once a part of a grand home in SJ. We loved the location to beach, bars ---a bit up the street maybe 15 minutes walk or so 7 authentic restaurants quite nearby!! Cool little tiki bar & refreshing dipping pool. The room we had was on the first floor just across from the entrance into the Lobby across the small courtyard & it was fine & clean!! Would return in a heartbeat!! Thanks Wind Chimes. Rose & Brian

Room Tip: The hotel was full when we were there but I do think a deluxe room would've been nice, however w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's very quiet and cozy the pool was awesome. Walking distance to many amenities such as Walgreens, restaurants n Deli's. if you are looking for a true Puerto Rico experience this is it! It's is away from isla verde which is jam with tourist. This hotel iis Condado and u see regular everyday life in Puerto Rico. I had a very nice stay the front desk guy was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ometa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Pool is nice if you want to refresh from your long flights.

Good jumping off point for most of what PR has to offer.

Quizzical as to why the front desk customer service (owner?) is awful when the rest of the staff offers above-level service.

Unless you are familiar with central/south American accommodations, you will find the musty smell and roaches off-putting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
3.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#28 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#19 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing