We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and quaint but lacking amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cute and quaint but lacking amenities”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Cute hotel, close to the beach. The rooms and bathrooms are very small but nicely decorated and clean. The front desk is not always manned - you have to go down the street to the "sister hotel" for anything after hours. Also when I was there the bar was closed, and no food was being served at the hotel - again they refer you down the street to the sister hotel. The sister hotel was much nicer big jug of spa water on the front desk, and tasty upscale restaurant. I definitely felt like I was staying with the B-team...but it was reasonably priced, the staff was very nice - also had computer problems checking out, but...close to airport and very open beach. I would recommend - but shop around you can get rooms for $65/nt

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    184
    100
    48
    58
See reviews for
67
227
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I got a free 4 night stay at this hotel, so we stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. It was so charming! The rooms were quaint and cozy. I loved the bar that is available to the guests. The front staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was just a few blocks from a beautiful beach! My husband felt the room was a bit to small but for as little time as we spent there I thought it was perfect. The wifi didn't work in our room but it worked great in the lobby and out by the pool. I gave it a 4 on cleanliness because of the dust bunnies on the top of pictures, lamps, and furniture that my husband noticed (I'm apparently not that observant). The sheets, toilets, and showers were very clean. The flowers in the courtyard was beautiful! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caraboo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

MY partner and I needed a little get away and we chose this place based on a friend's recommendation. We are used to staying in Bed & Breakfast type accommodations and this was more hotel-like so it didnt meet our expectations regarding personalized service. Most of the desk staff was nonchalant and not especially friendly. The rooms were classic Caribbean with spartan furnishings and not up to US mainland standards for cleanliness...especially B & B standards of cleanliness.

Loved being at the pool. It was a nice haven after being out in the hot PR weather all day. The "sister" hotel which was a block away had a huge hot tub available to Wind Chime guests. It was fun.

There is supposedly a happy hour at the bar. We check several times while we were there at the designated time and no one was manning the bar. Not a critical thing.. but they shouldn't promote it.

While some people would find this an okay place and we would consider it again, I believe we would likely try another accommodation before returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJEinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here with my Wife for 4 nights. Hotel was recommended by my Aunt, who had stayed here before.
A cab ride from the SJU airport was $18.50 (plus tip). The taxi stand gives you a quote up front based on that "Zone" you are going to and how much luggage you have, so there are no surprises when you get there. (We also took a cab to Old San Juan one day which was about $15 each way).
We were greeted at the front door and there were no problems at check-in. The front desk clerk even carried our bags up to our room.
The room was on the 2nd floor of the main building. It had a private entry to a large balcony which led to our room. The room itself was ok, the word "charming" comes to mind. A queen bed, small table & chairs, large dresser, nice 19" LCD tv with cable, air conditioning (and a ceiling fan). The bathroom has a shower only. (and a hair-dryer which died while we were there). My only complaint was there were little ants that found their way in and for some reason liked the small table top. Housekeeping was always quick to replace towels and make up the bed (I don't think they actually cleaned, other than taking the trash out).
The hotel is 2 blocks from a fairly secluded beach, which was nice. Not alot of people. Occasionally a man selling beer and water for $1 passes you on the beach. The water was a little murky and rough due to some thunderstorms.
The pool is small but very nice. The pool area itself is tiny and can only accommodate 2 lounge chairs. There is a deck area overlooking the pool that has another 2 lounge chairs.
There is a bar (themed after a ship) hidden all the way in the back of the hotel. It was closed the first night but open the next. Reasonably priced drinks for a hotel bar and the bartender was super nice.
We were told the hotel had about 27 rooms. The overall facility seemed to small to accommodate a full house.
Overall we enjoyed it, but after the 3rd night we were ready to leave.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 120 has a huge private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robadabadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Normally my husband and I would book at a larger resort when travelling, so we didn't really know what to expect. I can honestly tell you that we were so very comfortable at this inn. It was small. There was no restaurant at the inn, but one 1/2 block down at their sister inn. We visited both places and were treated very kindly. Our room was clean. The air conditioning was very comfortable. We felt like we were at home! The staff was great, very helpful in getting us where we needed to go. Thanks Ed for all your help. San Juan was a great place to vacation. Everyone was very helpful. We found the bus for transportation. It was cheap! 75 cents. We used taxis when we needed to, but we felt very comfortable and safe walking around town. One day we went to the island of Culebra - the most awesome beach I have ever seen. It's a must. We would most definitely stay At Wind Chimes again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We picked this hotel because it was close to San Jorge Children’s Hospital where a family member is being treated. When booking on-line, I didn’t realize that we were supposed to ask for parking in addition to the room reservation. So make sure that you write in the comments if you need parking or you will be forced to find parking on the street (which is hard to find). But once we got past the parking issue, everything was wonderful. The woman at the front desk was super nice and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The bathroom was big enough. The shower stall was nice. Of course, as with almost every hotel in Puerto Rico, the water pressure was lacking. The young lady bartending at the Boat Bar was very friendly. She made us some interesting tropical drinks which we enjoyed very much. We had a pizza ordered from the hotels sister hotel/restaurant, to the boat Bar and it was very tasty also. The pool was well maintained and very pretty. The common areas are very cute too! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We loved this hotel. Staff was helpful and knowledgable. Short walk to big hotel strip. Beautiful pool and bar!!!! Would stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing