We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here for ANY Reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We were only supposed to have a short layover in San Juan between the BVI and home but after our flight was cancelled, we were stuck for the night so we decided to stay at a nice hotel and enjoy San Juan....wrong hotel for that!
We requested a non-smoking, "best available" room via [--]. Upon check-in, we were taken to a room that absolutely stank of cigarette smoke as soon as we opened the door. We thought, ok, maybe this is all they had. Then, I look up and notice the light fixture had no cover-just a bulb and from there, I see the mold on the walls and ceiling! No wonder the room smelled so bad. We called the front desk and were taken to a much better, larger, non-smoking room, which is what we booked in the first place!
Before dinner, I decided to iron a white skirt with the iron/ironing board provided...another mistake! As soon as I touched the iron to my skirt, thick black goo leaked out onto it. After THREE calls to housekeeping, someone finally answered promising to come to our room in 5 minutes...45 minutes later, we gave up and went to dinner. Again, eating dinner at the hotel was a big mistake, my husband's fish was inedible and my calamari could easily have come from the freezer isle at anybody's local discount grocier!
As if our short stay hadn't already been horrible enough, when it was time to check out, they tried to charge us for the room (which we had booked and paid for through [--]). We asked for a taxi to the airport-which we had a voucher for-and they tried to make us pay for a transfer to the airport instead!
They only decent part of our stay was the Housekeeping Manager, who, after complaining about the iron and lack of service the night before, took my skirt and promised to send it back to me after it had been cleaned. I doubted it would happen, but it was ruined at it was, anyway. You wouldn't believe my surprise when it actually arrived a week later, good as new-the only good part of the experience, which actually shouldn't have been necessary anyway.
Oh, and by the way, a month later when the AMEX bill arrived, they had charged our card for the night! We weren't surprised, but at least AMEX took care of it for us.
The best advice I have, just don't stay here...NO MATTER WHAT.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SJ*HL*S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2007

The property was in a good location, we had rented a car with a GPS that could not find the hotel because in the GPS the street is spelled one way and on the hotel information it was spelled another. We thought we had reserved a room with a view, called ahead and were assured that the room had a view... well it was a view of another room. The hotel is triangular and the inside rooms face each other... so no view of the city. The bed was supposedly a sweet sleeper, which are usually wonderful, this one was hard as a rock, when I asked about some padding, I was mocked! But eventually got a couple extra blankets to pad it myself. The people at the desk were so curt, it was bordering rude. I was amazed, we have stayed at Sheraton Hotels all over the place and have never been anything but more than satisfied.

The room itself, was very clean as was the entire hotel, but that is all that was good.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank soberlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton 3 nights. I wanted to be close to shopping and we were. There was not a lot of extras at this hotel, but for $109 a night through Hotwire compared to $280 a night, it worked. The room was clean, we did'nt really have a view of anything, but that was not a big deal for us. The hotel food was expensive you would be better off walking around which we did and we found alot of places to eat nearby. The pool was small, but we did find 2 beaches nearby. We were in walking distance of many retail stores and had the chance to see the cruise ships dock which was nice. We took the trolley which was free around Old San Juan and to the El Morro Fort. We took a taxi to the beach and discovered it would be better to rent a car so that we could go back and forth when we wanted. The parking near the hotel was scarce but at least one night we were able to find a spot on the street. The other night we parked for $12.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

March 18, 2007 San Juan, Puerto Rico. After leaving our ship at 9:00 a.m. we traveled into San Juan by taxi .(no complimentary shuttle) We asked to check in early but were told that there was no early check-in and would have to wait until 3:00 p.m. We asked for a front facing room at 9:00 a.m. and were told that they would work on it. After a tour around the city and the waterfront, we checked back at the hotel around noontime and were told the rooms still were not ready. After trying to manuver our way around approximately 60 to 70 bags in the front desk area, we again walked down by the waterfront and shops. Finally, we were able to obtain our room (no front facing room-side facing room of a parking lot) at 2:00p.m. Upon entering our room (#431) we noticed that were stains in two corners of the ceilings, the front moulding on the bureau was torn away, and the windows were filthy. I have pictures to prove all of my allegations. I will make sure that the proper people at Starwoodhear what I have to say with a letter and copys of the pictures. I know that you will probably not let this review be put online, but maybe, just maybe, someone in the old San Juan Sheraton might do something to correct these glaring problems in this room so someone else does not have a bad experience like we did. The cost of the room does not justify the value of the room. The overall experience in San Juan was not a good one, and we will not visit this island again. Harry Mutter and Patricia Mckinnon

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank homerunhitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

I spent the 1st two days of an 8-day circumnavigation of Puerto Rico at the Sheraton. It is a standard chain hotel with no bells or whistles. It is geared specifically for cruise ship travelers who will only spend 1 or 2 nights there. The restaurant offers a pale imitation of local food so as not to offend the lame palates of the cruise people. It is unique that its location offers you a view of the Castille San Cristobal instead of the overly touristy El Morro. It's location so close to the restaurant area of Calles Fortaleza, Recinto Sur & Tetuan allows one to get out & enjoy the variety of food that the country has to offer. The casino is too small & don't expect the common "comps" that you receive at other hotel/casino locations. All in all, a decent place to stay when you need to overnight before or after a cruise or flight but a shameful place to stay if you have more than 48 hours in the country -- there is much more to see in the country than Old San Juan.

Stayed: December 2006
7  Thank SN1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

The Sheraton Old San Juan has good and bad aspects. The view is good... if you have a waterfront room. Our room was facing a parking lot. Oh well. The casino is large and the bartenders, bellmen, and Desk people are very nice. The valet parking was also nice. The hotel is very close to el morro and all of the restaurants downtown. It is also close to the ferry. It is not too far away from anything, and it is easy to get to from the airport.The concierge was helpful in getting me a tee time. And the pool on the roof had a nice view of the cruise ship docks. We didnt eat in the hotel, so i cant say whether the food was good or not. The room was nice and clean, and newly renevated. The bed was clean and it was very comfy as well.For the price however, you could stay at another hotel and save your money on duty free, restaurants or casinos.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank adamz11202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2007

Stayed for free with starwood points but still got upgraded to the two room suite! Excellent property with beautiful ocean views. The bellmen were extra helpful with recommending places to eat etc. Join the Casino Players Club to park for free right next to the hotel and skip the $18/day valet charge. $5/pp per night tax (It is presented as a San Juan Occupancy tax, but I'm not sure if that is the case or not). Great location, as we did this pre and post cruise and were able to walk right to the port to embark and to the hotel after debarking. Having Hertz right there to get to and from the airport in a rental car was nice except for picking up there. The car wasn't ready and the attendent was unbelievably rude. The hotel staff on the other hand, did nothing short of spectacular. They even allowed me to check in early at 10 am after are cruise. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank superdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,768 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 47 in San Juan
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $158 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing