We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed her as an arrangement for a destination wedding for friends. The hotel was comfortable however, they were doing construction really close to the first room we checked into, we immediately checked out as my then 3 year old was afraid every time that he heard a drill, it sounded as if it was in our room. The next room was better, however, we did not have a view, we were on an interior room that overlooked the hotel workers walking back and forth. I was okay with that as long as I didn't hear any noise as a slept, we also spent a lot of time out of the room so the window view was not an issue. The Hotel has a pool, casino restaurants and a quick dining burger joint that has pretty good food. Next door to Senior Frogs, Ralph Lauren Polo, Don Q, historical landmarks and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cavegirl369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience. Indeed we renovated all guest rooms during 2013 and completed already. We regret the noise inconvenience but glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here after taking a Carnival Cruise. The Hotel was just across the street of the Ships port. Check in was not until 3:00 but we arrived early and was able to pre-check in and leave our luggage in storage. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. We left our luggage and our phone number for them to call when the room was ready. We we around and explored Old San Juan and received a call about 1:00 telling us our room was ready.
The room was in very good condition and was very clean. There is a small swimming pool on the 9th floor with great views of Old San Juan. It is just a block or so from many of the shops and local Restaurants. It is also about a 15 min walk to Castillo San Felipe del Morro.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for the compliments. Glad you enjoyed the hotel as well as Old San Juan. You seem to have taken advantage of our unique location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was a great choice for our last night in San Juan!! We had a romance package and it was indeed a super value!! It is really worth it to splurge for the bay view and or step out balcony the rooms are old but well appointed with lots of amenities. The staff was great and the proximity to all the sights made this hotel a perfect choice. I did my research on the smaller more quaint options but since we are older and needed a late check out and less walking I could not have been happier with our selection. The roof top pool had a superb view and the breakfast buffet was a nice surprise!!

Room Tip: Go for the view!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank junglefun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear guest! Great to see you still book romance packages. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the city. It sure is the perfect getaway for foodies and night ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Situated in the older part of San Juan, the Sheraton is by no means a new hotel. The lobby is small with most of the ground floor real estate taken up by a casino and a coffee shop (good coffee brewed by a very nice young chap, by the way).

With trepidation, I took the old elevator up to the 3rd floor and was pleasantly surprised by the room. It had been refurbished some time ago but the room is in good condition - clean and spacious and had all the mod cons - working airconditioner, plenty of power points (some were built-in as part of the bedside lamp), nice hot shower, and a comfy bed. Note this room on the 3rd floor had no balcony and the view is not so good - so if you want views...get a room on a higher floor.

The hotel is in a good location, with Senor Frog restaurant next door, a post office just behind, and is a good base for walking the old blue-glazed cobbled streets of San Juan, including around the original city walls and its one and only surviving gate,

If you are taking a cruise from the Pan American pier, make sure you book the correct Sheraton hotel - i.e Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino. This is the closest Sheraton to this pier.

If you are taking a cruise from the San Juan Cruise Port - make sure you book the correct Sheraton hotel - Sheraton Old San Juan. This is the closest Sheraton to this pier.

Love this hotel - friendly staff, friendly service.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go higher than 3rd floor for a good view of the port area.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for the detailed and eloquent review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Indeed Pan American Pier is about a 2 mile distance as opposed to the other piers across the street from us. Most visitors still choose to stay with us because we are the only branded hotel in the historic Old San Juan just steps away from everything. If you stay elsewhere, you are likely to take cabs to visit Old San Juan anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Close to many restaurants and cafés walking distance. The trolly will take you throughout old San Juan for free. Clean hotel and nice view from our balcony. Not all rooms have balconies, only 8th floor and up. The casino serves free little sandwiches and coffee at night. Just stayed for two nights before going to another part of the island. A lot to do in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dsoto6207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Glad you enjoyed and hope you also enjoyed your visit at all points visited in Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our travel agent recommended this hotel before we went on our cruise......a perfect spot being a close walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. Cruise port within walking distance which saved on an additional cab ride. Safe location as well! We suggest arriving a day or two before the cruise so that you can enjoy the beautiful area; many places are closed on Sundays! The hotel also has the best coffee shop with freshest Puerto Rican coffee and the Barista is awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also our NEW addition - Coffea Coffee shop. Indeed, Old San Juan is the place to be and be seen. Your travel agent is very wise. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for spending a day or two on the island of Puerto Rico before going on a cruise from the port. The roof-top pool is small and can be crowded at times. There are plenty of restaurants in the area for dining. The water taxi is nearby, especially if wanting to visit the Bacardi Rum Factory.

The hotel does not have an actual waiting area in the lobby, but there is a cafe on the premises that one can utilize while waiting for your room, etc.

The staff is pleasant, cordial, and willing to help.

Have stayed in the hotel twice in the past few years before a cruise and would do so again.

Room Tip: Rooms that are "large suites" have views of the port. Other rooms have limited views or j...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your repeat visits. We are glad you enjoy visiting Old San Juan. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $154 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing