We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Pool is nice if you want to refresh from your long flights.

Good jumping off point for most of what PR has to offer.

Quizzical as to why the front desk customer service (owner?) is awful when the rest of the staff offers above-level service.

Unless you are familiar with central/south American accommodations, you will find the musty smell and roaches off-putting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    173
    98
    47
    56
See reviews for
63
216
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My new wife and I and my parents stayed here on 3/10/13-3/11/13. The Inn was situated two blocks from the beach and that’s the only plus. Other than that it was in in a crime area about 2 blocks from the inn. The pictures on the website were not at all what it looked like. My wife and I stayed in room 102 which was just outside the main door and also at the check in desk. You could hear every word/noise up to about midnight then at 6am the fun really started with the banging around and loud talking. Our door was paper thin and so were the walls. NO bath tub just a shower stall….My parent’s room was even worse. Their room smells so musty and mildewed that you could hardly stand it. My dad said the faucet was falling off of the sink, TV didn’t work at all and ceiling fan rattled all night. For my 78 yo parents, they didn’t need a place like this to stay. We paid $125 per night which I wouldn’t have given $40 for. Do NOT stay at this Inn. Awful place…..

Room Tip: There is none...Dont stay here.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

los angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is very pretty and our room was large but very little else to recommend it.
It is around a curve on a very busy street, the problem is that there is nowhere to pull in if you are driving. The next problem we had was finding someone to let us in. We waited about 10 minutes before someone (the gardener holding a sprayer with bug spray) opened the courtyard door. There was no one at the desk. Then 3 housekeepers and another gardener (holding a gas mask for spraying) were all very nice and hurried trying to find someone to help us. We waited about 25 minutes before someone showed (this was at 3:00, an hour after check in time, so one would think that some one should be there). The desk clerk was efficient but no apology for our 35 minutes of trying to get into the hotel and find a clerk. She was also very nice when she corrected over charging us when I pointed it out. She was also nice telling us that parking was not available although we had requested it with our reservations. Our room was a large room below a lovely deck, next to the pool equipment and the door is just across from the laundry. So the smell of fabric softener plus the lingering bug spray smell and the not-pleasant constant hum of the little pool waterfall made for a very unpleasant stay.

It is not near town but we knew that so can't complain,and there are a few local restaurants and a supermarket in walking distance. But there is no benefit in staying here especially when you are given the dungeon room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zappp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Of course, the price we paid is reasonable for a hotel in that region of San Juan, but we at least expected a clean room. The bathroom is really disgusting and everywhere we looked we found black hairs, even in the bed... quite strange as we are both blond. We had a room on the ground floor, which was very noisy and also very dark. To end with a positive note: some staff members are quite friendly (others are extremely the opposite) and the region is nice and safe. However, two blocks further away from Condado, I wouldn't feel safe at night... So ask very good which directions to go and which not to go...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking at this hotel as an option then I suspect you have realised that hotels in SJ are not cheap. Having read the previous reviews and now having stayed for 4 nights I would say that I was happy with my choice. Overall this hotel is good value for money as long as you realise that it is a 10 minute walk to any bars/restaurants in Condado and that the pool is small and really just a dipping pool with 2 or 3 sun loungers. I actually was not overly impressed with SJ as a city and decided to spend a day on the island of Culebra which I HIGHLY recommend if you want to laze on an amazing beach for the day, if at all possible though bring some food with you as the choice there is not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thughes500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just got back from a five day trip in San Juan. On the plus side: the location was in a nice residential neighborhood called Ocean Park with an uncrowded beach and numerous restaurants nearby, especially in the adjacent Condado district. The place is charming with courtyards, a deck and a pool. Staff was nice and helpful. On the minus side: the room had a musty smell and needed a good airing out. Could use a paint job too. Price was way too expensive.

Room Tip: Find a room that has adequate vetnilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hungaryvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a very low price ,and did not expect much. The outside and security to get in was really good.
A really nice and effective welcome met us in reception. Furniture and decor was very tasteful, everything was clean and fresh, there is a small pool and a nice little garden. Breakfast is at a sister hotel just nearby.
Our room was not big but enough for us two, with a big and comfortable bed. This hotel is a nice surprice.
Beach is 5 min walk away, the neighbourhood is of the better kind. To go to old town or to central San Juan, the buses run
Just a few minutes walk away, nr 21 or 53. Have 75 cents in coins, no bills.
All in all, if we come back to San Juan ,this will be the hotel we will try to book first.
Raimo/ Kristin

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Raimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing