We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, limited parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Washington, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, limited parking”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us. Great rates and a great location. The meditteranean theme was ideal as well. The rooms were beautiful, they had a swimming pool and a bar. The only problem with this hotel was that they only had 4 parking spaces and unless you reserved one with your room reservation or you had incredible luck, you were going to be parking wherever you could find a place within a few blocks. Don't be discouraged though. You are a block from the beach and its pretty quiet except for the traffic. We enjoyed ourselves while we stayed here.

Room Tip: The hotel will let you have beach towels to take with you as long as you sign for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    187
    100
    48
    59
See reviews for
67
227
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We took a cruise from San Juan, and spent a few days before and after the cruise in Puerto Rico. At Wind Chimes got quite a few good reviews, and we spent two nights at the end of our trip there. I would note that although I booked a luxury king room, the first room we were given was a small queen, which was quite dark. When I complained to reception, and showed them my confirmation from Orbitz, they readily gave us a great room, with out own little table and chairs and an airy king room.
They did not have breakfast at this hotel, referring us to their sister hotel a block away. There were some interesting restaurants within walking distance, including an excellent coffee shop with homemade juices and great cappucino. The hotel bar was never open, although it looked like a good place to wind down (and listen to the numerous wind chimes).
At Wind Chimes is a block and a half from a good beach, where you can rent chairs; we enjoyed body surfing on a sparsely populated beach. The water was clear and pretty much seaweed-free.
I wish At Wind Chimes was right on the beach, that it provided breakfast, and that the bar was open. We enjoyed our stay here , maybe because our expectations were not terribly high. We found that great coffee shop, a pizza place where they bake the pizza in cones (delicious!), a local restaurant with a huge menu, including a lot of Puerto Rican specialties, and a deli a mile or so away, where we had awesome sandwiches (this is the deli where President Obama ate when he visited Puerto Rico a couple of years ago).
The night receptionist was extremely helpful and went out of his way to get us a cab in the wee hours of the morning, and helped us print our boarding passes. He is a definite asset to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjjmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We reached the hotel excited to hit the beach only to be told that they couldn’t find our reservation. We were left waiting while the reception checked in another guest and handled innumerable calls. We had a confirmation from Orbitz and were finally told that the hotel was overbooked and they needed to move us to another hotel. The reception blamed Orbitz entirely for the mixup but we called Orbitz and they were very surprised at this.

In the end we were offered an "upgrade" to a king room and "free breakfast" at the El Canario Inn which was an awful experience. While the hotel staff at the El Canario Inn were friendly and helpful, the room itself wasn’t up to the mark but that is not the purpose of this review. The "free breakfast" was also a joke and we ended up having our breakfast elsewhere during our stay.

I book my hotels after considerable research on location and reviews of other travelers and was very unhappy with the other hotel that we were moved to. More importantly, we were frustrated with the wait at the Wind Chimes Inn and then having to waste more time taking our luggage to another hotel. I’m not sure whose telling the truth but the bottom line is that we spent a lot of money on coming to Puerto Rico and our vacation in Condado got off to a horrible start!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Axl_Globe_Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked at the Acacia "boutique hotel" and received our confirmation online. We even received a confirmation notice a few days before our arrival that told us there was no need to call to confirm our reservation...everything was set.

We arrived at the Acacia and were told that our reservation was not there and we had to wait to speak to another woman who was on the phone. After about 15-20 minutes, we finally were able to speak with the other woman who informed us that they didn't have a room for us and we would have to go to their "sister hotel" - Wind Chimes. We carried all our heavy bags a block down the street and then waited again to check in.

We had been told at Acacia that we were being "upgraded" to a suite at no additional charge. Our "suite" did have an additional small living room type area with futon and a mini fridge and microwave, however neither the the microwave nor the fridge worked.

The hotel was adequate and the front desk people and cleaning staff were helpful and friendly. There is definitely some charm to the hotel as well...not a sterile corporate type feel at all. And there is a very cute and friendly kitty that hangs out in the hotel. However, based on the reviews I have now read on Trip Advisor this little bait and switch move of overbooking and moving people back and forth between the hotels seems to be common...and to me, this is just not an okay business practice. It is also worth noting that some people who were trying to check in ahead of us at Wind Chimes were told that there were no rooms available - even though they had an online confirmation.

The hotel is in Ocean Park, which is a nice neighborhood, but extremely residential. It is very short walk to the beach, but you do have to walk 10-15 minutes to reach any type of store or restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Coming from a 5-star resort in Cancun, this was a tough adjustment. However, if you level-set your expectations appropriately, this was a great place to stay.

We booked through hotels.com at Casa del Caribe, but when we arrived the owners said they were overbooked and had moved us to the At Windchimes Inn - ~20 min walk from the middle of Condado, which was were we really had wanted to be.

However, they upgraded our rooms to a king with futon, which was nice. They have another sister hotel, the Acacia about 1 block away, which you have access to with the room key. We didn't take advantage of it, but they have a hot tub.

The bar at the Inn was fun but only appeared to run every other night, with the alternating nights at the Acacia down the street.

Overall, the place was quite nice, clean, quiet and had unique architecture because it is a converted hacienda.

The staff were friendly and helpful - they even recommended an awesome snorkeling/booze cruise that we took and were NOT disappointed.

The ONLY down side really was the location. It's located in a fairly residential area that backs up to a not nice neighborhood. The visible police presence made us feel comfortable that we were safe walking along Avenida McCleary to Condado's more happening areas, but we were told by locals to avoid Calle Loiza (nearby) where the projects are located and where muggings are a regular occurrence. Be sure to keep your money separated and have a some cash on your person to hand over - just in case, according to the police.

That said, At Wind Chimes was a perfectly comfortable location and fairly good value for money given its amenities and location.

Room Tip: stay away from room 111 if you can since it is right next to the bar. Rooms on the second floor in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhanifen1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were originally booked ta the Acacia Boutique Hotel, 1/2 block closer to the beach, but a problem with the room made them move us. This made us leery of a bait and switch move (since I had gotten an incredibly good deal through booking.com) but we were given a larger room with 2 double beds, A/C and lots of light (which was great since we had left NY during Sandy and had no power). They have a small pool which was wonderful int the afternoons. The nearby beach was wonderful. Clean, swimmable and not that crowded even on the weekend.

The staff was wonderful and helpful.

We were walking distance to downtown Condado which has lots of restaurants to choose from. The staff warned us to be careful because of recent robberies in the area but we found that being from NY, we were careful and comfortable. Taxis were also reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeDana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in April of 2011. When we got here we were amazing at how quaint is was and how nice the pool looked. Our room was very beautiful and alot of light came into it. The balcony was amazing! The beds were comfortable and the fridge and microwave worked. There was tile floor and the hotel has a Spanish feel to it. The WI-FI was spotty, it worked in the lobby and in the Boat Bar, but not in the room. We were thrilled to find out the beautiful beach was 1 block away. Overall, this is a wonderful hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#31 of 47 in San Juan
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#19 of 47 in San Juan
816 reviews
3.6 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 47 in San Juan
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing