We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spend three night pre-cruise in February 2012 at the Sheraton Old San Juan. It is a very nice hotel and conveniently located for walking around the old city. Would definitely stay there again.

Note: The actual date of our stay was Feb. 1 - 4, 2012. This review site did not allow for selecting a date prior to 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocelynMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to post your note even if it was a while back. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope the weather get's better in your area. Otherwise, you can always visit us again and get warmed up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    895
    500
    144
    121
See reviews for
538
993
95
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Old San Juan. We had a room overlooking the ports and it was fantastic waking up to open our little veranda to see the docked cruise ships.It was a perfect suite for the 3 of us. This area is loaded with things to do, from going to the Bacardi Factory , taking a free hop on hop off tram ride through old San Juan, walking along the award winning boardwalk and visiting the Casa Blanca Museum which is a great little secret not to be missed especially if you are a history buff. Old San Juan churches, shops, and restaurants are all there for your enjoyment.Make reservations for restaurants. Many of them had 2 hour wait times,not sure if it was due to holiday week, but my guess is its a busy place in general because of the cruise ships. There is lots of activity at this hotel. The casino is small and the roof top pool also small but lovely with open air windows to look out at the sensational scene on the avenue. They also house a clean and new gym facility with the views of the harbor.This is not a luxury hotel but it has the best staff and dressed up nicely for Christmas.I want to thank 'Sibelia' for helping us get into our room quickly and we were able to bet a balcony room thanks to the staff. Taxis are very easy to get as well from this hotel. There is a bus depot on the next block and for 75 cents you can ride the bus to the beach community, a 45 minute bus ride We went to Carolina Beach . Get off in front of the Intercontinental Hotel and walk a block or two to the beach, which is free. Lots of luxury hotels line the Isla Verde Beach area. Great place to visit for a short vacation, or while waiting for your cruise ship departure, especially nice to visit with girlfriends, if you want a little bit of everything including glorious weather!

Room Tip: Room 303 is a great size, two room suite overlooking the harbor cruises with a sweet veranda to admi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABrooklynTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Congratulations for capturing the essence of our unique location and facilities. Glad you enjoyed and we appreciate the compliments on our Associates. You really took advantage of all the available resources, even the $0.75 bus to amazing beaches within minutes. Don't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is located in Old San Juan on the harbor right where the cruise ships come in and is in walking distance from basically everything in Old San Juan (it's a small part of the island). You can also take the free shuttle that runs around to the forts and other tourist sights.
Staff were very helpful and always friendly. We asked if we could be moved to a room with a partial bay view and they said they didn't have any at that time but they would let us know. Two days later they asked us to pack our things and while we were out on an excursion they moved it all for us to a nicer, larger room with a bay view. This is all the better since we got the room from a Hotwire deal for just over $100.
There is a pool on the roof, but the pool itself is about 10 ft x 20 ft and the pool deck area is only a bit larger. You couldn't fit more than 25 people there all at the same time. The lobby is also tiny-- a concierge, check-in desk, computer station and that's about it. But that's a trade-off for being in the heart of the old city (stay at the other Sheraton if you want a huge pool and large common spaces).
A small gripe was the elevators which require you to insert your key card to push a button for your room. We mastered it after a day or two but we constantly say people missing their floors because they weren't able to hit it in time.
We did the excursion to El Yunque rain forest and Luqillo Beach through the concierge (Group Services Inc was the company) which was nice, though a bit pricey. Make sure you do the El Yunque hike and not the walk like we did which consisted of more time on the bus than in the rain forest.
The two in-house restaurants aren't bad-- the Chicago Burger Co has live music in the evenings and the veggie burgers are tasty and filling. The second floor restaurant (Palio) has a nice happy hour from 5-7pm and an extensive breakfast buffet for $20 (two words: omelete station).
In-room wi-fi was excellent (I think each room has its own transmitter)-- we were able to access email and even stream movies from Netflix when we wanted a quiet night in. No fridge in the rooms, which would have been nice, but otherwise the rooms were nicely decorated, the air conditioning was excellent, and the water temperature and pressure were good. The bed was not firm enough for our liking, but overall the rooms were very comfortable.
There's a casino downstairs, though we didn't spend any time there. There's also a Hertz rental car place in the hotel if you want to rent a car (which can be fun if you want to go to beaches and other sights, but you also can do excursions, take a bus to the Condado beach, or take cabs).
If you're booking for busy times (esp Christmas-New Years) make sure to book popular attractions ahead of time like bio-luminescent bay and car rental. When we were there it was totally booked for two weeks and there were no more cars available in San Juan!
Overall a great place to stay and good value for the money.

Room Tip: If you stay on the 9th floor make sure you're not between the elevator and the pool, which can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Love it! Another great detailed review of travelers that really get around and explore. Good job on the details shared and we are very glad you enjoyed and made the most of your time here. We know the elevator key cards can be tricky at times but these are required for guest safety, hence we are an incident free property located in the heart of the Caribbean's most visited city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights during the week of Christmas during vacation to PR.

Very nice hotel and got the job done: clean, functional, and fantastic location in terms of access to Old San Juan as well as serving as a base to explore other areas of PR via tours. (If you are looking for a beach hotel, then look for a hotel in the Condado or Isla Verde area. This hotel is in Old San Juan, so is a perfect base to explore Old San Juan; it's right across from the cruise port as well as ferry, which has easy access to the Bicardi factor; it's also right by the free shuttle that takes tourists to various destinations in Old San Juan, such as the forts.)

I am SPG gold and got upgraded to a Deluxe room (which apparently is the standard Gold upgrade, and features a partial bay view instead of a view of the buildings next door). The view was great and yields a lot of light too. The view def. made the experience a lot better, and was great for looking at the cruise ships too. (I had suite nights but they unfortunately did not clear due to the hotel being sold out during part of my stay)

Service at the hotel was fantastic. I had some questions and coordinated with the GM Larry Vitale and Angelo before my arrival. They were both very receptive, helpful, and fast in communicating via email, it was a pleasure. The front desk staff was also very friendly and helpful, as were the concierges (i.e. Angel, Michelle, Marcos etc.) and the bellmen.

The hotel has a casino, and gives guests 5 coupons to double your bet at blackjack. It was fun to play but I lost :p The casino does not have texas holdem poker (I went to the Marriott Resort in Condado to play limit Texas Holdem. Apparently the other Sheraton in San Juan by the convention center has no-limit holdem.)

We also did the rainforest tour with a trip to Luquillo beach afterwards. It was fine. Rainforest tour was kind of lacking, it basically revolved around a 15 minute walk. However, we discovered a fantastic restaurant in Luquillo, Vejigante, highly recommend it! Def. the best meal of the trip. (Restaurants in Old San Juan are overpriced and seem to cater exclusively to tourists.) Btw, the burger place at the hotel is fantastic. Really gourmet and high quality as well as good prices.

We tried to get a biobay tour but everything was sold out until Jan. So make sure you book your biobay tour weeks in advance! Those are very popular. Also, another tip, when dining in Old San Juan, be sure to check your bill carefully. Multiple times we found mistakes. Also, the concierge has coupons for pina coladas (free w/ entree purchase) at Barrachina, so be sure to pick those up, they're great.

In terms of which SPG in San Juan, I would def. go with this one over the other Sheraton (unless you are here exclusively to gamble.) We passed by the other Sheraton during our Rainforest tour and while it's newer and very nice, it's in the middle of nowhere. The great thing about Sheraton Old San Juan is it's location. You can go out for a meal in Old SJ, come back and rest, and then go out again etc., with everything in walkable distance. I heard the W in Vieques is really really nice, so that might be good to check out too.

Overall, an excellent hotel! Very functional, and super friendly service from management and staff. Recommended!

Room Tip: Get a good view, at least a partial bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RepublicofTea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here. Glad everything worked out well for you all during your visit and that you really got around and explored in such a short time. Next time we will also give you some recommendations for Old San Juan day & evening dining that are very consistent and always deliver. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is located in the sweet spot of Old San Juan, within easy walking distance of the historic forts and the many shops, restaurants and public squares, as well as the cruise terminal. The hotel is clean and lively and includes a busy casino.

The rooms, however, are unusually spare and the window covering consists only of louvered wooden shutters ... which, as you might imagine, allow the city light to pour into the room at night. On the positive side, the rooms have the best air conditioning system I've encountered in some time - smooth, quiet and continuous, which would make for ideal sleeping if not for the poor window coverings. The WiFi was good, but I missed having a fridge in the room.

There is no real hotel lobby - only a small check-in area with no seating area, making for a cramped and uncomfortable public gathering and meeting area. There is no place to grab a quick coffee - only a multipurpose buffet/restaurant upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your note. Glad you enjoyed our unique location. We are planning on a grab & go type coffee shop soon based on feedback like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and this time it was much improved. We arrived later at night and the service was terrific. We were offered an upgrade to a suite based on availability and found it to be an excellent room. The service was tremendous. As far as location goes, this hotel is in the heart of Old San Juan and a great central location for exploring Old San Juan. Most attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience and for your repeat visit. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to continue earning your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Despite the fact that a movie was being filmed at the hotel, and the celebrities were staying in the hotel, the hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure that the guests were not inconvenienced in anyway. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very clean. I had some trouble with the TV and the hotel sent someone to assist me within minutes of my call. Talk about service!!! The hotel also has two restaurants to dine at in the evening, and both are very good. However, if you eat breakfast at the hotel, you MUST try the coconut milk oatmeal! It is to die for!!! After breakfast, if you feel like a walk, you literally can walk across the street to the ocean, take the water taxi (for $.50) to Casa Bacardi, or explore Old San Juan's beautiful cobblestone streets! If you are going on a CRUISE, the hotel will hold your luggage in a secure room so that you can explore the city, till you have to report to the cruise ship. I personally utilized this service, and it was wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernBelle950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and even got to see some fun Hollywood action. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise vacation and that we get to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing